We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a home stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Ranked #3 of 445 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a short stay in Hantana Holiday Rooms during our recent visit to Sri Lanka. It was like staying in our own home. Very friendly family. Great place for a home stay. Thanks Ananda and Nimalka for your great hospitality. Can’t wait for the next visit to your new addition. Good luck with everything!
Lionel and Champa - Australia

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank LRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 352 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hanthana is clean, beautiful and serene. We came to Hanthana straight from the Bandaraneika airport and we were so glad we had chosen such a nice place to put up our first night in Sri Lanka. The air was cool at night you don't even need a fan in the room. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We knew before we placed the booking this place is few kilometres away from the town thus we had jotted down the telephone number and address so that we could contact Ananda for direction. Ananda and his family were very kind and attentive. Ananda helped us in arranging our transportation here and there, with very reasonable price. I would strongly recommend this place to anybody who loves a leisure and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy6204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband, daughter,her friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in March 2014. Our rooms were stuffy and no fans were offered. Only on the second night when I insisted because my room was infested with mosquitoes, a stand fan was put in. Ananda insisted that his place is mosquitoe free place. Surprising when it is surrounded by trees. Breakfast was not at all to our expectation. SL breakfast was " kiribath" was not well prepared. This is our fifth trip to SL and we have tasted good local food. We dont like the idea of the cat sitting on the sofa all over and also in our rooms. It will sit on the bed too. Only upon request toiletries were given. Glad that I stayed here for only 2 nights. We had a difficult time finding this place too...bit out of the way especially at night.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the basement are cool maybe mosquioto free. They are also cheaper so you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sreeyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ananda J, Owner at Hanthana Holiday Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Hello Mrs,

Thank you very much for your review. It is unfortunate that you did not find our home pleasant and found many problems with our services when all our other guests had a very calm and peaceful time. I have gone through all the problems you have mentioned and also I we found a fraud with your booking as well which we did not report to Agoda.com. I hope you do not do such kind of things to other hotel owners as well, because giving an extra room to a guest is not a big issue

Regarding the mosquitoes I can assure you that there are no mosquitoes and I am a 100% sure. We have had many other guests and no one else reported having mosquitoes in their rooms. When we asked your daughter and her friend as well regarding the mosquitoes they said they did not find any. Its unfortunate you find some mosquitoes which we can assure aren't there.

I am must give you my apologies for the cat. Most guests loves our pets, but if they don't they let us know before hand. Regarding the toiletries we look to resupply them as soon as they run out in the rooms. As for the breakfast I am a bit surprised as your daughter and her friend found the "Kiribath" very delicious and commented that they had a good meal.

It is regrettable we got a negative review from a Sri Lankan family who told us had a great stay.
Hope you have a wonderful day and give my sincere regards to your husband, daughter and her friend.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hanthana holiday rooms in July 2013 and it is without a doubt one of the favourite places we stayed in the whole country. From the moment we arrived Ananda and his family made us feel part of the family. We arrived in July, after not finding the holiday rooms very easily we managed to contact Ananda and he amazingly got on his bike and found our lost tuk tuk in the hills, we were the only people staying at Hanthana whilst we were there and he offered us a beautiful room which was the most expensive at an excellent price. Every evening we chose to stay at the guesthouse for dinner and his food was so delicious! I still dream about his amazing curries now, we were given star treatment at the holiday rooms. Whilst in Sri Lanka I had to undergo surgery in Colombo which was extremely stressful, after the surgery I aimed to stay in relaxed and affordable accommodation (my boyfriend and I are both students so money was extremely tight). Every morning Ananda would arrange tuk tuks at a great price to travel to Kandy for the day and he would made us the most wonderful food. Breakfast was eggs, fruit, bread and jam and dinner consisted of chicken, fish, sri lankan curries and great beers!! In the evening we could use the free wifi and relax in the living area with his families, it was great to feel part of a family.
I would thoroughly recommend Hanthana holiday rooms to anyone visiting Kandy, accommodation can be very expensive and poor quality in Kandy but not at Hanthana Holiday Rooms! One of the loveliest and friendliest places I visited in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyMcQuade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I'm leaving tomorrow morning, but am savoring my last hours with the family and guests at Hanthana Holiday Rooms. The reviews of this place were so overwhelmingly positive that I didn't actually expect it would be as good as advertised. It's better. The family is gracious and welcoming. The home is lovely and there are lots of open spaces to sit and enjoy a moment in solitude or chatting with others. The internet is strong and reliable. My Skype calls back home are laced with birdsong, because I'm usually sitting on the lovely patio, enjoying the jungle view and breezes. Dinner each evening is a special treat -- the food is so good and atmosphere so enjoyable that I, and all of the other guests, look forward to gathering around the table. I'll add my superlatives to the other reviews - this place is awesome!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in this BnB for one night, and will (whenever we return back to Kandy) stay there again, as the host is very friendly, the place is very cozy and up in the hills. Food was delicious, rooms were good!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Ananda & Nimalka thoroughly deserve all the positive comments to be read in TripAdvisor reviews. We stayed for 3 nights and were welcomed into their home as friends. As a past traveller himself, Ananda obviously enjoys meeting like-minded people from around the world and showing family hospitality. The evening meal seems to be at 7:30pm and everyone eats together whatever Nimalka has made. Every meal was delicious local food. A pre-dinner drink of a local Lion beer, coke or fruit juice is easily arranged. Breakfast is flexibly timed to suit guest requirements. Wifi is available. It might be a little difficult to find. GPS co-ords are 7.27493, 80.638915 and pinpoints it exactly on Google maps. Tuktuk is LKR250 to the station or into Kandy town.
I must mention Manju, tuktuk driver, who Ananda got for us to do a day trip taking in the elephant orphanage (LKR2500 each entry), Botanical Gardens (LKR1100 each entry), a tea factory and spice garden. He charged a very reasonable LKR2000 round trip (+ LKR500 tip), spoke good English, courteous, careful driver and officially Tourist Board registered. The $25 room with en suite & balcony is the best in the house. Hanthana Holiday Rooms have their own Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/HanthanaHolidayRooms?fref=ts

Room Tip: Double room with balcony seems best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scubascubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.9 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanthana Holiday Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana Holiday Rooms

Address: 13/B/15/1 National Housing Scheme | Hanthana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: $18 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanthana Holiday Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family willing to accept anyone who wants to stay at our lovely home stay. We have good rooms with great bedding and clean bathrooms for anyone's use. Our home stay is right next to a beautiful forest which you will find peace and freedom in the air. A great area for morning or evening walks and with a beautiful scenery. Any visitor will have a splendid time living at our Home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hanthana Holiday Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing