We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bags of character, and monkeys are entertaining!”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bags of character, and monkeys are entertaining!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Beautiful building, next to the lake which is beautiful. Walking distance to town for food, the markets, temple of the tooth. Big hotel style spread for breakfast. Billiard room, and nice area to sit with a drink watching the monkeys on the big tree. Some guests left they balcony door open and the monkey ramsacked their things and were throwing them onto the lawn! Funny for us, but not for the guests! Excellent service and huge room with a nice bathroom. We saw a sri-lankan wedding while we were there which was nice!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor near the "monkey tree'. Nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    496
    234
    56
    33
See reviews for
226
460
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

As a non guest using the pool this place was great. So quiet and the pool was cool and clean. I paid 500Rs to use the pool and sun loungers, a small price for some relaxation time in-between sight seeing for those staying somewhere without such luxuries!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guysie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here two nights on my own whilst doing the tourist sights around Kandy. My standard room was spacious and functional, nothing exceptional. The staff coped well with the constant conveyor belt of wedding receptions throughout both days. The buffet choice would seem to cater for just about any taste although I found the grand dining area a bit impersonal. A great location for walking round the lake - if you can stand the touts round the Temple of the Tooth, then it's perfectly safe to do so on your own.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EluwaiLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

As others have said, the property is a little tired but in a nice way. Harks back to British Raj times. Don't bother booking on their website, we tried several times and it didnt work. We booked a deluxe room but were initially given a standard room. I googled the booking which promised lake views, complained to reception and we were then given a large room with lake views which was lovely. Watch out for the monkeys. Don't leave your doors open or leave anything on the balcony. We enjoyed the breakfast out on the lawns and the pool area was nice but pool was a bit cool. We booked tours with Kandy Tours who have their office in the hotel. The tours were very reasonable and the tour guides cater for all languages. Would use them again.

We were lucky to see several weddings at the hotel - they were amazing. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk around the lake to the town centre so the hotel is well located to be able to see the Kandyan dancing across the lake and the Temple of the Tooth.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annechop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is right in front of the Kandy Bogumbara Lake, therefore convininet location to reach. It is a histr\orical looking, beautiful hotel with spacious gardens and spacious hotel orridors and rooms.

We stayed in a standard room and still it was very spacious and cleand and even the bathrooms were spacious with most of the common amenities, tea making facilities, etc.

They had a good spread for the dinner and breakfast. Only downside was that the dinner they had outside garden and it was very cold that night, which resulted not ebing able to enjoy the food and even the food got cold easily.

However, I recoomend this hotel and I would go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutsybuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is an old English-style hotel. As the title states it is clean and simply furnished with long corridors and high ceilings. You can almost imagine the British colonials staying here during the hot humid months. .It has a nice comfy bar with free WiFi and a lovely dining room. As others have mentioned it is a good location for venturing out to see the Kandy sights. And they have an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canontnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
296 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is the first time I have stayed at the Hotel Suisse. What a great hotel.
It is a mature hotel but far exceeded my expectations.

We were lucky to have been upgraded to a suite room. Thank you.

The rooms have lovely high ceilings and are a good size.

The restaurant is really nice and we had the most amazing seafood buffet at a very reasonable price.

The only issue like most of the hotels in Sri Lanka is that many of the wines on the wine lists are not available.

The bar area is nice and very relaxing.

The room boy was very attentive and did a great job. Well done. Nothing was too much trouble.

I would definitely stay at the Suisse hotel again.

The hotel is in a really good position on the lake and not too far from the centre of Kandy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cygnetboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#30 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing