We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Only stayed one night on our journey through Sri Lanka, our baggage had been delayed so it was meeting us there. My wife rang ahead and they advised we had a room change, we were travelling with friends. they asked if we would mind upgrading to the Penthouse, she accepted.
When we arrived it was a very nice welcome and then they showed us the room , it was fantastic. We had stayed at Sigirya Hotel the night before and this was in another league.
We did have a small issue getting the power working on the 2nd floor however we ordered some wine and sat on the balcony enjoying the view.
We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel and both were excellent.
The staff are very good and the room prices are OK , dinner was reasonable price also , would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed the upgrade to the penthouse, your words of appreciation justify why we love to spring small surprises like this to our guests from time to time. I apologies for the power issue, however I am glad that you managed to make the most of it and enjoy the lovely private balcony in our penthouse.

Hope to have you back with us on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    105
    49
    9
    4
See reviews for
97
165
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Overall it's fantastic. The location, staff, food and facilities. I love the penthouse. It's beautiful.
Rooms are spacious. Can see the beauty of Kandy and location is very close to Kandy town.
Staff is very courteous and all out to help for anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visaka w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Visaka,

Thank you for your lovely comment. We look forward to welcoming you with the same hospitality and warmth on your next visit to Kandy. Hopefully you will be able to stay with for a few more days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous and location is great.

The staff is extraordinary nice and they are very concern about all your needs. Everyone will do their best to help you out in any way possible.

The beds are super comfy. The rooms are spacious and value for money.. the food is awesome. thank you all for make it a memorable stay and wish you all success.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayanthi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Mayanthi,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. Such words of praise is what drives us to continue doing what we are doing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Amaara Sky Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

it's simple and nice and clean an all you could need in a hotel. But it still has the touch of the faulty towers about it... A little disorganized, not a very extensive bar drinks menu, and no actual operational spa despite the website saying they have one.

I can find easy things to knit pick at but they are knit picking.

This sits easily in the mid range of Sri Lankan accommodation and you won't find issue with it if you are looking for a place to crash. It's not top end romantic with all the trimmings.but that's ok sometimes.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Undenk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and the valuable feedback. We apologies regarding the Spa as during your stay we were in a period of transition. I can assure you that everything is back in order and we now provide a facility of having a Spa treatment in the comfort of your own room.

Your feedback is invaluable to us, as we are always striving to improve ourselves. I apologies if you felt a touch of Faulty towers during your stay, this comment came as a surprise to me as we are usually commended for our organisation and service. However I will look into your comments and also look into the possibilities of extending our drinks menu.

Hope to have you back with us at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this beautiful property located on a hilltop. It is just a few minutes away from the city centre, which makes the location so convenient. The view from the penthouse was breathtaking, and indeed made an ideal setting for a relaxing holiday. The staff were so courteous and polite, and went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable! We loved the amenities at our penthouse, especially all the beautiful art on the walls! The meals here are healthy and wholesome too, with a good variety of cuisine available. The meticulous attention to detail here has delighted us extremely, and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it whole-heartedly to anyone who wishes to spend some blissful holidays here! You would feel right at home!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Trishma,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the Amaara Penthouse and you were able to have a relaxing holiday. We appreciate your comments about the paintings, the Amaara Sky is designed to be a Art Gallery within a Hotel; showcasing the talent of Local Artists.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Originally booked the suite which is located on the third floor next to the spa and penthouse. It had its own balcony with a good view of the valley. The only disappointment with this room was there was no TV in the lounge. On our second night we were upgraded to the penthouse apartment as they needed to do some maintenance to the spa area. Great two storey apartment with two double beds, dining area and lounge (again no TV in the lounge area). The shower upstairs had decent water pressure, whereas the suite and downstairs in the penthouse didn't. Not too far away from the hustle and bustle of the centre, (we had a driver which helped). If you want Asian breakfast you need to order it the night before. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our spacious Suite and Penthouse Suite. We well consider your suggestion of having a TV in both lounge areas, as well as look into the water pressure in the two showers. Thank you for your feedback regarding this.

We hope to have your back with us on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The service was faultless, food was fantastice, laundry had a fresh lingering fragrance.Teens enjoyed the wi fi and videos. Eating on the terrace was lovely.
The free gala dinner on 31 Dec with whole salmon, lamb and turkey plus loads more with calypso band for dancing was most enjoyable.
It felt like we were personal guests rather than being customers in a hotel. A truly wonderful, personalised service reflecting the owners generous hospitality. Thankyou very much!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank afonseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our philosophy is to make you feel more like house guests than one at a hotel. I am glad to hear our staff made your NYE memorable.

All the best for 2014 and we hope too see back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.3 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 52 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing