We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Oasis.”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Spending 2 nights here in the vanilla suite has been a pleasure. The hotel and surroundings are truely beautiful, the views stunning.....the staff are attentive, helpful, relaxed and very friendly which also gives it a home from home feel.

The meals we have eaten have been of a high standard. Try their Sri Lankan Curry selection. Well worth £20 per head.

One suggestion would be to have a small wine list available and a cocktail list for sunset cocktails!

Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank TastefulLady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are upgrading our wine and cocktail list so the next time you are at The Elephant Stables, you will have a good selection.

Looking forward to see you again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 556 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

It has taken a while to come down to earth after an amazing trip to Sri Lanka but now I have it's time to rave about our time at the Elephant Stables. We spent two amazing nights and from the moment we arrived we were made to feel as though the place were our own. The rooms (and the entire hotel) are beautifully decorated. The staff are incredibly attentive without being overbearing and the food….oh the food! We ate from both the European and Sri Lankan menu and both were equally fantastic - don't even think about eating out!
Our time was made more memorable by getting engaged on our last night, while the hotel was quiet and the stars were out. When we went us to bed that night there were swans and flowers on the bed and in the morning a delicious congratulatory cake was presented to us at breakfast. We will never forget the Elephant Stables and hope to visit again on out honeymoon.
Dan & Lucy April 2014

Room Tip: They are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Dan & Lucy,

First of all, Congratulations on getting engaged!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Elephant Stables and will be looking forward to welcome you two on your honeymoon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Elephant Stables and could not fault it in any way. Our room was superb with lovely views and a good size balcony. The four poster bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets, and the bathroom was modern with fluffy white towels. The staff were excellent and efficient - especially Nihal who assured me the curry would not be too hot and he was right - it was the best curry I have ever had - thank you Nihal. Breakfast in the garden was lovely especially the egg hoppers, with the added bonus of a kingfisher flying down to the swimming pool and other exotic birds in the trees. We celebrated our wedding anniversary here and were given a bowl of fruit and enjoyed cocktails before our evening meal in a wonderful setting. Would have loved to stay longer but as this was part of a tour it was not possible. Thank you for a lovely stay. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottyandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Dotty & Joe,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and its a pleasure to know that you've had a wonderful time while you were celebrating your Wedding Anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a fantastic place. Views to die for, beautiful rooms, and staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed for three nights as a family.
Only thing I would have liked would have been maybe a choice of white wine to accompany our lovely dinner.
Other than that I can't say anything negative

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Kampa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very encouraging review you had given us. We hope you will visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014



Arrived at Elephant Stables in Kandy at around noon time, and discovered a magic place, elegantly decorated facility with a gem swimming pool, beautiful view and and a warm welcome reception. The rooms are new, sufficient in size, nicely equipped, comfortable bed protected with a mosquito net. A good feeling to enter a room.

We were accepted by the manager, Mr. Nalaka Weerasekera, A very warm and helpful gentlemen. The staf was very efficient, friendly and helpful, responding to all our requests quietly and promptly.

An additional surprise was the excellent quality of a dinner for 8 people. We were given a private table with a view to the mountains. I can say that this Srilankian dinner was the best we have had in Sri Lanka. We had shrimps on skew, chicken dish, a tuna dish, a soup, rice and curry plates. Everything was superb. We asked the chef of the restaurant, Mr. Indica to come and congratulate him for the quality of his food. It was a real Sri Lankian gourmet.

Highly recommended restaurant and hotel. I saw some of the strange bad reviews on the TripAdvisor and frankly to say I cannot understand these vicious comments. From what we have seen and experienced it cannot be true. Thank you TripAdvisor for helping us to find this hotel and to the manager and his staff for the wonderful experience

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank PUMAtrack70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the highly encouraging feedback. We value it a lot. We hope you will visit us again in near future.cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights at Elephant Stables as part of our honeymoon trip and we had a great time.

The hotel is set on a lovely property about 15 minutes from crazy Kandy. The guesthouse is decorated very beautifully and has a lovely cosy feel.

The staff were all fantastic and went out of their way to ensure we had a perfect stay. Elephant Stables was one of the only hotels throughout Sri Lanka that acknowledged our Honeymoon which we found very thoughtful.

Food was delicious. We ate there both evenings and opted for the Sri Lankan menu. Without a doubt one of the best curry experiences we has whilst in Sri Lanka - but also the most expensive at R3900.

Thanks for a very memorable stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burdzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Julia,

It's our great pleasure to understand that the stay in 'Elephant Stables' added unforgettable memories to your special holiday. We are humbly happy about the fact. We hope both of you will visit us to celebrate your first wedding anniversary too. take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with a very personal touch. We stayed as family of four of two adults and two children and stayed in a large room with two bedrooms and a living area. Spotlessly clean and modern. The hotel itself is very small and more like a very upmarket bed and breakfast. We were very well looked after, I stupidly cut my nose very badly in the swimming pool and the manager took me straight to hospital himself and made sure I was seen by the right doctor within minutes and treated. He even sorted out all the finance at the time so I did not have to worry. This was amazing service and I cannot thank him enough. The rest of the staff were very helpful and kind. We did not have the evening meal as we had a something from the lunch menu and after my accident it was all a bit too much to eat later. The price of the food on the lunch menu is very good and the food was great, we did think the evening menu was a bit pricey but we did not eat it and I am sure the quality would have been excellent.
The beds were comfortable and the breakfast very good. The gardens are beautiful and the views of Kandy quite stunning.
If you don't mind being out of it a little bit and like the really personal touch then you will love this place, if you like a bigger hotel where you can be a little more anonymous then you may find it a bit intense.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpm350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to review us on Trip Advisor and we hope you are fully recovered now. Our first priority is to look after the guests well adding good memories to their holiday and your feedback proves that we achieved to do the same despite of the accident took place in the hotel premises. We hope you will visit us again soon. cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $149 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing