We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute luxury b&b”
Review of Clove Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clove Villa
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed only one night there. Clove villa is a brand new hotel - actually a villa that has been turned into a hotel. The villa itself is gorgeous, and the rooms are very modern and comfy. Bathroom is perfect, and the pool area is very pretty (although more than 2 loungers would be welcome) The whole property has been decorated in a simple but very good taste.
Food was very good (we did get the impression that the chef executed the asian dishes better than the western ones though)
Service was excellent

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKB_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 340 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at clove villa for 2 days on 24-25/12/12. Initially I did not know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised with the decor of the hotel And the thoughtful amenities.The hotel has only 7 rooms and the atmosphere is very homely. The English breakfast was excellent and the Christmas dinner was the icing on the cake.

I would like to a make a special mention about Carlie and the rest of the staff, who were always available with a smile to make our stay comfortable. When i checked out, i felt that C Love Villa would be a more appropriate name for this villa.

Sunil A

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alvaressunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have to say on arrival I was disappointed as this facility was not what I expected. It is a mid-range hotel that is a converted villa. For me it is too basic The room we were given was directly off the reception area and so noisy but thanks to Charlie he moved us. Unfortunately the whole building carries the sound that anyone makes so you hear everything! I am a light sleeper so this together with the train which went past at 05.30am with horn aloud means I will not return. Charlie was just great and went out of his way to make our stay nice - thank you!

Room Tip: Book the deluxe room away from reception,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

we stayed two nights at clove villa on our trip to srilanka .The two night stay was our best in srilanka which v enjoyed a lot .IF ur home sick u can stay here a evrbody from the owner to the room boy everybody has a smile always and they make all possible efforts to make us happy . Speacial thanks to johny who helped to have a good indian breakfast out of colombo would everybody to stay there

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank bestbharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Me and my Boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights at the end of November. I can safely say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in in terms of decor, customer service and value for money. The hotel is furnished to the highest standard, I would say it is a higher quality than the likes of Malmaison and the radisson in the UK. The hotel staff are lovely and cannot do enough to help you, especially Charlie. It is a small hotel, only 8-9 rooms which I think is perfect. The swimming pool area is like the rest of the hotel finished to the hgihest standard and extremely clean, the perfect way to cool down after a day of sightseeing. Kandy itself is only a 10 minute tuk tuk drive away which should cost around 300 and I actually think it is a lot nicer to stay here than around the lake which is very busy with traffic. We stayed in four hotels during our visit to Sri Lanka and this was by far the best and was cheaper than the others we stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Clove villa was a real surprise during our days in Sri Lanka. The villa is new, has only 6 or 7 rooms, all coming with a very nice design. The villa, the lobby, the garden: all very fine. Stuff was very friendly and helpful at all times.
Kandy centre is 8-10 minutes away by tuk-tuk, fare is 350 LKR.
Recommended!

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room for a few dollars more: space and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sugarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were in Kandy for 2 nights in this beautiful boutique villa. We stayed here with our 3 year old daughter and she was treated like a princess. The staff was very nice and helpfull and it was delightfull to come to the hotel after a day full of adventures. The room was beautifully decorated and we had a very big bathroom. Everything was really clean, open and bright. It was a lovely stay. We surely recommend this, even with small children.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimmarivoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
2.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Villa

Address: 48 P.B.A. Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: $113 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clove Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clove Villa is a vibrant, stylish and luxurious boutique villa located only ten minutes away from the historical city of Kandy. Surrounded by manicured lawns dotted with flower plants and trees heavy with fruit, the Villa offers Deluxe and Superior accommodation with the finest comforts and first class service. Comprising seven beautifully furnished rooms, a swimming pool, indoor and outdoor dining and many other entertainment facilities, the Clove Villa is the ideal choice for a memorable vacation in the picturesque hill country.Located in the heart of Kandy, the Clove Villa is easily accessible via road or train. Guests can easily access the many wonders of this city which was the last capital of the ancient King's era in Sri Lanka. The Villa is close to many shopping centres including the spanking new Kandy City Centre. The iconic Temple of the Tooth, which is one of the most venerable places of Buddhist worship and a World Heritage Site and the Royal Botanical Garden in Peradeniya is in close proximity to the Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Clove Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing