We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hill retreat from bustling Kandy”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Outstandingly attentive staff made this a lovely holiday. Rooms are beautifully decorated, as is the rest of the hotel, and the food was excellent. 360 degree views are spectacular. Recommend this boutique hotel to anyone coming to this area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback and it's a pleasure to know that you had a relaxing holiday in Elephant Stables. We wish to see you soon again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 557 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sometimes an experience inspires you to write a review to share with others positively and to say thankyou to the staff who made the holiday very special. Elephant Stables did that. It is filled with outstanding staff who have been hand picked for their love of looking after holiday makers and their experience in this industry.

We stayed 2 nights, in the most beautiful room we have ever seen in a hotel or guest house and were greeted with a welcome drink of orange, apple and cinnamon and a warm hand towel.The boutique hotel is situated on a hill in Kandy so there are lovely views of the countryside. The garden is landscaped with a large pool, complete with huge trees which house monkeys by day and fireflies by night while the soothing sound of Buddhist chanting from the temple nearby is the background music. The hotel inside is stunningly furnished with such attention to detail and the huge glass doors bring in light, air and freshness. The guest rooms, including the lounge rooms, bar and the reading room upstairs are all a mix of colonial and modern.

Breakfast was very nice and dinner was Superb and we were out at lunchtimes. When the manager found out I had never tasted Sri Lanken curry as yet, they made a special feast consisting of 10 dishes of curries and salads for us for dinner the next evening. They chatted with us, refilled anything that was needed, were completely aware of our needs in the hotel and organized everything we needed for sight seeing in Sri Lanka.They all came out to our hire car and waved us off when we left, just awesome. To Nalaka the Elephant Stables Manager, Nihal the Food and Beverage Manager, Indika the talented Head Chef and his team, Pathum Housekeeping and his team including Manjula, Micheal Caretaker, Marlon the Tuk Tuk driver and the others who we didn't meet but who worked as a team to make our small time at your place, away from our home so wonderful, we say Thankyou xx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavenAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very detailed feedback you have provided us about your holiday experience in Elephant Stables. We hope you will return soon and our staff is looking forward to server you better next time..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We only stayed one night here but it was long enough to be impressed with the elegance of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. The bedrooms were very well decorated and a good size and the food was a high standard and beautifully presented. It is a very small hotel and so you receive much pampering from the staff who couldn't do enough for us and always had a smile on their faces.The hotel is situated on a hill above the busy city of Kandy and so had great views and a peaceful feel. Didn't have time to try the swimming pool but it looked very inviting.

Room Tip: All rooms have double beds so if you require a twin make sure have the family room which is large e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bri_Ang_T2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your very positive review and we hope you will visit us next time for a longer stay. As you correctly said all rooms except family rooms have double king size beds but we take the trouble of putting a proper single bed in double rooms when guests request for twin rooms. thank you once again and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Incredibly attentive staff, beautiful public areas and bedrooms, a new hotel so some of the routines need to be organised, but you feel pampered and special. Not much choice of meals, but what was presented was great, even when we returned from the elephant festival at 11.00 at night.
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkGleeson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables. We hope you will come back to enjoy our services again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early September. The hotel is lovely, and we stayed in a spacious, comfortable bedroom. The grounds are lovely, food good but the most memorable part was the warmth of the welcome particularly by Nihal who could not have been more helpful and charming. The place is a little tricky to find and a tuk tuk ride outside the town but with great views and peace and quiet, we were very happy with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daftlupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
It's our greatest pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Elephant Stables and you were happy with the decision you made to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family of 5 had two nights stay here to explore Kandy, relax and visit the Esala Perahara. Lovely rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Kandy was extremely busy due to the Perahara and we found this a perfect retreat up above the hussle and bussle. 500R each way in a tuk tuk (£2.50) which was an experience in itself.
Food was absolutely delicious and the pool spot on.
We really were made to feel at home.

Room Tip: Large room for 5 has a king around the corner from 3 singles and suits families perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your happy feedback. Hope you have enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables and in other parts of the country hence will return to this country again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Was wowed by Tripadvisor reviews so my expectations were high. Taxi driver at station never heard of it (being newish) so pulled out booking which didn't have address and Colombo number only. After a couple of calls he got directions and we were on our way. I'd had the impression that it was 10 min from Kandy. It is but it seemed like a long trip in and out (500R). Staff were wonderful. The set 3 course dinner was gorgeous, breakfast great too. One negative - we'd hardly arrived when manager was pushing us to book tours.
Would be fantastic if they out a sign for the hotel at the end of the hill, perhaps run a shuttle into the city, also pick-ups from the station would be nice.
Lovely rooms, lovely views, great staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETwomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the constructive comments. The Elephant Stables is located on a private road so we try not to advertise it 'loudly' since our plan is to provide discrete luxury and outstanding service to our clients – that’s why people do not get to see any signboards etc. Our MD has however taken your comments into consideration and we will soon implement a free transfer service for those arriving by train from Kandy Railway Station. We will also educate our Resident Managers at the hotel not to push excursions etc in future and simply leave brochures in rooms for guests to ask our staff if interested. Thank you so much again for your valuable comments and we will endeavor to react to all suggestions in order to make The Elephant Stables the No 1 hotel at Kandy in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $148 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing