We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well informed stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charlton Kandy Rest
Ranked #115 of 470 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Charlton Kandy Rest for two nights during the Perahera 2013.

Our room was small, but clean and totally fine for a backpackers standard. The inner courtyard is very enjoyable to relax after the busy streets of Kandy.

Most noteworthy is the boss (owner?), who was the most friendly staff person we met on our Sri Lanka trip. He is extremely helpful when planing any trips from Kandy or booking the next hotel and just in general a charming person. Also he takes whatever time is needed to help his customers.

Also he speaks good english (which is not necessarily the case at other hotels/guesthouses in Sri Lanka).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel provides a great stay do to its great owner and staff. The rooms circle around the dinning area, making it a great place to meet travelers and locals alike. The owner sat down with us and helped us plan our trip. His advise was honest and for the first time we were able to let our guard down and not feel like we were being sold anything. His employee Kamal was also a great. We saw him on the street when we were lost and he not only helped us find our way back, but gave us great recommendations about this awesome city. I would recommend this place 100% to anyone. Also, the food is so good the locals come to eat there as well, so that doesn't hurt.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francofaraudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

As soon as i get in, they cannot find booking.
Then, they took us at the room that was in the mid of the restourant.smokers allowed.
Dirty room,especially pillows (asked for a clean one and they seemed kinda shoked about that).
Rats walking on roof..
Do i have to continue..?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redaelliale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location is very good, very near the lake and the temple of the tooth. The crew and owner are very nice and helpful. When we were in Kandy there was a problem and we couldn't get water. The owner offered us to shower at his home and he gave us a big bucket with water for showering. The breakfest also was really nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joost N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice and easy hotel with good vibe and cool staff who are more than willing to help! Locals having a beer, walking distance to everything with the Lake and temple at your doorstep.. If you're lucky enough to meet the owner, buy him a beer because he's a legend

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shameshiekolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and it felt like we were family coming home.
The staff and especially the owner were super friendly and very helpful. It's a couple of minutes walk to the lake and temple. The rooms are basic but more reason to sit and chill in the communal area to get amongst the cheerful locals and other travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HennessyBojangless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are on budget & want to stay close to Kandy city center & tooth relic temple, you can choose this one. Problem is that I had to share bathroom, & as it's a restaurant too, it was quite noisy with customers. As my room was at first floor, I had to cross the kitchen & I can't say that I found it very clean. But the staff were really good mannered, I must admit.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Tanvir_Ayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#34 of 58 in Kandy
559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#19 of 58 in Kandy
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 470 in Kandy
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn-Kandy
Days Inn-Kandy
#57 of 470 in Kandy
235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hanthana House
Hanthana House
#1 of 470 in Kandy
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Kandy Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Kandy Rest

Address: No 31 Kings Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $16 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton Kandy Rest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Charlton Kandy Rest Guesthouse, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are restaurant, tours, smoking area, car park, room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Whether you're a fitness enthusiast or are just looking for a way to unwind after a hard day, you will be entertained by top-class recreational facilities such as garden. Charlton Kandy Rest Guesthouse is a smart choice for travelers to Kandy, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time.Located in the heart of Kandy town.From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Malwatte Maha Vihara, Buddhist Publication Society,Temple of the Tooth Reli,Kandy Lake and the Royal Wales Park and many more tourist attractions. It is around 4500 square feet. City tours are provided.Beer Garden is open with Restaurant till 10 30 pm.Daily Tours can be arranged to Pinnawala elephant village which has 200 elephants for US$ 45 for two persons in semi luxury car.Daily Cultural show tickets available for US$4.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Charlton Kandy Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing