We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most helpful staff ever in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most helpful staff ever in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early September. The hotel is lovely, and we stayed in a spacious, comfortable bedroom. The grounds are lovely, food good but the most memorable part was the warmth of the welcome particularly by Nihal who could not have been more helpful and charming. The place is a little tricky to find and a tuk tuk ride outside the town but with great views and peace and quiet, we were very happy with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daftlupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's our greatest pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Elephant Stables and you were happy with the decision you made to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    99
    21
    16
    3
See reviews for
130
288
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family of 5 had two nights stay here to explore Kandy, relax and visit the Esala Perahara. Lovely rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Kandy was extremely busy due to the Perahara and we found this a perfect retreat up above the hussle and bussle. 500R each way in a tuk tuk (£2.50) which was an experience in itself.
Food was absolutely delicious and the pool spot on.
We really were made to feel at home.

Room Tip: Large room for 5 has a king around the corner from 3 singles and suits families perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your happy feedback. Hope you have enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables and in other parts of the country hence will return to this country again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Was wowed by Tripadvisor reviews so my expectations were high. Taxi driver at station never heard of it (being newish) so pulled out booking which didn't have address and Colombo number only. After a couple of calls he got directions and we were on our way. I'd had the impression that it was 10 min from Kandy. It is but it seemed like a long trip in and out (500R). Staff were wonderful. The set 3 course dinner was gorgeous, breakfast great too. One negative - we'd hardly arrived when manager was pushing us to book tours.
Would be fantastic if they out a sign for the hotel at the end of the hill, perhaps run a shuttle into the city, also pick-ups from the station would be nice.
Lovely rooms, lovely views, great staff!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETwomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the constructive comments. The Elephant Stables is located on a private road so we try not to advertise it 'loudly' since our plan is to provide discrete luxury and outstanding service to our clients – that’s why people do not get to see any signboards etc. Our MD has however taken your comments into consideration and we will soon implement a free transfer service for those arriving by train from Kandy Railway Station. We will also educate our Resident Managers at the hotel not to push excursions etc in future and simply leave brochures in rooms for guests to ask our staff if interested. Thank you so much again for your valuable comments and we will endeavor to react to all suggestions in order to make The Elephant Stables the No 1 hotel at Kandy in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As part of a family tour of Sri Lanka we had the pleasure of staying one night at the Elephant Stables. As already indicated it is new and extremely well decorated and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and the facilities excellent. We arrived after 7pm but the manager was more than happy for the kids to get in the pool as they had not started cleaning it yet. The food was lovely and the chef made sure we had plenty of choice. The service was faultless and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would love visit for longer. The hotel is up a hill so provides excellent views of Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickshaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Our main objective is to ensure that our guests are happy all the time and your positive comments are our greatest rewards. We look forward to seeing you soon in Elephant Stables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

was here at the beginning of august with my family and all of us loved it. the rooms are beautiful and the views and decor of this place are stunning. the staff are really friendly and food was great. i really wish we had more time at the Elephant Stables as we were only there for one night. would love to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmm__766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest, We eagerly wait to see our happy clients once again expecting to serve you better... Hope you will return soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This newly refurbished and converted boutique hotel is an absolute delight, from the furnishings, bathrooms, to the service, the ambience and the cuisine. The welcome and service from Nihal, and the Manager, was most sincere and warm. Throughout the evening Nihal ensured that our stay was comfortable, and that we had everything we needed. The food prepared byTyrone, the chef, was easily the most succulent and tasty of our trip so far. It was so nice to have a proper meal from a fresh selection menu, rather than the perennial buffet that so many places provide. In fact I would have to say that the evening meal and the breakfast were the best we have had not only in Sri Lanka, but indeed for some time. The only shame was that we were only booked in for one night, but if we were to return I would certainly look to book Elephant Stables again. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest, It's great to know that you had a fabulous time. We hope to see you soon in Elephant Stables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Dropped in at Elephant's Stable for few minutes to check out the place on our yearly hotel visit, and was simply amazed!

Clean & comfortable, great view and weather, this is probably the best place to stay in Kandy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surf-sri_lanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest, We value your opinion about The Elephant Stables. We hope you will come to spend a night or to have a meal next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
2.6 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 52 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Property: Elephant Stables
Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing