We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Sweet Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sweet Cinnamon
Ranked #15 of 351 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

It was not easy to find the guesthouse but was well worth it when we got there. We were warmly welcome with a cup of tea and the best carrot we have eaten. Our deluxe room was very roomy even with an extra bed in it. We were sorry that we had eaten a big lunch as the dinner looked delicious.

Our hosts were extremely warm, welcoming and helpful and this was our favorite place to study in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyRRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    29
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I can endorse the previous positive comments. We stayed here for three peaceful nights in August. This is a beautiful and gentle setting with gracious hosts. Our room was perfect and complete with very thoughtful details.
The downside is that you may struggle to find it in a tuk tuk , it is a shame that this cannot be resolved perhaps with a map available to guests before they arrive. However once you are there it is an oasis of calm. We walked into town each day and had a wonderful driver arranged for us when we left.
A memorable and authentic stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a brief stay in Kandy, but having stayed at Sweet Cinnamon, we with it had been longer. This is wonderful accommodation, with two wonderfully hospitable owners. The gardens are lush and the accommodation very comfortable. Our food was cooked to order, with the staff at pains to deal with specific dietary needs. It was an easy tuk tuk ride into Kandy, but it was always a pleasure to return after sightseeing. We certainly would not look anywhere else should we return to Kandy. Chris and Louise

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights over Christmas and had a fantastic time. The room and bathroom are spacious, clean and have high ceilings. They even provide all the necessities if you've forgotten them or you've run out; like toothpaste, toothbrushes and tissues. About a 20 minute walk into town it feels like you're in the depths of the jungle but with beautifully maintained gardens. So peaceful, ideal for couple or young families.

The owners and staff (sorry I have forgotten their names) were very helpful and courteous. Food was fantastic and plentiful. I will be recommending this place to any friends traveling to Kandy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foleybergnadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Sweet Cinnamon is nestled in the hills just off the Main Street to town. It's quiet and the grounds are gorgeous, yet it's only a hop skip and a jump to bustling downtown kandy. The footbridge to the botanical gardens is just down the street as well.

The rooms are cute and spotless and the breakfast is deeeeelishous.

Last but certainly not least, the staff is charming and extremely helpful. Make sure you ask them for help sorting your itinerary. They are a wealth of knowledge about the area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccalawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sweet Cinnamon made our dream holiday in Sri Lanka. The beautiful Sri Lankan grounds and the kind hospitality of the owners and staff were all we needed to chill and be pampered. We didn't want to leave the grounds and we were very content to spend our days relaxing in the beautiful house and being served excellent Sri Lankan food. They organised a little cooking demonstration for us at our last minute request. They were so accommodating and pleasant. I would definitely go back if i needed a quiet retreat. It is my dream holiday home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InaChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Sweet Cinnamon and it was a lovely, quiet place to relax and use as a base for exploring Kandy and nearby places like the Pinnewala Elephant Orphanage and the Botanical Gardens at Peredinya. Our auto driver found it easily when we gave him the address (through the tunnel under the mountain, to Anniewatta, then right onto George E. de Silva street and left where there's a sign to the church).

The service was excellent and the staff really friendly. Our room was beautiful, with a flour-poster bed decorated with a heart-shaped design of little red flowers, a big chaise-longue, a big TV, iPod dock, and a luxurious bathroom with a big shower and views of the jungle. There was also a really nice lounge to relax in.

Admittedly the garden didn't seem to be anything special but it was peaceful and a world away from the more chaotic streets of Kandy, despite only being a short tuk-tuk ride away from the centre of town. The food was great - breakfast and dinner - and we had a lovely pot of English breakfast tea and homemade carrot cake when we arrived, after a long train ride up from Colombo.

It was a bit rainy while we were there in June, but we had the benefit of being out of season so we had the place to ourselves. I would definitely recommend Sweet Cinnamon and I would stay there again if we we're ever back in Kandy.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the Deluxe ones, and I'd really recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kandy
773 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,278 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.3 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
536 reviews
1.9 mi away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#22 of 55 in Kandy
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Cinnamon

Property: Sweet Cinnamon
Address: 198/11 George E de Silva Mwt, Kandy 0, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 351 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Cinnamon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Boutique Hotel featuring 6 elegant guest rooms and suites. Situated within the city limits of the historic Kandy Town and set amongst lushly planted gardens and a private natural forest,Sweet Cinnamon is an ideal location for corporate and leisure guests.At sweet Cinnamon its all about you. You can start the day by having a relaxing read of the daily newspaper while enjoying a freshly brewed cup of aromatic Sri Lankan tea followed by a hearty breakfast. .Take relaxing stroll in the garden or enjoy your music via the iPod docking station in your room. If you like bird watching you are sure to be amazed by the variety. We still are.We also have a extensive collection of spices, from the world famous Ceylon Cinnamon to nutmeg.Take care of your body and spirit indulge in a rejuvenating massage at the Ayurvedic Spa or visit the Yoga and Meditation center. A treat sure to de-stress and recharge you. As evening tea time rolls by soak in the tranquility of nature while enjoying a complimentary freshly baked Signature Cinnamon roll with a pot of tea in our well-appointed lounge with garden views.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sweet Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing