We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience in Summit View!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Summit View

View of the main house from the garden chalets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the main house from the garden chalets
Swimming pool Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
View of the main house from the garden chalets
Swimming pool
Lounge area
Patio area of the main house overlooking the hills
Room with twin beds in one of the garden chalets.
Luxury Suite  with large balcony in the main house
Bathroom in the suite, main house
Garden chalet
Chalet batbroom
Terrace
Terrace at night for secluded dinning
Garden chalets with shutters and patio doors
The Ayurvedic Hut
Waterfall in the hills - view from your chalet
Relax and take in the view by the pool
Take in the view from the bench under the tree!
Another view of the valley below
View from the second chalet
Sunset by the pool
The McLaughlin family with the dogs
Pool Room in the main house
Pool room bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
B and B -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TykiLong
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Great experience in Summit View!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I was travelling with my family in a group of 7 persons. Summit View is excellent place for family and group travelling.

The hosts (Liz and her kids) are sooooooo friendly that we all felt it was a pity we only stayed for one night. Warm welcome (with nice fresh juice), detailed introduction, very helpful if any requests, and everything.

The main house is beautiful, so are the garden chalets. One thing must be mentioned is the pool-side delicious breakfast with nice summit view (yes, it's really on the peak).

We all love this place and will certainly recommend to our friends. And if ever have chance to visit Kandy again, I will stay here (hopefully a longer period).

Driving up to the house was a little challenging but our local driver and 8 seats van were able to make it. It's highly recommended to hire a local driver and ask the driver to communicate with the host directly for the location. Otherwise, it's better to ask the host for picking up services.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b o
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This calm and serene place is the perfect spot to relax after a busy day in Kandy or a long travel on the train/road. Nothing can beat the view and the sunrise that you have waking up from your bed or sitting next to the pool on the terrace. Liz and her kids go out of their way to make you comfortable and help you with your travels, arranging rides, buying train tickets and any other thing you might need. Plus, the food is just fantastic (including the great cakes made by Liz's daughter). We stayed only two nights as we had made further travel plans, but we would've loved to stay longer to relax and explore the Kandy surroundings.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic place, lovely hosts”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We came as a group of eight had a really fantastic time here. It's a lovely house with truly stunning views over the hills and Liz (the owner) and Luke (her son) are really nice, friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very spacious and clean (a few of them have amazing views), the meals were really tasty (lovely breakfasts in particular) and the pool was a welcome bit of fun! We'd definitely love to stay here again - thanks guys for having us!

Oh, one thing to bear in mind though - the route up to the house is quite steep and zig-zaggy. Our normal minibus managed it OK, but just be careful if you're travelling in anything particularly big like a bus or underpowered like a three-wheeler.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenthere...
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solo traveller with Summit View Family”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

It was my first time visiting Sri Lanka and I will return the same time next year, just to visit Liz and her family. The hospitality was superb. The meals, ambiance, atmosphere was incredible. The view was to die for. I ended up forfeiting a trip to Ella because I just wanted to stay an extra night at summit view! The whole family is great and you'll feel at home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family atmosphere
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessica w
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed 2 nights with Liz and her son Luke and were so glad that we had chosen to stay here rather than in Kandy itself. Liz is a wonderful host, we felt very well looked after and yet had plenty of space to ourselves. The house is lovely, all the rooms are great and the views are amazing! It was a gorgeous peaceful place to stay. The kids loved the pool, and especially loved Luke splashing around with them! The food was fantastic - we loved eating out on the terrace by the pool and watching the fireflies. The drive up to the house was a bit of an experience, particularly in the rain, but we were glad to have made the effort! I would not hesitate to recommend Summit view to my friends and would stay there again if we are ever back in Kandy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadhuriAg...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great views with awesome hospitality”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The house has a beautiful location. It is lovely to wake up to great views of the valley from your room.
What is even better is the hospitality and company of Liz and her son Luke. (Liz's daughter is a little shy, so we didn't get to speak with her much, but she made dessert for us once, which was delicious!). They know when to come and speak with you and when to give you the required space. The home-cooked food that you get here is lovely.
I will return to Kandy, if only to stay at Summit view again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
528956Joh...
Gosford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Summit View Kandy District Sri Lanka”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The view matches the hospitality, both were superb.
After being on the road for a while we just wanted somewhere serene to unwind and this lovely property fitted the bill to a T.
Liz and her family went the extra mile for us and gave us great advice on what to see locally and what we should pay when we got there.She even arranged some onward travel for us.
My wife is particular about her food and she just loved the food especially the Kiribath and the Lunu Miris.
The room was spotless and very comfortable, we enjoyed dining by the pool at night time.
We were glad that we chose to stay here rather than nearby Kandy.
We will be back next time with the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The honest advice
Liked least: nothing in particular, it was all good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing