We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!”
Review of Clove Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clove Villa
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved our three nights here.
Charlie and the rest of the staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful.
Beautiful decor in the big rooms, with the best bathrooms in Sri Lanka.
Great private pool out the back for relaxing - maybe even order a club sandwich while you're at it.
Definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyenyezi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    72
    19
    0
    3
See reviews for
87
188
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just a quick note to say what a great time we had at this hotel.

Charlie was really helpful and organised tours and transport for us on very short notice.

The breakfast is very good quality and there is a lot of choice. We had room service one evening as we were shattered from a hike and it was just what was needed. They also have a selection of DVD's that they are happy for you to watch in your room.

The pool is a good size and clean and the rooms are spacious and stylish. We had "Turquoise Forever which had a massive bed and a powerful walk in shower. They also have in room tea and coffee facilities and give you complimentary bottled water every day.

You do need to get a tuk-tuk to town but it's really cheap and we prefered being out of the city centre.

If you want boutique luxury without the price tag, this is the place to go!Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

If looking for Sri Lankan hospitality this place cannot be faulted in that respect. The staff will certainly make you feel at home.

This is a charming B&B with not more than 6 rooms, swimming pool in the back garden and they also serve food there. But if you want alcohol they will take you down the road with a tuk tuk so you can buy it and BYO.

The rooms are spacious with a very nice toilet. We got the Rasberry Dreams Room. The location is in a nice suburban area where there are other hotels. It is not in the middle of the city or by the lake. So it is a great place if you have a driver or are happy to catch a tuk tuk to places of interest.

We have to make a mention to the food they cooked for us on our first night there. They were happy to prepare an improvised meal of string, plain and egg hoppers with curry that wasn't even in the menu. They did this for us as we said we wanted something Sri Lankan. It was delicious, fresh and one of the best we've had!

I would recommend this place if you like B&Bs and very personalized attention. If you like extreme privacy and not to be noticed or not engaging with the hotel staff then this wouldn't be ideal for you.

It was a nice experience for us and appreciated their kindness.

Room Tip: Sorry, no fitness centre, clicked the rating by mistake and can't get rid of it. But apparently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabycalvehider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at Clove Villa for a single night last October and ended up to be the best place in the whole Srilanka trip. Clean and modern rooms and bathrooms. Simple but tasty breakfast. Difficult to ask for more. Keep on the good work!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 week tour of Sri Lanka and the Maldives. It was a beautiful boutique hotel with incredibly helpful staff. The room was gorgeous and very clean. It had every modern amenity you could need with a bathroom that I wish I had in our house at home. The included daily breakfast was tasty and we only ate one dinner there, but it was good. The only downside was that it was a little out of town, however most nice hotels in Kandy are. A tuk tuk ride over to the center of town didn't cost that much and only took about 10 minutes or so depending on traffic. We definitely enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelislifegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We are from Australia and visited Sri Lanka recently.
Me and my family stayed at Clove Villa in August 2013
On arrival, We were warmly greeted by the Staff with a welcome drink and kind gestures.

Charlie was like a personal butler attending to all our needs during the stay.

The room was clean and tidy and the decor was exceptional.
Infact the entire Villa's decor was quite calming and tastefully selected and also represented the Ancient City of Kandy's historic paintings and art.

We stayed for 3 nights and was comfortable in the spacious rooms.
The Villa also offered toddler cot for our 2 year old.

Although its only about 10-15 minutes to the city of Kandy, the Villa and overall location was quite clean and livable and was tucked away from the busyness and dust of the city.

I would definitely tell my friends about our fantastic experience in Clove Villa and would have no hesitance to recommend it to anyone from Australia or any where in the world visiting Sri Lanka and Kandy.

Also, I should mention that the room rates were very economical and I could not find another for similar rates around the same area, and am very satisfied with the service and quality offered.

The room also had Free WiFi which was a bonus. Allowed us to upload photos to FaceBook, and connect with friends from home. (Which we take as a given in Australia, but other hotels I've stayed in Sri Lanka did not offer the same and was an additional charge to get WiFi, so definitely a bonus!)

My wife loved the bathroom, especially the His and Hers Sinks and huge shower areas.

Thank you Clove Villa for an awesome experience.

We would definitely come back next time.
Jay & Nilu

Room Tip: If you wish to drink, just ask the staff who can get whatever you like (Beer, etc) I'm told tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayWeerakoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Thank you Charlie! such a nice guy. I loved this place and i think you make it so special. we spent 2 nights there and every night was more tasty than the other. Charlie was asking "what do you like to eat and suggest us his opinion and at the end it was perfect. so delicious. so thank you! :)
the rooms were pretty, great service, we really enjoyed the food however we'd like to mention that it was a little bit pricey for Sri Lanka. thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malmichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
537 reviews
2.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
701 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Villa

Property: Clove Villa
Address: 48 P.B.A. Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clove Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clove Villa is a vibrant, stylish and luxurious boutique villa located only ten minutes away from the historical city of Kandy. Surrounded by manicured lawns dotted with flower plants and trees heavy with fruit, the Villa offers Deluxe and Superior accommodation with the finest comforts and first class service. Comprising seven beautifully furnished rooms, a swimming pool, indoor and outdoor dining and many other entertainment facilities, the Clove Villa is the ideal choice for a memorable vacation in the picturesque hill country.Located in the heart of Kandy, the Clove Villa is easily accessible via road or train. Guests can easily access the many wonders of this city which was the last capital of the ancient King's era in Sri Lanka. The Villa is close to many shopping centres including the spanking new Kandy City Centre. The iconic Temple of the Tooth, which is one of the most venerable places of Buddhist worship and a World Heritage Site and the Royal Botanical Garden in Peradeniya is in close proximity to the Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Clove Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing