We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Experience with Mahen and his Family”
other travelers have booked this property
Space for vehicle parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Space for vehicle parking
Front view with the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Space for vehicle parking
Front view with the entrance
Living room with TV
Dr David from UK with his wife in living room
Young German couple spent 4 days
American Kevin and his wife enjoyed the short stay and loved the B'fast
German couple stayed 5 days at Gladmanit was sorry to leave
Louisa and Ed from UK was very happy to stay 3 days with us.
David using the writing table
Nataliia
Polly and family from USA
Nataliia from St. Petersberg
Menno from Netherlands
Collete and Jason from Hongkong
Anthony Sabapathy, his wife with us
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David N
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience with Mahen and his Family”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the moment I arrived in Kandy, Mahen and his family treated me as part of their own. I stayed in the apartment for approximately 4 weeks. Mahen and his family were incredibly kind, helpful and went out of their way to ensure my stay was comfortable. I would highly recommend this property to other travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Set back from the busy streets of Kandy
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
Thank you very much for your great review.
Mahen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jochen611
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“A place that I can recommend to budget travelers and visitors to Kandy”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I had a pleasant time staying in Gladmanit guest house in Kandy for 6 days. It is about 3 km away from the town center, but can easily be reached by tuk tuk for LKR 250 or by bus for LKR 13 per head. We did a lot of walking, and the steep road of about 20 meters from the main road up to the guest house contributed to give us sufficient exercise. A walk around the lake downtown and in the botanical garden (6 km away) was the highlight of our stay. The botanical garden is really worth seeing although the entrance fee seems to be high with LKR 1100 each.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location, lots of space, quietness, friendly owner,
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edweird
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fantastic and lovely place to stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed here for 3 night during our 2 week stay in Sri Lanka. We were met at the train station and then given a brief driving tour of Kandy.
The accomodation is great as it is a seperate flat to the house, so you have your own privacy and also have a kitchen/living area and seperate bedroom.
The hosts were really lovely and Mahen and his wife made us feel very welcome and comfortable. We had breakfast with them twice and it was a great way to delve into traditional Sri Lankan cuisine and life. Mahen is a very intelligent man and has many tales of his travels with work, also full of knowledge about Sri Lanka and so he was very helpful in helping us plan the rest of our trip. We also had the benfit of Mahen's son-in-law who lives just round the corner and became our driver/guide/friend all at once. Full of knowledge and great company.
I would highly recommend staying here. Hopefully when we return we will stay here again, we will most certainly visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly and helpful approach of the hosts
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusiV66
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing