We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self satisfiction”

Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House
Ranked #40 of 162 Restaurants in Kandy
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: European, Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House is an Eighty seater family Restaurant located 1.5Km from the Kandy town centre.(About 5-8 minutes from the central Town Clock Tower by TukTuk). It is a great place to enjoy a meal overlooking the river and mountain range and indeed away from the pollution and noise of the town centre, yet not far from all the sight seeing places and attractions of the historical City. We offer a child and family friendly atmosphere. We serve hot and cold food from authentic Srilankan curries to fish&chips,Seafood dishes,fried rice, noodles, snacks, sandwiches, Halal dishes and many more. We also serve a selection of fresh tropical fruit juices along with hot drinks too. All our dishes are prepared to a very high standard. Our Prices are very low, whilst the service we offer is like no other. We also provide a free WiFi service to all our guests. The Honeypot also has four Guest Rooms which are clean, simple and competitively priced. All rooms are en-suite with a/c and fans. All rooms have a private balcony overlooking the river. The Honeypot prides itself for its simple original building design & deco, constructed utilising local material.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It was a excellent river view restaurant. food, service and atmosphere was amazing. It seems I was in home aboraod with every delicacy. Spicy curry and chicken biryani was out standing. Confidently I can recommend anyone visit this restaurant to enjoy its great food in a very reasonable price. I wish to visit again in future along with my family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hamid0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your commnets of your vsisit to Honeypot. we sincerely appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 143 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Honeypot Restaurant Kandy

We visited Honeypot restaurant on 25th April 2014 after the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. Personally, i feel it was over exaggeration in terms of its reviews. The hotel is more suited for foreigners who come on tours and are wowed by the location. Its a one unit restaurant with about 18 seats and tables set into the place and had a decent bathroom.

The Good
The restaurant overlooks a river and indeed had a splendid view. Although not as breathtaking as most portrayed in their reviews, but a pleasant on nonetheless. The staff speak fluent English, were efficient, accommodating and knew their menu well. The food tasted excellent (we ordered a chicken fried rice with a side of crispy garlic seer) and the drinks were refreshing(lime juice). It is RELATIVELY close to the city area

The Bad
Exorbitant prices. Myself being a Sri Lankan and living in Colombo can tell you that a grilled chicken breast will cost LKR 1300 in one of the larger 5 star rated hotels and never in a small wayside restaurant. Our total bill for the above mentioned food for 2 worked out to LKR 2695, which is almost twice the amount i would pay for a similar meal in Colombo. The rice portion (though it said LARGE) was grossly small portion for the price of LKR 900 something. The Drinks too were each over LKR 150 which would be a rate charged by a high end hotel in Colombo. The restaurant itself was nothing fancy, it was so so, a no frills one large hall unit. At the time we went, it was pretty hot and there were tiny fly like creatures going all over you including your sweaty face and food and it was annoying as you had to keep waving it away from your face. There were so many tables cramped up that they did not adequately receive air from the few fans on the roof. But we were informed that it is USUALLY cool (I presume on non summer days).

My Experience
Being a local and someone who travels and eats a lot, I would advice fellow travelers to try locations within the city which serve up larger platters for cheaper price. Personal opinion, its overpriced, but perhaps would suit the pockets of foreigners where exchange rates make it cheaper. But credit goes to the taste of the food, which is pretty good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Salmaan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are somewhat dissapointed that as a local customer you did not find our food cheap however we are encouraged by the fact that the food was tasy in your opinion. We do have a local customer base and will do everything in our power to improve and provide the best service we can for both local and tourist cutomers. Indeed we will take note of your points and review them to improve on our short commings. You have already given your rating of your viist to which we are very dissapointed. As you have rightly pointed out in your review, our staff do speak English and the Cheffs posess five star hotel experience. I am sure that you will appreciate that these service qualities indeed make the restaurant what it is and hence, cannot be compared with general places in the town. However, either way It does not resolve your opinion, and we regret that. Inlight of your detailed review on your last visit, I would like to make amends by inviting you back again to Honeypot whenever you visit Kandy, where we will give you a 50% discount to make amends for our shortcomings. As you live in Colombo I anticipate that you will visit Kandy at some point and hope you will look us up. We look forward to seeing you once again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

One of a best place in kandy for local foods i tried. delicious. price also very reasonable, rather than eating from a normal hotel (muslim hotels) for a very very cheap price traumatic foods.

1  Thank KrishSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback of your experience at Honeypot. We are pleased that you were happy with our local food and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Enjoyed our meal here. Sri Lankan curry dish a great value and tasty option. Lovely riverside location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rod Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thanks for your review and sharing your experience at honeypot. We sincerely appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Amazing view to die for if anyone likes Sri Lanken food this is the place to come to. its not to far from the city, beautiful temples. Kandy has lots of history.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brittany w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House also viewed

 
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing