We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Homestay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Ranked #2 of 384 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Homestay!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A very friendly and helpful house owner family and they can speak well English.
House and room absolutely very clean and neat, with reasonable room rate.
Highly recommend for these budget traveller who looking for comfortable enviroment!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pangpang2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    75
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
172
27
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

High up on the hills,away from the traffic of Kandy, this place has an excellent location up in the forest, with great views and lots of birds. Mr, Ananda, his wife and son are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble to them. Trishaws easy to arrange down to the town @ 300 LKR (Nov 2013).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The most cherished guesthouse of our honeymoon trip! The perfect mix with warm and welcoming people, most helpful (they went with us to help us choose and negociate saris in the city and adviced film at the cinema), and a dizzying situation.
It is a quiet resting place perched within the jungle not 15 minutes away from the Kandy dynamism, you may have a walk around in the wild or just observe it from your seat. Our room was well equipped, clean and marvelously comfortable, and dinners were a great time.
The quality of life here is clearly one or two steps ahead the very reasonable budget : a jewel we adviced to try to every people we met afterwards : Keep on !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PS_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

It was our first place to stay during our two week trip and it turned out great! The hosts are very friendly and willing to help you with everything. In addition, you could taste wonderful Sti Lankan cuisine here. I highly recommend HHR, I'm sure you won't regret staying there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maryasyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay. The family were really friendly and gave lots of great advice. Ananda and all of his family are great hosts. An absolute haven up the hill from the hustle and bustle of kandy. And the food was the best we had in all of Sri Lanka. I'd recommend this place to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kashmir, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Mr. Ananda and his family were very hospitable during my stay in HHR. The whole family including their dog and my favorite cat, Puss, that slept in my bed one night was very genuine in their desire to welcome guests. It's one big house where you live with the family and prepare meals for you. The beds were very comfortable and homey as I stayed at the ground floor with shared baths. I was connected throughout the house and we got free water as we ate. The balcony at the right wing overlooked the jungle where I heard birds and some animals in the morning and evening. I usually wake up early so I took a hike up to the water tank where you can see Kandy town, the forest that surround Hantana and some plantations on the right.

Some people pay much just to get the "local experience" but in HHR I got it (for only about $15/ night) and had fun with a friend, Susanna, who I met there . There was a common dining area where I shared some meals and beers with some other guests.

The house was quite a trip from downtown but you could ask Mr. Ananda to write the address or instructions in Sri Lankan .I didn't really wanna stay downtown with all the touts and the business going on there so it was perfect for the evenings where I wanted to just chill and relax and talk to the family.

HHR also helped us organize a Knuckles Range hike so they made me very happy since Knuckles was my utmost priority. Plus I got a bargain on a really nice batik shirt that Mrs. Jayakody made. And thanks to his second son for helping us when he saw us lost downtown looking for a place to eat Faluda. Hahaha Thanks a lot!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, choose a ground floor room where it's away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofCarrotFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Amazing is the one word i would like to use to describe Hanthana Holiday Rooms!!!! We stayed here unfortunately only for two nights but they were the best two days of our trip by far.

1) Firstly Anand is a fantastic host and he along with his wife and two sons could not make us feel more at home!! A big thanks to you Anand!!!!

2) Spotless charming and comfortable is how i would describe his house. There was not a speck of dust or dirt anywhere. The rooms are exceedingly clean.

3) The food is absolutely fantastic and cooked by Anand (who specializes in salads) and his wife who should be on a cooking show. The dinners she prepared for us were authentic Srilankan fare which we enjoyed thoroughly. And were not charged much at all for.

4) If you are looking for an AMAZINGLY AFFORDABLE stay this is the place to be. When we compared the facilities to what we were being charged, this place was by far the best in Sri lanka that we found.

5) A wonderful location overlooking the hills of Kandy gave us a serene and relaxing time... the only price to pay for this serenity is the tuk tuk ride to town which takes about 15 minutes. But here also Anand helps us out with transport at a very affordable price.

6) Anand is SO HELPFUL. Takes personal interest in your travels and even takes trouble to set things up for all his guests! A big big thank you to you Anand and Family!!!


7) Lastly but not the least this is the most HOMELY COMFORTABLE FRIENDLY AFFORDABLE and WONDERFUL place to stay in Kandy. A big thumbs up to HHR and a HIGH RECOMMENDATION to anyone who is travelling to Kandy

Room Tip: The master bedroom is with a small balcony with a good view and attached toilet!! Certainly worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanthana Holiday Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanthana Holiday Rooms

Property: Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Address: 13/B/15/1 National Housing Scheme | Hanthana, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 384 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanthana Holiday Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family willing to accept anyone who wants to stay at our lovely home stay. We have good rooms with great bedding and clean bathrooms for anyone's use. Our home stay is right next to a beautiful forest which you will find peace and freedom in the air. A great area for morning or evening walks and with a beautiful scenery. Any visitor will have a splendid time living at our Home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanthana Holiday Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing