We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and affordable hotel in Kandy”
Review of Serene Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serene Grand Hotel
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was in Serene Grand Hotel Kandy for one night. I truly liked spacious clean rooms with spectacular view of Kandy town. Rooms are very clean and the shower and the bathroom is very good. I took Breakfast and dinner from this hotel and it is delicious. The hotel staff also too very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 124 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here one night and the room was spacious & clean with good showers . The view from our balcony was very nice although there are monkeys around and you are advised to keep the windows locked. The dinner and breakfast meals were excellent. The best western meals we had in Sri Lanka. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeky888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The view was spectacular, rooms were clean with spacious balconies. Breakfast was good, you can sit outside view of beautiful mountains. Location is close to kandy city centre so you can enjoy nights there. I just didnt like how reception close at 10pm

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Kandy at Serene Grand- very steep hill to get to (make sure you have a car), rooms are not large, but with modern amenities and comfortable bed, the staff is very nice, and the food was one of the best we experienced in Sri Lanka.

we stayed in October 2013, a couple and a one year old baby - the restaurant staff went out of the their way to get a baby chair for us (which is not common in sri lanka at restaurants) and looking after us.

Room Tip: no pool or amenities... but great place to rest and have dinner after a long day sightseeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_Marcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Serene Grand hotel is situated on a small road that rises on the hillside above the lake in Kandy. It is ideally situated for walking down into town (or taking a short tuk tuk ride). Rooms have balconies with pleasant views of the hills that surround Kandy. Often monkeys can be seen parading around the place which is entertaining. The staff of this hotel are extremely helpful and friendly. Certainly in my experience if you want something different to eat from what is on the menu it can be done. Rooms are clean and well equipped and room service is excellent. I found no significant problems with the place. Wi-fi is excellent in the reception and restaurant areas but not so good in the bedroom - but that is a minor point as it works in the common areas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the top floor - a large suite and superior room and cannot fault the rooms. The furnishings were excellent and the view from our balconies was lovely. Even the monkeys were a bonus, although I'm glad the doors were locked!!
The reception staff were welcoming and very pleasant; we arrived around breakfast time and our room was ready and waiting.
Why only three blobs? Because the breakfasts were really not up to standard and, having read other reviews about the dinners we chose to eat out!
On the plus side, the location is good and the walk from the lake is a great workout! There's a fine local restaurant about 600m along the road by a viewing point.

Room Tip: I would suggest as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howardwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice clean comfortable rooms. Nice view of town from a balcony. The rooms on the floor just below the restaurant is noisy. It is not that pleasant to listen to the chairs being jerked on the floor above. Fortunately there were just a few guests in a hotel. So try to avoid this floor if possible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkarlikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 56 in Kandy
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Senani Hotel
Senani Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kandy
329 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swiss Residence
The Swiss Residence
#42 of 56 in Kandy
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#6 of 56 in Kandy
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Grand Hotel

Address: No 113 Rajaphila Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $58 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serene Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serene Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing