We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view & clean”
Review of Serene Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serene Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good view & clean”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here one night and the room was spacious & clean with good showers . The view from our balcony was very nice although there are monkeys around and you are advised to keep the windows locked. The dinner and breakfast meals were excellent. The best western meals we had in Sri Lanka. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeky888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    31
    19
    5
See reviews for
30
59
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The view was spectacular, rooms were clean with spacious balconies. Breakfast was good, you can sit outside view of beautiful mountains. Location is close to kandy city centre so you can enjoy nights there. I just didnt like how reception close at 10pm

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Kandy at Serene Grand- very steep hill to get to (make sure you have a car), rooms are not large, but with modern amenities and comfortable bed, the staff is very nice, and the food was one of the best we experienced in Sri Lanka.

we stayed in October 2013, a couple and a one year old baby - the restaurant staff went out of the their way to get a baby chair for us (which is not common in sri lanka at restaurants) and looking after us.

Room Tip: no pool or amenities... but great place to rest and have dinner after a long day sightseeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Marcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,859 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Serene Grand hotel is situated on a small road that rises on the hillside above the lake in Kandy. It is ideally situated for walking down into town (or taking a short tuk tuk ride). Rooms have balconies with pleasant views of the hills that surround Kandy. Often monkeys can be seen parading around the place which is entertaining. The staff of this hotel are extremely helpful and friendly. Certainly in my experience if you want something different to eat from what is on the menu it can be done. Rooms are clean and well equipped and room service is excellent. I found no significant problems with the place. Wi-fi is excellent in the reception and restaurant areas but not so good in the bedroom - but that is a minor point as it works in the common areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the top floor - a large suite and superior room and cannot fault the rooms. The furnishings were excellent and the view from our balconies was lovely. Even the monkeys were a bonus, although I'm glad the doors were locked!!
The reception staff were welcoming and very pleasant; we arrived around breakfast time and our room was ready and waiting.
Why only three blobs? Because the breakfasts were really not up to standard and, having read other reviews about the dinners we chose to eat out!
On the plus side, the location is good and the walk from the lake is a great workout! There's a fine local restaurant about 600m along the road by a viewing point.

Room Tip: I would suggest as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howardwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice clean comfortable rooms. Nice view of town from a balcony. The rooms on the floor just below the restaurant is noisy. It is not that pleasant to listen to the chairs being jerked on the floor above. Fortunately there were just a few guests in a hotel. So try to avoid this floor if possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkarlikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. The staff seemed genuinely uninterested. Dinner first night, set western menu served slow and without taste, was actually so disappointing we had hoppers downtown the second night despite already having paid for halfboard.

Our laundry came back on time but before signing I checked the clothes and three sweeters were discoloured. After refusing to sign, the staff asked me to call the reception. I did so and they promised to call me back. So far they hadn't even said sorry about ruining our clothes. Next they call and say we only have to pay half the laundry bill! They've ruined clothes worth many times the bill, tried to hide it and then they still wants us to pay. So I asked to speak to the manager, who wasn't in. Arranged to meet him in the morning before leaving, of course he didn't show up. In the end we never saw the manager nor did we pay..

It's quite understandable that things can go wrong in the laundry, it happens to everyone. A 'sorry' and a free beer would've save my evening from getting ruined too. I think the place have a management problem.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77ErikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Serene Garden Hotel
Serene Garden Hotel
#27 of 54 in Kandy
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#45 of 54 in Kandy
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Senani Hotel
Senani Hotel
#31 of 54 in Kandy
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Grand Hotel

Property: Serene Grand Hotel
Address: No 113 Rajaphila Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Serene Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serene Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing