We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high on the hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“high on the hill”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Amaara sky has great views over Kandy as it is located high up a hill over looking the city. A round trip into the city was 600 rupees and only takes around 8 mins. Staff are very friendly and the room clean and spacious. We didn't have dinner, breakfast was a refreshing change the various buffets we have had, started with a fruit plate followed by eggs etc and a bread and pastry basket. Nothing to make it stand out from other hotels apart from the view. We only stayed 1 night. Couple of observations our room only had a shower, the TV is over complicated but there are DVDs you can borrow. We were woken a few times through night by barking dogs as one side of the hotel is next to the rood

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevingbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Kevbell,

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed our Breakfast options and our spacious rooms. Will look into your observations about the TV, and yes we do have a collection of over 150 DVDs for your viewing pleasure. Hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky Hotel on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    108
    50
    9
    4
See reviews for
101
167
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The Amaara Sky is aptly named. Its elevation, perched on a steep, wooded hillside, providing an almost vertical view of the valley below, gives one the feeling of being, quite literally, in the sky. The hotel's dramatic situation and awesome views alone would likely justify a favourable review, but we found that the hotel's staff backed up the splendour of its setting with a high level of service throughout our stay. On our arrival we were extended a warm and sincere welcome, and were ultimately accommodated in the two floor penthouse apartment, a luxurious and expansive suite of two double beds, two sizeable bathrooms, and - on the lower floor - a large sitting and dining area supplied with a selection of fresh fruits and a very well stocked mini-bar. The suite came with a balcony from which you could savour the view of rooftops and trees gently cascading into the valley below. This, in short, was luxury beyond anything I'd hitherto known or experienced. That my girlfriend's name was laid out in petals on the bed as a welcome was a lovely, and greatly appreciated, touch by which I was genuinely moved. You really are made to feel very, very special at the Amaara Sky. Both the evening meal, and breakfast, were of fine quality and - it must be said - quantity. You will not go hungry here. Overall, this hotel offers such a bundle of positives in its setting, its service and its food, that I've no hesitation in declaring the Amaara Sky the best hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theroaringcataract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure having you and am glad to hear that you have such a great experience at the Amaara Sky Hotel. Will pass on your comments about the staff, who take great pride in their work and will be thrilled that they have left such an impression on you.

Thank you and hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our stay at Amaara Sky was incredible. We were 5 and stayed at the penthouse. wow...Luxury at its best. It is a small hotel though. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the food was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thank you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan_De_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Mr Desilva,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad that you have a wonderful experience at the Amaara Sky Hotel and invite you to come stay with us on your next visit to the Hill capitol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

i was privileged to stay at this hotel with my parents..the cleanliness and the room with many amenities was simply amazing! The staff so friendly that it really is a more personalized stay. The pictures and drawings done were stunning and really adds colour to the hotel. If you are looking for a private personalized good relaxed stay in Kandy then this is what you are looking for!! no rush or continuous noise its a great place to just simply relax maybe after a tiring tour. Thank you to the ASH team!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Melinda,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad that you and your parents enjoyed the Amaara Sky Hotel. We are very proud of our extensive Art collection and consider ourselves a hotel cum Art gallery showcasing works of young Sri Lankan artists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our first visit to the ASH and we were taken by complete surprise by the wonderful views and friendly staff. Everyone was so eager to please and assist us, and the welcome of flower petals on our bed, spelling out our names was such a wonderful surprise.

The staff was so assisting and the food was delicious!

Room Tip: Very close proximity to travel in to Kandy town and The Temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaliBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Dinali,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad that you compare your experience at the Amaara Sky Hotel to 'coming home' which is the exact impression we like to create for our guests. Will pass on your comments to the entire staff who will undoubtedly be grateful.

Love to have you at ASH on your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentota, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

When I had to stay in Kandy for a meeting with my computer consultant, I tried the recently opened Amaara Sky Hotel. It’s just an 8-minute three-wheeler ride up hill from the station, with kerb side entrance and bright and spacious lobby. The brightness comes from the broad, panoramic-view glass windows that let light flood in, plus walls hung with colourful oil paintings by talented Sri Lankan artists. We were offered an intriguing welcome drink of mint and lime, given our room keys and shown to the lift. Mine was a deluxe room (201) on the second floor; spacious and with a desk with all necessary power points ideal for work. The bathroom was big and fun with chequered black and white tiles and a shower that delivered the right mix of hot & cold water. I had a super night’s rest in the king size bed (six pillows!) and it was only in the morning as I flung open the curtains that I appreciated what a wonderful view of Kandy and the surrounding hills awaited me. Inspiring. From the other side of the room, there was a view of Kandy lake and the Temple of the Tooth. There was a kettle and tea bags so I made bed tea myself before having breakfast on the hotel’s terrace with its view of the town. Breakfast began with possibly the best fruit platter (nine different fruits) I have ever had in a hotel. Unfortunately I had omitted to order the Sri Lankan breakfast (curry) in advance the night before, but the scrambled egg came with lots of bacon and was jolly good. Dinner the night before had been wholesome tourist fare with the most expensive item (which I had; only Rs1,400) being a pair of delicious lamb chops. My consultant colleague had a standard twin-bedded room (203) that also had some lively paintings adorning its walls, and he was very happy with it. Although we were on business (and managed to get everything done), Amaara Sky seems to be efficiently geared for tourists whether staying for one night or basing themselves in Kandy for a week and touring from there. It’s a welcome, bright, clean and cheerful addition to Kandy’s hostelries.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are spacious & have super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roystonellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A beautifully situated hotel on a ridge between two valleys. The views from our balcony were quite stunning. This modern hotel has recently been converted from a large family residence and although the decor and furnishing are state of the art, there were numerous minor but annoying omissions: for example, not a single hairdryer to be had in the whole hotel: no phone connection to the reception desk and a mini-bar containing a single, elderly bottle of soda water! The bar appeared completely empty - of both people and drinks. The menu was limited, but the food was excellent. Service was friendly, but very slow, despite the fact that at times we were the only guests. The overall impression received was of a hotel which is just "finding its feet". The management has clearly set itself very high standards, but does not yet seem to have the experience or resources to meet these. I am sure that by this time next year this will be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comberdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
972 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Property: Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Address: 72/22 A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing