We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience!”

Rainbow Tours Sri Lanka
Ranked #4 of 74 Tours in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A privately owned, family run domestic tourism agency offering cultural round island tours and sightseeing Day Tours in and around Kandy. We are an experienced team actively involved in local and international tourism for over 30 years. Our safe, Tourist Board registered drivers/general guides have good spoken English and are family friendly. We offer an efficient and courteous service that is highly recommended on many forums.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A wonderful tour of a wonderful island - every day there was a unique experience and with so much to see the only complaint I have was that sometimes I felt rushed! Our guide and driver between them seemed to know everything worth knowing and we went through several sites a day. There was also a great deal of beautiful countryside and even in the cities nature was never far away. Sri Lanka is an incredibly beautiful island and I never had a complaint about our guide or our driver. Definitely an experience I want to repeat!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexHerbert86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    7
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing tour in beautiful Sri Lanka”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a great trip we had around Sri Lanka thanks to Rainbow Tours-- taking in a mix of temples, natural delights like waterfalls and rock formations, climbed Sri Pada, luxuriated in the incredible greens of tea plantations in the hill country and then down into the southern plains and Yala animal reserve where the inhabitants were most obliging. We were a group of friends who wanted to focus on sacred sites and the subsequent itinerary offered fit the bill perfectly--alot of sacred sites but alot of the other delights of that Shangri-La island as well. And there was flexibility-- including accommodating an early morning trip to Kataragama for the dawn puja. Local knowledge, local language, enthusiasm and love for the country, good driving (!!), and holding our little group together with goodwill and humour. Thank you Rainbow Tours! I'll be back...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent tour outfit”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

highly recommend Rainbow Tours for your Sri Lanka adventure. Guide has cultural insight that is pleasantly shared, local language knowledge,being Sri Lankan, highly professional. A clear eye and awareness for the visitors needs. Also being a safe cautious driver, well needed on the winding roads of Sri Lanka, adds extra pleasure to touring this magic island. The tempo and preparations of tours where so well planned so travel fatigue was avoided. Enjoy your explorations of a deep culture well introduced during touring Sri Lanka with Rainbow Tours, I was not once disappointed , on the contrary I will return over and over again in this business safe and caring hands.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely jubbly and more”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Still integrating the amazing time we had in Sri Lanka with Rainbow Tours. We saw rare leopards, a rose quartz mountain (!), tea plantations, climbed Sri Pada, visited Kataragama and stayed in modest hotels largely with very pleasant staff and often lovely families running them. The food was great, our hosts fun and conscienious and the driving fast (as all Sri Lankans) but very safe. Some of the best places we saw were little known and it was a huge privilege to meet an activist monk, people involved in rebuilding Sri Lanka after the tsunami and the blue whales of Mirissa. Can't wait to go back and am already missing this magical isle.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KateHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Funny, honest and obliging”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have just returned from 2 weeks travelling around Sri Lanka with Rainbow Tours and found our driver Wasantha to be the most gorgeous happy chappy who found nothing too much hassle to arrange for us. He is a really safe driver and that;s important over there as the roads are not in very good condition and there are crazy drivers everywhere. Felt totally safe and relaxed with him in control. He is very professional and experienced and his love of his country shines out. He even suggested places we didn't know of, after getting to know the types of places we liked. And they were amazing. He speaks great English and is totally trustworthy. Will definitely be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Tours Sri Lanka also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Rainbow Tours Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing