We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Suisse
Nearby Hotels
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$96
$40
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
$216
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveler rating
282
596
273
66
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
596
273
66
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskandy lakebilliard roomold world charmcolonial buildingsri lankacolonial feeloverlooking the lakefourth floorbreakfast buffet issacred toothswimming poolstandard roomrooms are largespecial thanksrestaurant staffstayed here for one nighttown centre
Filter
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in April in this charming colonial style hotel for two nights as part of a week long roundtrip. We enjoyed the historical, a bit nostalgic ambience with remnants of old glorious times. The hotel is said to the second oldest in Kandy and enjoys a wonderful location across the Tooth Temple on the shores of Kandy lake. We stayed there during Sinhala New Year and when came back from the Temple we participated few outdoor new year games for hotel guests. I myself was awarded with Awrudu Kumari crown ( New Year Princess), which was fun and made me giggle. We had a nice room facing the shrine and the lake, but also the pool. Room was clean and had all amenities. We will definitely be back again and again. thank you SUisse HOtel

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Bapasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Warning to all: please get a reservation confirmation via email when you book. We made a phone reservation under my name, but when we reached the hotel, the staff was indignant that "no bookings were made" and "the hotel was full".

True to what others have mentioned, the front desk staff appeared arrogant and snobbish, and wasn't helpful to remedy the situation.

A guide told us that they might have given the room away to someone who paid more for it, regardless of reservation. So much for professionalism.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank VotreX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Mr. VotreX,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at the check-in. As we couldn't find your reservation details, please let us know the dates and the room number you stayed with us, in order to probe into the matter to rectify the situation.

Thanks & Regards,


Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hotel is located on shores of Kandy lake in old, colonial style building. In various places of hotel you can feel that it is in such building, both in positive and negative way. Negative in terms of being worn down, positively that it gives you specific aura of this place.

Room where we stayed was ok, except that soundproof could be better. Thankfully it was not next to area where lots of people gathered, so it was ok.
Hotel has pool area as well next to street, but at same time well hidden. Pool area can get crowded quite fast if some group of people goes there, but otherwise it was quite good.
Food and service was quite good. Lots of choices, including grill choices.

Location of hotel is quite good, not in busiest part of city, but in walkable distance from city and Temple of tooth. However, there is no pedestrian crossing right in front of hotel, so getting across street is bit of challenge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have stayed in the Hotel Suisse on 4 occasions, and it has now become our mainstay when travelling to Kandy.

The hotel is really from a bygone era and is worn around the edges. However, it oozes character and charm. The location couldn't be better. We love the bar area, and the billiard room. The food is OK, not exceptional, but adequate. The staff have always been very helpful and courteous.

Our main issue is the general cleanliness. There is a level of grime which exists pretty much all over the hotel. This is nothing out of the ordinary, many hotels in Sri Lanka have similar issues, and it is nothing when compared to the grime in Kandy in general.

I would advise staying in a suite, or non basic room if possible. These rooms are very nice, whereas the standard rooms are very standard!

Apart from the old world charm, the best thing about the Hotel Suisse is the realistic pricing. At a time when many hotels in Sri Lanka are screwing tourists, charging 5 star prices for positively 2 star (max) service and accommodation, the Hotel Suisse is right on the mark.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurzonGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Went there for two days in April 2014. Well situated near the central lake ,the hotel offers a sympathic feeling of british colonial atmosphere.Very good standards of quality ,well kept,kind and efficient staff.Food as buffet has all international and local standards,it is fresh and various.You can go there in confidence.Impression of how it could have been once but with2014 standards.Entertaiment music at dinner every day.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from central dinner hallbecause of groups and weddings
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerStrasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews