We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kandy
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,539)
Filter reviews
1,540 results
Traveler rating
361
707
332
87
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
361
707
332
87
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billiard room old world charm kandy lake colonial style hotel sri lanka colonial feel overlooking the lake buffet style breakfast and dinner rooms are large tooth relic stayed here for one night nice view tuk tuk temple wedding furniture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,540 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has an interesting history especially for the British. The rooms are large and well furnished.
The hotel has a pool which is somewhat marred by the traffic noise. However you can still rest and enjoy the garden.
You can walk into the town and to the Temple of the Tooth. You can continue this walk right round the lake.
The Botanical Gardens are worth a visit (short Tuk Tuk ride from the hotel) Be careful about timing because the roads can get blocked around school leaving time.
The food was a disappointment being very average. This area could be improved.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidmC4197VJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSuisse1938, Administration Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear davidmC4197VJ,

Thank you for sharing your valuable thoughts and comments on us. We are glad that you had the time to explore our property's history.
Your feedback as to the food has been shared with our mangers and executive staff and would take necessary actions as to rectify the situation.
Once again thank you.

Hotel Suisse Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

The buffet for breakfast is great, especially with the egg chef making omelettes. Perhaps there could be more Sri Lankan dishes for breakfast.
Evening buffet is excellent, no need to order a la carte.
We stayed for five nights on arriving in Kandy and again for a further two nights on the way back to Negombo.
The first time we were there for the New Year, it was really fantastic and they put on an amazing party and special food. On our second visit there was a wedding which was a real event to watch. I understand that there is not a wedding season, but there are auspicious days when marriage is better.
The rooms are lovely and very comfortable, but don't leave the windows open or the monkeys will come in, there are reminders on the windows not to open them.
We visited last year and the year before and we will return again next year.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSuisse1938, Administration Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nick L,

Thank you for your valuable thoughts and comments.
It was very nice having you at our hotel every year and delight to hear that you have fall in love with colonial charm of British Era.
We are looking forward to have you back with us.

Thank you.
Hotel Suisse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

We had a two night stay here during a tour of Sri Lanka. An interesting colonial hotel but not stuffy and old fashioned. Breakfast was lovely. Easy 10 minute walk along the lakeside into the town. Felt very safe to walk around. Lots to do in Kandy.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 110wendyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSuisse1938, Administration Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 110wendyj,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback on us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back at Hotel Suisse , should your travel required you to travel back to Kandy.

Thank you
Hotel Suisse Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

We stayed here 1 night. The room was very large and clean and had a lovely balcony and view of the lake. The staff are very welcoming and eager to help. We enjoyed walking the historic hallways, looking at the old photos and imagining what it was like 90 years ago. Clearly the hotel needs a bit of a facelift but overall it's quite memorable. Bring bug spray.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iris92fx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We stayed in hotel, right on the lake and very peaceful, green environment. Hotel has big history..100 year old classic colonial style. Very well maintained.
Wonderful helpfull staff. Ms. Athena & Mr. Ahmed at Reception very helpful.

Food in restaurant was delicious. F&B Mgr. Niroshan Mr. very professional, helpful, attentive. Ensured great service. With perfect winter weather, lush green environment, piano and music...made wonderful memorable experience.

I would receommend everyone to stay here. Will definitely like to come back here.

Room tip: Excellent lake view
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews