We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEST WELCOME TO SRI LANKA!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Summit View

View of the main house from the garden chalets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the main house from the garden chalets
Swimming pool Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
View of the main house from the garden chalets
Swimming pool
Lounge area
Patio area of the main house overlooking the hills
Room with twin beds in one of the garden chalets.
Luxury Suite  with large balcony in the main house
Bathroom in the suite, main house
Garden chalet
Chalet batbroom
Terrace
Terrace at night for secluded dinning
Garden chalets with shutters and patio doors
The Ayurvedic Hut
Waterfall in the hills - view from your chalet
Relax and take in the view by the pool
Take in the view from the bench under the tree!
Another view of the valley below
View from the second chalet
Sunset by the pool
The McLaughlin family with the dogs
Pool Room in the main house
Pool room bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
B and B -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
BillytheH...
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“BEST WELCOME TO SRI LANKA!”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Incredible stay.

Liz and Luke were simply phenomenal hosts. They provided excellent accommodation and divine food. Their knowledge and assistance regarding local news and activities was superb. They were always keen to help with making us feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible.

They helped us arrange train travel, day trips, personal drivers and a very relaxing massage.

The dogs are also a lovely bunch.

I want to go again. Please?

Did I say what brilliant value for money this all was too?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fnggerman...
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We (couple 29,31) had the most amazing, though way too short time at Summit view. From the first moment, the host and her team made us feel more than welcome. Concretely:
1. location; amazing view, fresh air, a perfect contrast to buzzy and also smoggy Kandy.
2. relaxation: we could swim in the pool with a view, had a great ayurveda massage and just hanging out at summit view was the best treat for body and soul
3. accomodation: the room we stayed in was another great surprise, our best stay in Sri Lanka. A small seperate garden just for us, all the facilities were above everything we have seen during our trip and are meeting the highest European standards.
4. alimentation. The food was just amazing, a big, big breakfast and a delicious dinner. Liz even showed us some Sri Lankan cooking tricks. Most of all:
5. Hospitality. Everyone was so friendly, caring and laid-back with us that we really felt welcome to a degree that is beyond any expectable degree of hospilitality. From the pick up from the train station to the cooking sessions with Liz we enjoyed this special time. This stay alone provides enough reason for us to return to beautiful Sri Lanka. Next time we will stay longer at Summit view Spa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard42...
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay in tranquil surrounds”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights at Summit View and were very pleased with our experience. All facilities were high quality, clean and functional. We utilised the swimming pool extensively and took a few walks to visit the river and nearby sites. The hosts were delightful and able to provide extensive advice on the Kandy region. We used the Summit View driver during our stay who was polite, safe and reasonably priced.
Highly recommended

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5StarStev...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat. Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed at Summit View during my last trip to Kandy and I was extremely impressed all round with the experience. Liz and her son Luc really went out of their way to make us feel special and they really did a very good job. The property is spacious, modern and clean, the views are spectacular and the pool is a big bonus for a guest house this size. The food was also great! I would like to say a special thanks to Luc for giving us what was no less than 5 star hospitality. We will definitely be staying again and I will be recommending Summit View to others without exception. Thanks for a wonderful stay guys :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehog...
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unparalleled hospitality - spoils you for the rest”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 5 friends stayed at the Summit View on our first night in Sri Lanka. After a tiring long journey and a scary drive up the hill, we were given a warm welcome with homemade passion fruit juice, a little tour around the house and possibly the best view of kandy.

All the rooms in the house overlook the valley and the chalets offer a more private setting.
To truly appreciate the view, a walk around the garden at 5.30 - 6AM is worth it.

The meals were elaborate with courses and absolutely delicious and the personal care taken by Liz and Lucas was exceptional. They really made us feel like special guests.
Although we only spent a night at the Summit View, we were sad to leave and their hospitality really spoilt us for the rest of our journey.

Lastly, this review would be incomplete without the mention of Max, Moby and Mumbles, the adorable dogs in the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertfri...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stay with wonderful views”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked this place with air b&b but we thought it was so good that we had to make sure everyone knew. We had a garden chalet which was perfect. The food was fresh and delicious. The pool is great as are the views. Liz's children are so sweet and lovely to get to know. Her driver is reasonably priced and it saves a lot of stress. I saw some people had problems with the location in the reviews. It's 30 mins into kandy and it takes about one afternoon to look around it. The botanical gardens are worth visiting too. We then went to polonurawa and minneriya in one day trip starting 9am and back 9.30pm. Other guests went to sigeryia and dambulla on the same day and we shared the driver so the cost was a bit less. The gardens are prettier than the photos. I don't know how someone could write a bad review. No one can control the weather or the traffic.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elspeth_r...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant, friendly, homely, beautiful place.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have lived in sri lanka for a total of 4 months over the last year or so and this is one of the best places we have stayed at. It is like a home from home (except luxury home). Liz as the host, and her amazing children and staff put you at ease and provide wonderful breakfasts and dinners. Lots to play/read/watch and swim in the pool.
We stayed as a family of 3 with our 3 year old daughter who slept in a cot bed in the garden chalets and had a great time. Liz has 3 dogs which like to 'speak' but are harmless and our child was fine and was actually hugging one of the dalmations.

We were driving ourselves and was a little tricky to find as there are no village signs, but we got there eventually and it was lovely. Highly recommended. Great value for money as well compared to other Kandy locations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: relaxed atmosphere, lovely decor, value for money
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing