We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
London, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel Suisse is located along Kandy lake, on the opposite side of the lake from Sri Daladhamaligawa, hence it is located away from the busy town centre but still lies within walking distance to the sights. Staff are very friendly, food was good and the rooms were spotless, large and well-decorated and renovated. Great place to stay for a few nights in Kandy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jai8_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    490
    231
    54
    33
See reviews for
223
453
49
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Not sure if all the rooms are the same, but the room we stayed in was stunning. Beautifully set up with a nice colonial touch, felt very homely. The balcony was spacious and ideal to have a cup of tea in the evening, with a lovely view of the Kandy lake.

There were a few minor glitches in the bathroom, such as a leaking bathtub. The food was average. But the service was pretty good. The staff friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony. I noticed that certain rooms did not have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahiru D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. Its located near the lake nearby the tooth tempel. Its an old collonial hotel. The people who works here are very friendly! They have an incredible nice buffet room. Its a ball room just like in the movies :-) The rooms are simply but nice and clean. We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tharonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at Suisse Hotel from 26th to 29th June 2012. The most beautiful view in most important historical town of kandy in Sri Lanka is coupled with the charm environment of the old hotel. We were allocated with a refurbished very large room with very large bathroom with all good amineties. Bed room is very clean, with colonial type furniture. you can relax in the room since its hight is fantastic. Bed linen and bath towels are spotles clean. Restaurant has no much choice of meals but good enough for a short stay. still it is possible to order anything you like out of the menu.
Very big swimming pool facing kandy lake, a bar with good choice of beverages, a nice flowery garden, billiard table very colonial type, are some of plus points compared to simmiler in the region. I got good value for money. Since they dont have a safe box in room, better you handover the valuables to front desk.
If you are luckey, you will be able to see a traditional sri lankan wedding since Suisse is very famous in Kandy for wedding receptions.Also you better not to try the Spa which is complete dissapointment.
Prasanna and Family

Room Tip: Always ask a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We must have got an upgrade because our room was super spacious and it was connected to a private lounge or a relaxation room. The furnitures in the room are quite old, very colonial, edges are chipped but the bed was lovely, we had a good sleep. We stayed only a night and wished we stayed longer.

Breakfast was not that impressive but was sufficient enough to enjoy. Breakfast hall looks as colonial as the rooms are.

Would come back and stay the next time we are in Kandy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

it was a great hotel to stay because its near to main city and even the food is good so do the service..... Good staff friendly good rooms big rooms....... i recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajasekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A stay in this hotel will transport you back to the colonial days of Sri Lanka. Lots of wood and white plaster, high ceilings and historical furnishings (well worn). Couches in the lobby frayed and in need of a shampoo. The hotel is huge with a variety of room types and views (or lack of) and so if at first you don't like the room or the view, negotiate for something better. Our first room was small and there was no view (main floor back of hotel with a view into a culvert). I suspect these rooms were used for wedding parties preparing as there was a lot of noise in the hallways and adjacent rooms. After some discussion we were moved to a suite on an upper floor overlooking the pool and gardens with a balcony. As noted in a previous review. you cannot leave the balcony door open for air unless you want to share the room with the monkeys, but the air conditioning plus ceiling fan kept the room at a reasonable temperature for sleeping. Otherwise, the location is great. A little overpriced for what it is, but that is Sri Lanka in general. Suggest negotiation on the rack rate depending on the season- we got a 10% discount, but probably could have bargained for more given we were there in the off season. Did not try the food, the buffets appeared to be western fare and we preferred to eat local cuisine in town. All in all would recommend for a few nights while in Kandy seeing the sights.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms closest to the central dining room/wedding area as there are daily weddings (sometim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary_TO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#31 of 53 in Kandy
995 reviews
1.9 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing