We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favourite Drinking Hole In Kandy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pub

The Pub
Ranked #23 of 140 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, British, Pub, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“My Favourite Drinking Hole In Kandy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Found opposite the Kandy shopping mall and with a nice balcony to people watch and soak up the busy street of Kandy. This had a decent atmosphere. Cheap beers with touristy-priced food can. Be found here. We usually had liquid meals here, so no comment on the actual food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    272
    194
    70
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
170 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice place for a beer -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was one of two pubs we found in Kandy. This one is very popular with tourists so can be somewhat crowded, but was still worth it. The beers are a little on the expensive side, but again worth it. Service in general in Sri Lanka is slow and spotty - so just get used to that. We had the big lion draft and it came in these big ceramic logo mugs - thought they were pretty cool. Had our beers on the balcony over looking traffic - which in Kandy never seems to stop or let up. We did find out that night that restaurants in Kandy close early - had a hard time finding dinner after 830. We also experienced things closing right after lunch - probably for prayers. Worth noting or researching times. KFC and Pizza Hut seemed to stay open later (of course!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coquelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice cocktails on the upper veranda.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got a seat upstairs outside on the veranda. The choice of cocktails was good and not expensive. There were plenty of people there and there was a guy playing music on his saxophone. Nice enjoyable experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stays open till late...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went there for a late dinner as most of the places were closed by 9.30
The food was mostly Western so it was a welcoming change from the usual rice and curry. Although a little pricey the taste and the quantity pays for it. It was a chilled out surrounding with a big screen playing old music concerts or a match. We stayed in the AC section / non smoking area. You can also sit in the balcony area which provides high bar stools like seating arrangement.
Its in the heart of Kandy city center and a really great find for the night owls to grab a bite as the Kandy city goes to sleep latest by 8.30 :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSDS7771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A tired facsimile of a London pub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went in to have a quick drink before supper, just along from the queens hotel. This is a sad, shabby overpriced trap for tourists expecting a bit of colonialism. The chap on the door wasn't letting locals in ( not that many could afford to drink here anyway); unless they revamp this completely very soon, I think it will deservedly go out of business. Have a quick look in but genuinely don't bother, it's a rip off.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pub also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to The Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing