We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To chill out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Hotel

Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 138 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“To chill out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Went to chill out in the evening and found that the public bar had been closed with immediate effect and we had to find another palace so we purchased are liquor at the wine store and took it home

Helpful?
Thank lakshmanisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    147
    104
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
820 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 865 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My main reason for liking this hotel is its location. It is very easy to do a morning jog around the lake when you are at this hotel. Kandy is very much a walking city and when your hotel is not so far from the walking area you can walk around alone even at night.
I stayed several times in this hotel sometimes in nice rooms and one time in a room where it rained in right on to the bed.
Now the room rates have gone high at this hotel

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel, Great service, Rooms need an update!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at Queens Hotel for one night and had a really good time. The staff were very friendly and attentive to all of our needs, the level of service we were provided with was perfect, no-one was too intrusive but every member of staff we came into contact with gave us time and were down to earth and very friendly. We travelled to kandy with a Sri Lankan friend who recommended Queens Hotel to us for its proximity and colonial history, we are so glad he did that. We arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon and after going out for the evening returned quite late so we chose to eat in the bar with its small bar menu, the food was great.

The only real downside to the stay was the room, it was very dated and in need of an update, the bed was far to soft for us and there were no extra pillows or sheets available in the room. There was also no hair dryer or Ironing facilities in the room, we think these should have been available.

The hotel itself is very dated but that seems to add a bit of charm and would probably spoil the feel if it were changed. The elevator is a work of art, and should never be changed..

The location of Queens Hotel could not be any better, its a very short walk to the Lake and Temple of the tooth relic and I would recommend a trip around the lake in one of the three wheeler taxi's to everyone, they are so much fun.

Queens Hotel is a beautiful old building with a great team of staff.. we would definitely stay here again, we would prefer a firmer matress next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Dated colonial”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

we only had a drink in the bar here as it was raining - the public rooms are in need of renovation. it is situated on the corner of a busy interchange and I can imagine it being noisy at peak times.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank toesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Grand Old building in the heart of the city, worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Loved this hotel.. We stayed there as a last min decision when our previously booked accommodation turned out NOT so good. Funny though because it was our original choice. It was half the price that a lot of other places were trying to charge and had no moldy smell or dampness so many places seem to have. As soon as you enter the hotel you step back in time. Original old lift , big grand entrance and staircase leading to the floors where the rooms are. The rooms are basic but comfortable... Not luxurious but the AC works. They are serviced and the bathroom clean with hot water , basic amenities . You stay at the Queens because of the history and great location, right next to the lake and the tooth temple. Across the road is a Pizza Hut if you get sick of the local or hotel food. The service there was great..... Breakfast ok and had the basics , which was enough really. The hotel is also across from the man made lake which is a joy to walk around in the morning. Best time to stay at this hotel is defiantly the weekend. The traffic is pretty heavy outside as its on a corner. Would I stay there again..... Hell yer !! I love the ambiance of old hotels with their creaky wooden floors and , their dining rooms , so much more character then modern hotels, this hotel is a must if only to ride in the old lift and the location, rooms a bit noisy during the day and you wouldn't get much of a sleep in . Well worth the stay at the price.... Oh! Wifi only in lobby and free.... Slight pain !!! Great bell boy service... And easy access from road.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rasta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Hotel also viewed

Kandy, Central Province
 
Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing