We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandy Hills Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kandy Hills Resort
Ranked #38 of 357 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copacabana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Kandy Hills Resort for 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. Our room on the second floor was very pleasant - we had a big bed, big room and a lovely view. Breaky in the morning was great on the balcony overlooking the hills. The service was really good, all staff very friendly and also really helpful - they helped us find transport and let us use their phone when we needed to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this resort and first of all I need to state that this is a fairly new establishment (or newly refurbished). Our room was big and clean. No mosquito nets (but you probably don't need them as much in the cooler hills), hot water shower. Bed linnen was kind of odd: mattress cover were loose, so turning over a few times meant tucking in the covers again, which can be annoying.

The overall service was great, they helped us open a durian my girlfriend bought (smelly stuff!) and made a Sri Lankan breakfast in request - they usually only serve continental. One service thing, however, became rather annoying after the first day or so. One of the employees who, undoubtedly, means very well has the tendency to make you feel awkward by starting conversations in bad English about all sorts of stuff during your breakfast. He does not know when to stop and was there the whole time during your meal. It is as if he was commanded to engage us in conversation, as if that is the thing you should do as a breakfast waiter / host. We were increasingly annoyed up to the point where me and my girlfriend would keep talking gibberish in Dutch when he was around hoping he wouldn't engage another rather tiring conversation.

Either way: this might be personal and is surely is not a reason to avoid this altogether well run and beautifully located resort! We enjoyed out stay for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTDJassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, our room was very clean, new and bright. Very very comfortable beds. Great location with very nice views! It's only a short walk to kandy Lake. Also helpfull staff. A perfect stay, great value for money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roche01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nice place,nice staff, really good location(view on the mountains and 5 min.by walk to the lake), clean room, good food!!!! I recommand this place to everybody!! The staff is really helpful!!!!!!!! Its the best place to sleep in kandy!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michqu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I would share my experience here that the word "Hospitality" is key aspect and further to that the place is very clean, neat.and quiet too and delicious food that tends to re-visit the hotel.
I really enjoyed the time there on my vacation with my family.Love to state that the bed rooms arrangement is outstanding and i call its the place for relaxation.
It is indeed during my next vacation too plan to spend more days at Kandy Hills Resort to enjoy more.

Room Tip: looks all are quiet ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were there during our honeymoon trip and it was great! We came to the guesthouse straight from adam's peak and we got a great room and a cold drink and all of our stinky :-) laundry was taking cared of and returned with a smell of roses.. The breakfast was very tasty, on some of the days we even got great sri lankan pancakes, even though the food is sri lanka is great the food there was superb.
The owners were really really nice and were very helpful and helped us with our questions and with their own suggestions.
The garden was really nice and we while eating outside we enjoyed the great view.
It's a great place in Kandy, really quiet and about few minutes (walking) from the lake and the tooth temple.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was a very plesure trip for me and my family to Kandy because of "Kandy hills to Resot" during my vacation which fell in May 2013.Its really a value for money with the service , hospitily,caring what they provided.Room too are quite & spacious as we expected.Overall its excellent.Thnx DM

Room Tip: Hope all the rooms are very quiet as we occupied two rooms and those are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHAM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Pranobaa Home Stay
Pranobaa Home Stay
#35 of 357 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#2 of 357 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
36 Bed & Breakfast
36 Bed & Breakfast
#33 of 357 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heaven Seven Kandy
Heaven Seven Kandy
#51 of 357 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#28 of 357 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 357 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Hills Resort

Property: Kandy Hills Resort
Address: No 84 Rajaphilla Mawatha Kandy, Kandy 123, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a beautiful and serene setting to spend your holidays in Kandy, the hill capital of Sri Lanka, this is the right place. Situated in No 84 Rajaphila Mawatha, Kandy, you will have the freedom to enjoy the view of green mountain range; Within a close proximity to the city centre, you will easily reach this Kandy Hills Resort it is just 2 km from the Kandy Railway Station or le ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kandy Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing