We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Stables
Nearby Hotels
$91
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$134
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
$210
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$72
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveler rating
436
129
32
19
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
129
32
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelcottage suitevintage carslemongrass roomsri lankacurryegg hoppersinfinity poolposter bedlovely poolsmall hotelthe main hoteloverlooking kandyset menuour honeymoonthe hustle and bustlefabulous views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 622 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here on 2 occasions during October. What an absolute delight. We can't believe this was only ranked number 7 on trip advisor when we booked it. The rooms are beautiful. The pool is very nice. There are nice views over kandy. The staff are fantastic and extremely helpful. It is rare for a property to show the pictures and names of the staff working on a property on the internet and this reflects the pride of the staff in their job and the service we provide. The curry banquet was fantastic. The alacarte menu not as good but still quite nice. We stayed in many places in Sri Lanka and this was our favourite which is why we went back for an additional night of tranquillity and luxury. It is a bit hard to find but our driver asked a few people on the way and we got there without problems. We stayed in a different upstairs room on each visit and loved both.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 upstairs rooms and both were great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calmtravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are extremely happy that you extended your stay at Elephant Stables to enjoy your holiday in Kandy. Your good comments are the most precious award we can ever imagine to be received. thank you for your very encouraging comments and we wish to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Its a beautiful hotel and the entire experience was excellent. I would certainly recommend this property to my friend / family circle.

The food was out of the world and the friendly, experienced staff made our stay even more memorable.

The rooms are nice and the view from the hotel rooms was picturesque...

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sheruni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you had a lovely time in Elephant Stables. We do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Upgraded to this hotel for our trip to Sri Lanka. Greeting on arrival excellent. Lovely infinity Pool . Room spacious with lovely 4 poster bed and excellent. Shower. Only. Criticism which was the same for a lot of the hotel we stayed in no plugs socket by mirror which would have been useful to dry hair

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank trysomewherenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

It's our extreme pleasure to understand that you found the Elephant Stables as a 'lovely hotel'.

With regard to your concern on hairdryer plugs we are pleased to mention that the shaver plug sockets in all bathrooms accept hairdryer plugs. We also supply hairdryers in all bedrooms on a complimentary basis. I wonder if staff had not conveyed the same to you. We will ensure that housekeeping staff makes the guest aware of all facilities available for them. Please let me send you our apologies for the lack of communication regarding this matter.

We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a tiny boutique hotel set on a narrow promontory of land overlooking the outskirts of Kandy. Our room (Vanilla) had views to east and west. The staff are discrete and attentive. The manager was exceptional in sorting-out a problem with our onward train ticket. I recommend you try the Sri Lankan curry - 8 curries including meat/fish - without any fiery chilli kick.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin042042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about Elephant Island. We are most delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add force in our quest towards excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This beautiful boutique hotel is situated on top of a hill just few minutes away from Kandy City Centre. As you get off your vehicle you see mountains and hills from one side and dwellings on a hilly area over looking the pool. Pool is so beautiful and inviting with beautiful views right around that cannot match any other.
 
From the friendly welcome the moment we arrived we were well looked after by the smiling staff who always wanted to help. To add to our joy there was an elephant stationed in the garden that has been brought for an upcoming event.
 
Our room was large and beautifully furnished with the most comfortable beds we slept in while in Sri Lanka. Food was out of this world, with fresh ingredients from the market each day. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to relax in a beautiful surrounding, with a lovely pool and excellent service.
 

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTiemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments,and we're pleased you had a really good stay and were kind enough to describe the stay as 'best of the best'. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews