We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You couldn't ask for better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hello, My partner and I were lucky enough to stay at The Elephant Stables for 6 nights in October and I must say it was fantastic. The location is beautiful and quiet yet still close to the centre of Kandy. The building and grounds are simply stunning but the real treasure here are the wonderful staff. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful and are always there to great you with a big friendly smile, the food was just brilliant and the selection of food and beveridge's was excellent. If you are lucky enough to be travelling to Kandy you just cannot go past The Elephant Stables to make your trip complete.

The views, facilities, staff, rooms, pool and food are just excellent.

Luke & Sharrelle.

Room Tip: The Saffron suite has great views of the pool and hills in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are humbly happy to know that you had a peaceful and a pleasant holiday in Elephant Stables. We hope you will visit us again and we will be delighted to serve you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    94
    20
    15
    3
See reviews for
127
282
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our family stayed at The Elephant Stables for one night. We had a fantastic time in the small and homely hotel!

The rooms and public areas are beautifully decorated and the views unbelievable. We spent a lovely evening by the pool and the next morning were treated to one of the best breakfasts we had across our entire stay in Sri Lanka.

The staff ensured we had everything we needed. We'd certainly recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GeePea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you had a great time in Elephant Stables thought it was for only 01 night. We hope you will visit us for a longer stay in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here last week while on a short trip out of Colombo to see friends. Its difficult to find luxury hotels in Sri Lanka at affordable prices these days and the hotel was doing a special low season offer.
Very tastefully done with a mix of old and new style interiors that worked very well.
The food was easily the best I had ever tasted in Sri Lanka, so if the Master Chef is in attendance you will be served with great rice and curries. On request he will also make some flavorsome Thai dishes for those want a change.
All in all, everything was highly satisfactory. I will come again for sure.'

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's a great pleasure to be aware that you had a superb holiday in Elephant Stables. Please feel free to visit us any time and we will be delighted to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austell, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Elephant Stables

I had a marvelous stay in Kandy in Sri Lanka at the Elephant Stables Boutique Hotel in September.Wonderful interiors- The rooms were lavish, very spacious , very clean and well kept and the bed was amazing. The bathrooms are amazing with beautiful designs.

The Service- The staff were extremely discrete and highly professional. The manager Mr. Nalaka was very helpful in locating fantastic spots to see and visit. As for the greeting staff Manjula was extremely welcoming. All in all the staff were pleasant and so excited to have my family at the hotel, always attentive and with a smile.


Dining- Dining was simply the best I had in years from any hotel from the States to Sri Lanka, Master chef Indika was what I called the Sri Lankan Gordon Ramsay, from the diversity of his meals from being able to create a meal that I requested to his desserts, Apple crumble and molten chocolate I was never disappointed with the meals. The entire cooking staff was amazing .

This Hotel is a must visit not only does Elephant Stables have the best staff but they also have one of the most breath taking views of the city of Kandy. Very reasonably priced too for a luxury hotel. You'd be hard pressed to find a fault here. My only qualm was that the internet wasn’t at its best. I will definitely stay there on my next visit.

Julien V

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure to understand that you had a great time in Elephant Stables at the very special moment in your life. We hope you will visit us to celebrate your 01st wedding anniversary too. Wishing you all the very best for a happy wedded life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in September, in the Cottage Suite. This is accessed via the garden, and is lovely and spacious, with one large bedroom and a sitting area/twin bedroom/bathroom partially separated and private. Furnishings are very comfortable, good TV channle choices, and they were able to move a Wifi connection into the suite to enable a better signal. There was a small outside sitting area with views but we didn't use this as we were there in rainy weather!
The food was fantastic both evenings, especially the traditional Sri lankan curry which consisted of numerous delicious dishes. Breakfast choices were good, and we were served promptly at all times.
The gardens and pool are beautifully kept, with views of the mountains. It is away from the hustle and bustle and noise of the Kandy roads. It is a little tricky to find, and they have still to put their name on a signpost on the access road.
The staff were very pleasant, and could not have been more helpful.
Overall, a good hotel, small with a personal feel to it, excellent food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest, we are happy to hear that you loved your stay at Elephant Stables. We look forward to seeing you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Loved our stay here. The view is spectacular and the entire place is homey and relaxing. It is easy to feel that you are staying over in a friend's place. The staff are all friendly and accommodating - service here is quite personal. In house dining also good. We enjoyed our 10 curry dinners. Well worth the time and money. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinoBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest, it's very nice to read your beautiful experience. We hope you will visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent lovely 2 nights at the ‘stables’ in the Vanilla Suite at the Elephant Stables in September. It was beautifully done with antiques and prints – possibly the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in.

The staff was so friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We were there with some friends who had 2 kids, and the staff really went out of their way to treat them each meal with familiar comfort food like chicken strips and fries while we tucked into delicious rice and curries prepared by Indeeka, their great chef.

There was a lovely pool in the garden and the views over the mountains was superb, especially waking up in the mornings to see the clouds rising up over a peak in the far distance. Amazing!

The kids were looking forward to seeing the elephants, but they weren't around. We were told that they are away participating at the temple festivals during September.

Next time we come back to Kandy for another vacation I know where we will definitely be heading!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doe-saurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know that you loved your stay at Elephant Stables. Unfortunately your kids missed the time intended to spend with the elephant due to an unavoidable situation. We look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
2.7 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
3.3 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.9 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Property: Elephant Stables
Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing