We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest hotel experiences I've ever had”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have been all over the world, but I've never had a more peaceful sanctuary awaiting me than Elephant Stables. Every single detail has been thought through. The design is a beautiful mix of modern and authentic.

The room is gorgeous (I stayed in the Lemongrass) with an amazing view. The rain shower was beyond with teak wood slats as its flooring. The bed, one of the most comfortable I've slept in, had mosquito netting surrounding it.

The food was impeccable and they custom fit into my peculiar diet needs.

But it as the staff that made everything just perfect. The resident manager, Nalaka, was incredibly accommodating and friendly. Nihal, the best bar man in Kandy, had great humor and couldn't have gone more out of his way to please. They have a (very affordable) shuttle service back and forth to Kandy center and the driver is super great.

I loved every moment of being there. You will, too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 574 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

From the moment we walked in to the hotel to the time we left there wasn't a single dull moment. It is located in an area surrounded by beautiful scenery. Perfect for a couple who wants to have a quiet time. We loved the local dishes on the dinner menu. All the staff were wonderful, and they are all very helpful. We will look for this hotel when we visit Kandy again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We found a gem of a hotel just outside of Kandy.

The Elephant Stables is excellent with a reading room with views to die for and a beautiful refreshing pool. The staff were extremely helpful and breakfasts were wonderful. My husband couldn't get enough of the hoppers! The location was perfect for sightseeing and the excursions tailored to your needs. It is a fabulous place to stay. Hoping we will be back one day soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This property is beautiful, in a great location and reasonably priced. Overlooking the knuckles ranges it is scenic and peaceful. The rooms are lovely as are the gardens and the pool. The food, choice of Sri Lankan or Western, was just amazing and great value. Best of all was the staff, nothing was to much trouble. They were thoroughly accommodating.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Superlative. There's nothing I'd change about the place. The staff is amazingly friendly, helping to accomodate both my needs at the hotel itself as well as my tours around the region. The decoration both in the room and the common areas are refined, full of references to the country's diverse heritage. The food was also wonderful. Wish only that I had more time to spend there!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank PasMalCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Beautiful place to stay in Kandy. The design of the place is fantastic and the rooms are spacious and elegant. The service is of an excellent standard - staff and management are very friendly and made every effort to make sure that we had a comfortable stay. Not all that cheap, but the whole place is very high quality. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAKKO219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We loved the hotel- great rooms,comfy beds, beautiful garden and pool , a little oasis away from thE madness of Kandy. The service was excellent- particularly from Nihal who was fantastic. There is a but- expensive tours and food! On the tour/ driver front we were quoted approx $400 for 3 days. We went somewhere else and was quoted $200. We thought that the dinner at 4000 rupees per person was crazy pricing for Sri Lanka. The food was good but not amazing. We haven't spent anywhere near this anywhere else in Sri Lanka, including in 5 star alacarte restaurants. As a hotel though would definitly recommend it!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ryland-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Secret Kandy
The Secret Kandy
#5 of 57 in Kandy
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $229 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing