We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite as grand as the name implies” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serene Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serene Grand Hotel
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Twickenham, London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not quite as grand as the name implies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the top floor - a large suite and superior room and cannot fault the rooms. The furnishings were excellent and the view from our balconies was lovely. Even the monkeys were a bonus, although I'm glad the doors were locked!!
The reception staff were welcoming and very pleasant; we arrived around breakfast time and our room was ready and waiting.
Why only three blobs? Because the breakfasts were really not up to standard and, having read other reviews about the dinners we chose to eat out!
On the plus side, the location is good and the walk from the lake is a great workout! There's a fine local restaurant about 600m along the road by a viewing point.

Room Tip: I would suggest as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howardwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
28
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice clean comfortable rooms. Nice view of town from a balcony. The rooms on the floor just below the restaurant is noisy. It is not that pleasant to listen to the chairs being jerked on the floor above. Fortunately there were just a few guests in a hotel. So try to avoid this floor if possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkarlikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. The staff seemed genuinely uninterested. Dinner first night, set western menu served slow and without taste, was actually so disappointing we had hoppers downtown the second night despite already having paid for halfboard.

Our laundry came back on time but before signing I checked the clothes and three sweeters were discoloured. After refusing to sign, the staff asked me to call the reception. I did so and they promised to call me back. So far they hadn't even said sorry about ruining our clothes. Next they call and say we only have to pay half the laundry bill! They've ruined clothes worth many times the bill, tried to hide it and then they still wants us to pay. So I asked to speak to the manager, who wasn't in. Arranged to meet him in the morning before leaving, of course he didn't show up. In the end we never saw the manager nor did we pay..

It's quite understandable that things can go wrong in the laundry, it happens to everyone. A 'sorry' and a free beer would've save my evening from getting ruined too. I think the place have a management problem.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 77ErikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel and the room is ok, but not great for the price you pay. The bed is comfy, but has a build in around it which is not handy as this is much larger than the bed and very low, so you can hurt your legs. Our room was located just below the dinning room and the moving of the funiture made a lot of noise, keeping us up until late. The next morning there were swimming lessons in the pool right below the hotel and you might wake up because of this (we had fun watching the young children learn how to swim).

On our first morning we had only cold water in the shower and when leaving the hotel very early in the morning to go visit the temple of Tooth the security guard was a sleep and any one could have walk into the hotel where all the rooms are located.

Breakfast is fine but not great...and how difficult is it to prepare an omelet cooked well done? The first day (Sunday morning) we had an extensive buffet. The next day no buffet and we could only get an egg and assorted breads (chocolate, croissant, etc.) but no other choices.

If in Kandy I would definitely not stay in this hotel again! One night we went to Royal Bar and Hotel and although we didn't stay there I would choose that hotel over Serene Grand any day!

Room Tip: If you must stay choose a room not on the floor under the dinning room (avoid 301 till 306).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJC_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a five day tour of Sri Lanka. The staff were welcoming and the rooms were large, well appointed and clean. The food was disappointing, there was an odd mix of variety and it was difficult to structure a meal from what was on offer. Whilst the hotel is set back from the town slightly we still found it very noisy, both sounds from inside (moving furniture) and outside (children's swimming lessons at 6am) meant a broken nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Location and Access – High above the centre of Kandy in a built up area on the outskirts of town. Access is best by car although transfers from the town centre, the railway and bus stations will take 10 to 15 minutes by tuk tuk. Some car parking is available on the forecourt. The very steep access road from the town is badly maintained in parts

Google Earth - the hotel cannot be seen on street view

Architectural Style – A modern concrete and glass building on several levels built in to the hill side

Reception – Modern bright and efficient

Public Areas/Decor – All public areas are spotlessly clean and well maintained. There is no outdoor space but a small terrace/balcony provides spectacular views

Guest Rooms
These are over several floors. The ones on the top floor have full length windows to take full advantage of panoramic views but also attract a premium price. The others are on floors below “ground” (reception) level. All floors are accessed by an efficient lift

My room was on the lowest level and had a balcony but no view to mention

Space – Very large with ample room

Decor/Maintenance/Cleanliness – Modern fixtures and fittings and neutral colour palette - the epitome of a classic contemporary hotel. All very clean

Furnishing/Bed – A large comfortable double bed with clean linen and good pillows. Side tables, desk and large wardrobe. The only complaint - the bed was housed in a hardwood frame - just at the right height for injuring shins!

Bathroom - Modern and clean with a powerful shower in a glass compound. Complimentary body wash and shampoo. Non slip wood effect floor tiles much appreciated. Good and plentiful towels

Amenities including entertainment – The advertised free room wifi did not work but connection was no problem in public areas. Large modern flat tv with limited channels and very poor reception. Complimentary water

Lighting – Very good

Air conditioning and ceiling fan worked well

Food Offering – The restaurant looked to be an appealing venue for dinner but we opted to go into Kandy. Breakfast was international self service buffet style with chef cooking eggs to order. Maitre d’ was exceptionally welcoming and pleasant

Green Credentials – Plastic key card needed to activate electricity in room

Security – 24 hour reception - no minisafe in room

Value for Money – The cost for a double room (including driver accommodation) is $180 per night. Guides can obtain special rates - but these do not include the premium upper floor rooms

X Factor – The location is convenient for visiting Kandy. The modern clean style of the hotel will appeal to travellers looking for comfort and functionality. The situation of the hotel affords panoramic views of Kandy and the surrounding area

Room Tip: For a special occasion you might want to pay the premium for the rooms on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterh125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I;m writing this whilst staying AT the Serene Grand.
We were booked into this hotel by the tour company we've used and I was disappointed to find we weren't at the Serene Gardens. However, once we looked inside the hotel I was pleasantly impressed.
This hotel is of a good, international standard and I've no complaints at all about the standard of the room itself (although there is a lot of noise transference from the corridors, other rooms and above/below.
However the food in the restaurant was inedible, aside from quite a nice salad starter, The international food was of very poor quality - over cooked chicken, dried out fish and most of it was luke warm - including the rice (lukewarn rice is a known health hazard so I hope the other guests don't have upset stomachs).
Having had five weeks in Sri Lanka at this point, what I wanted was Sri Lankan food. All that was on offer (aside from the rice) was a cold carrot curry, a watery, cold dahl and a mixed vegetable curry of some sort (also stone cold). When I complained the waiter took the dahl away and about ten minutes later, after I'd given up and tried (and rejected) the fish in breadcrumbs - see above - I was told the dahl was now ready.
The room service menu has an impressive list of foods and their own website claims "a gourmet’s delight" -well I'd like to meet the gourmet - or anyone else for that matter - who would be delighted with the meal we were offered this evening.
What a let down for what is really a very pleasant building.

Room Tip: Aim for the top floor, you'll hear all the noise of the rooms above you otherwise. And don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Serene Garden Hotel
Serene Garden Hotel
#29 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#45 of 58 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#36 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Grand Hotel

Property: Serene Grand Hotel
Address: No 113 Rajaphila Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Serene Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Serene Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing