We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House
Ranked #36 of 141 Restaurants in Kandy
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan, Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House is an Eighty seater family Restaurant located 1.5Km from the Kandy town centre.(About 5-8 minutes from the central Town Clock Tower by TukTuk). It is a great place to enjoy a meal overlooking the river and mountain range and indeed away from the pollution and noise of the town centre, yet not far from all the sight seeing places and attractions of the historical City. We offer a child and family friendly atmosphere. We serve hot and cold food from authentic Srilankan curries to fish&chips,Seafood dishes,fried rice, noodles, snacks, sandwiches, Halal dishes and many more. We also serve a selection of fresh tropical fruit juices along with hot drinks too. All our dishes are prepared to a very high standard. Our Prices are very low, whilst the service we offer is like no other. We also provide a free WiFi service to all our guests. The Honeypot also has four Guest Rooms which are clean, simple and competitively priced. All rooms are en-suite with a/c and fans. All rooms have a private balcony overlooking the river. The Honeypot prides itself for its simple original building design & deco, constructed utilising local material.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

this is my third visit to Honeypot I love the food beautiful location people are fantastic very friendly very tasty food I will recommend to it anybody. view from the restaurant is amazing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank menuka j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your numerous custom and indeed your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    66
    31
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice view but really low quality standard food. And it was really expensive! Blank white rice for 400 Rupee.

Helpful?
1 Thank DukeStylewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are very dissapointed to know that you rate us so lowly on a sole item. Firstly you have not indicated any other dishes you had and its quality. As a trip advisor reviewer we would appreciate it if you could rate your experience as a totality rather than one item. Yes our plain rice is as you stated. However, let me explain to you that there are over 16 types of rice sold in our country with a range of prices. We can indeed sell you rice for even Rs 50. However, the quality will be poor. Hence we buy the highest quality rice to ensure that our guests can enjoy stoneless, huskless full grain rice which indeed is brought to us directly from the mill and grown in a place called Wattegama. This is to ensure that we provide the highest quality rice to our guests as well as to make sure we know exactly the source of our rice. There are not very many places that can actualy point you to the exact field from where the produce comes from. as we have reiterated on numerous occasions, our pririty is to produce the best dishes with supplies that we are able to trace to the best of our ability. Rice is one such comodity that we have a direct farmer. This is not only generaly ethical but also helps to sustain the local economy. I sincerely hope that this would be appreciated by our customers more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Must Visit - Excellent Food”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very good! Went to this restaurant twice and were happy both times. Good variety of dishes, including seafood and local sri-lankan cuisine. Very friendly Staff and Good Service. Enjoyed a a Chicken Buriyani, the best that we have ever had at a very reasonable price. Will definitely go back and have also recommended this Restaurant to all my friends.

They have the best personnel who always do the impossible to please the clients. The manager is one of the most professional and cooperative. Keep up the Good Work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and indeed for taking the time share your experience at honeypot with us and fellow readers. Your review is particularly reasuring and pleasing to us to know that we are able to cater for our local folk and the taste of our dishes are appreciated by you too. It gives us more confidence that our dishes are well priced and affordable to our fellow srilankans. Our goal is to make our restaurant welcome and afoordable to all and and thankful that you enjoyed it as so many have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appropriate Name - where Flies Get Trapped!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This place was awful - over priced, terrible food that took over an hour to be served. Dining room was hot under a metal roof with no air conditioning. Were taken here by a driver straight from Colombo. Do not go here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaurelS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Having read your review we are very dissapointed of your comments and unwarented sarcasm. You have not specified the exact date you had your meal, however we have tracked back a whole week trying to understand if there was any delay in customers meals and if so when? and why??. With all due respect this is not correct and therefore I believe it is unfair. Yes we are very busy during lunch times as we have large numbers and sometimes arrving at the same time. However, we have never had a situation where a customer had been kept over an hour to be served. Obviously if you were the last csutomer to arrive during the peak lunch time there could be delays in providng you a service as we would have had to serve first comers first, but never to the extent of over one hour. It is Just like any other restaurant. It is not in our interest both commercially or indeed from a service point to keep anyone waiting. Besides, our staff are equiped to deal with this situation on a daily basis. The restaurant been full to capacity during lunch times is a testament to the quality of food and indeed the pricing of our menu.
With regards to air conditioning, We had air conditioning installed in the past, and following customer feedback and popular demand we dismantled the ac units. (This cost us more than installing them as we then put in fans so as to make it more comfortable and for customers like yourself). It is because our customers indicated that we should take advantage of the natural breeze flowing through the restaurant, which indeed makes sense. As you would have noticed we are located by the river sorounded by lots of greenery and the restaurant is on the top floor where there is a natural heavy breeze throughout the day and they prefered this natural breeze while having their meal. I can also reveal that most of the time the ac was switched off during a three year period. Sadly in your case,it was not cool enough for you. Furthermore, our roof is designed for natural ventilation and air circulation. It is over 15 meters high from the restaurant floor. This is very high for a general building in srilanka. Whilst we have received many positive customer reviews and indeed great feedback on the ground verbaly and in our visitors book at the restaurant in relation to the food, service and restaurant as well as the open plan deco, I must say your comments are a first indeed. It is still one too many and ofcourse we are always striving to improve on our short commings and have no fear in acknowledging them openly. However, as much as we would like to improve following customer reviews, I am not sure if we can do anything to improve on anything indicated in this particular review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Though its a little out of the way, a visit here combines well with a trip to the Botanical Gardens which are nearby. Also, the staff informed us their meat was Halal (Muslim friendly).

The restaurant overlooks a river and has a balcony with a great breeze for you to enjoy before your food gets there. The food selection is relatively limited but they do a great job in the taste department. We had a chicken biryani and curry meal which we really enjoyed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your very valuable and well stated review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your meal at Honeypot. Indeed we have a great view of the river and mountans which can be enjoyed while having your meal from a seated table. Your photo ilustrates that very well. Yes, we have less items on the menu as we believe that we can serve our valuable customers quality food with greater taste and the food we specialise in. As you may recall through your experience in srilanka most menus are like books with lots of food. However, from our experience and indeed customer feedback we believe that lots of items on the menu confuses customers, and also could compromise the service. Hence, we have opted to this menu which is short, easy to choose and we know that our customers are coming to taste the food that we specialise in. We also have added pictures to make it easy for our customers to make their choices and minimise confusion and provide an even better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House also viewed

 
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing