We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly place”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
himshi666
Udugampola, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heavenly place”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

It was a home away from home. From the moment we landed to Amandari we felt so comfortable. Enjoyed the generous hospitality. Food prepared was so delicious.Love everything about the place.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roving443...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place to stay with Family and Friends”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed 3 nights with my family of 5 along with my wife's parents. Since I have been to a Bungalow in the same area, I was familiar with the location and surrounding. The views were spectacular and the Bungalow set-up was excellent and well maintained. The Caretakers were a lovely couple who were always there to extend a helping hand to make your stay comfortable. The food was delicious and cooked as per our requirements to perfection. The kids loved it so much that they wanted to come back with their cousins the next week but were disappointed to know that the Bungalow was not available for the days we wanted. Worth every single Rupees spent. Would definitely come back again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel_sr...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Perfect place to Relax”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The View was stunning. You can just keep watching it hours and hours. So relaxing.
Tissa and his wife were a wonderful, friendly couple. Their food was very tasty.
Only drawback was, we had power cuts almost every night for about one hour. Should install a generator to the Villa.
Over all the whole family enjoyed the stay thoroughly. Thank you!

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2017
Dear Rajeev, thank you so much for staying with us. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your time at the villa. We are sorry for discomfort caused by the power cut. We have now installed a generator as per your suggestion. So we are ready to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamuna P
1 review
“Perfect place to stay in relax....”
Reviewed December 26, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

It was being a splendid villa. The villa was located at a spectacular location and it gave us a good panorama.

Caretakers were really nice duo and their hospitality, Also we feel like to visit again to taste their delicious meals very soon.

Only thing there was no generator power.

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuferna...
Panadura, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Great hospitality in a cozy villa.”
Reviewed December 24, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at Amandari for 2 nights and it was a cozy place.

Villa is located on a small steep, hence it gives a panoramic view. all rooms are clean and pleasant. bathrooms are well maintained. there are plenty of places, in the yard as well as in the house, to stay in relax.

The staff gave us a warm welcome and all our foods and beverages were well prepared, according to our needs.

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimali F
1 review
“Amazing location for rest & relax”
Reviewed December 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Nice location and view around, everything was perfectly arranged and all our members were enjoyed a lot. The service staff (Thissa & Jayanthi) has been provided a very friendly, helpful service through out the entire vacation at Amandari.

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnieAppl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not a private villa! Owners are there at all times”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this villa for 3 night as we were travelling the whole country. We were absolutely exhausted when we arrived as it was late at night. It is very very remote but we were lucky to have a local driver bringing us to the villa.

The owners were there on arrival and showed us around. We realized that we had on room extra so we offered it to our driver as he was absolutely amazing throughout our whole holiday and we wanted him to feel comfortable and part of the group.

Immediately this caused an issue with the owners who got very angry and wouldn't allow him to stay in the house. They said something to him in Sinhalese and he left the house. stayed outside for the 3 days. I was furious. I understand that there is the class system in Sri Lanka and it is very prominent. However, we were paying for the rental of the entire villa and we should be allowed to do as we see fit while we are there. But there was no discussion.

While the house was nice, you felt like you were staying in someone else's house. From what I understand, this is their house that they move out of if they have guests coming. It was slightly run down and the wifi didn't work (there was also no coverage to contact anybody as we were so remote). the showers didn't have hot water! I've seen in previous reviews that you needed to twist the knobs in the opposite direction but we still suffered with a lack of hot water.

We couldn't really relax in the house for a day/half a day because when we sat down to take a breath, the owners would be standing at the door, hovering. Just being there but not saying anything, we didn't really feel comfortable taking some rest days - as had been the plan.

The views though were absolutely amazing. Breathtaking. Its a great location to base yourself at thats away from the chaos of Kandy city centre but still not so far that its a big mission to go in and see whats going on or go for a few drinks.

As this property really wasn't as described in the ad, I wouldn't recommend this villa.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location & views
Liked least: Condition of the house and being watched at all times
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
Dear Ignatius,

Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry to hear that your stay at Amandari was not as expected.
I perfectly understand your feelings about the driver being asked to sleep in another place as usual we do. But we had clearly noted that we do not have driver accommodation at the property. I can assure you that this has nothing to do with a cast system but it's a precautionary measure we adopted after some unpleasant experience we had in the past when the driver has stayed in the house (loss of our and guests' properties).

What you call the owners are not the owners. They are there for security and to assist the guests as much possible. Nobody lives in the villa but if needed there is a annexe discreetly out of guests' view. My sincere apologies if you felt we were intruding your privacy, that is not our instruction and we will take care of this aspect.

Finally, noting the hot water problem, sometimes had this problem without knowing how to use it properly. Two brand new bathrooms with running hot water have been built recently, so we strive to give our guests the best possible service.

The remoteness and beauty of the place present some challenges, like the wi-fi signal, which are not under our control. The wi-fi sometimes can't be received from certain areas of the property, but throughout most of the house, it works fine. I hope you can understand this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing