We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good vibes place”
Review of Sweet Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sweet Cinnamon
Ranked #11 of 385 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hide away in the outskirts of Kandy (but it is a difficult place to find). The owner will give you an unique service by providing you a cell phone. Rooms are large and comfortable, a/c and large flat screen TV. You feel that the owners give the place a soul and good vibes. It has been a long time ago that I had such a delightfull breakfast every morning. Diner is from the same quality. All services were given with a big smile and not money driven The train ride from Kandy to Ella is in the top ten of the most scenic and famous ride in the world. Ask the owner for details and place on the train.Is the place 100% perfect? No, but only some little fine tuning like a cupboard and more cloth hangers, some shelves in the bathroom.But as base camp for doing tours in Kandy, the place is a dream.

Room Tip: Ladies ask the owner for the rooms with the special Ninja floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alain-Ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 123 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Welcomed on arrival in a place the pictures don't do justice. A very comfy room with a very homely feeling. The breakfast was superfresh and laid out with much mindfullness. They booked tuk tuks and tour guides and gave us advice. They even supplied us with a mobile phone in case we got lost. The evening meal was great. A fantastic base to see Kandy from and a short tuk tuk ride from the station. Couldn;t recommend anywhere better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 9chuckademus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent two nights at Sweet Cinnamon and it definitely exceeded our expectations. The boutique hotel is in a very beautiful, quiet and leafy natural setting and the room was one of our most comfortable in Sri Lanka - very spacious, comfy bed, wonderful bathroom with large windows overlooking the surrounding forest, and very nice hosts. The hotel is a short tuk, tuk ride from town. We enjoyed breakfast on the verandah overlooking the garden. A very small suggestion - we would have preferred a Sri Lankan breakfast and being offered that as an alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaandDaves99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here in January and although it was supposed to be the nicest time of the year, it rained an entire day we were there. However, that didn't bother my friends and I one little bit. Sweet Cinnamon is the perfect place to kick back and relax.

Set about 10 min away from Kandy town, it is only a easy and short tuktuk ride to get there.

The hosts who also own the place are knowledgeable and are happy to give recommendations of things to see and do in the area, and will even go out of their way to make arrangements for you (He even called a restaurant in town to check if they had hoppers left before we went for dinner one night).

The food is heavenly and Lawrence, the manager is happy to do a cooking demonstration of Sri Lankan food on very short notice.

The rooms are very well appointed with iPod docks in the deluxe rooms even. Amenities in the bathroom are thoughtully provided and any problems we had (there was a small leak in the bathroom the first day we were there) were fixed immediately.

Oh! And for some strange reason we ALL slept very well here.

Sweet Cinnamon was an experience in itself.

Room Tip: If you absollutely need wifi, the front rooms have better signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Featheration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Absolutely loved the place. The moment we arrived, we knew that this was going to be a wonderful stay with music of Neil Diamond being played on an old LP to add to the charm! The young couple and Molly Girl ( the dog) that owns the place are the perfect hosts. Their staff were just as wonderful and helpful. The villa is tastefully decorated and clean and so very cosy.

We liked it so much that on one of the days we decided to just stay in the villa and not go do the usual touristy things. It has a very homely feel and has a beautiful garden with spices and herbs. We were just too relaxed to move out!

Every morning we were treated to a fantastic breakfast which was always well presented. They also cook for you if you request for it. We had one of the best meals in Kandy over here. We also requested for a cooking class and they obliged us with one within short notice. Their mango curry and cashew curry - a must have!

But be warmed as you may end up putting on weight with their fabulous food. But who cares when you are on holiday! :) Will definitely recommend this place to all my friends and would like to go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruqxana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Big and clean room, nice decoration. Yummy breakfast and local dinner ( 10USD per person)
Garden is big and lovely . Very very relaxing place.

Bed is comfortable, shower room is big and just towards the back yard of the garden. the deluxe room has a separate sitting place ( another small room with big big window and nice view)

The public area is also very remarkable. We had breakfast at the living hall which is right towards the garden. The hosts have a very friendly dog who liked to play with us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

To get to Sweet Cinnamon, you first go through a mini tunnel in the mountain and then on to a sign that points to the Church "Sancta Maria". Having said that it is still with-in walking distance to town, so ideally located. We used a tuk tuk most of the time to get to and fro. Sweet Cinnamon caters for everybody! If you want some peace and quiet- you will find it there. If you want to meet other travellers and talk about your adventures-you will find it there. If you want some room for your kids to run about-you will find this there too! Chalani and Priyan make wonderful hosts and even when very busy they still make time for you! They have both put their personal touches into the decor and refurbished architecture of the house, which adds to the lovely ambience of the place. This stay was a really good start to our Sri Lankan trip. My husband and I would definitely stay there again! To contact them directly: you can email: reservations@sweetcinnamonkandy.com or call +94812232173

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
2.3 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 57 in Kandy
587 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
The Secret Kandy
The Secret Kandy
#5 of 57 in Kandy
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
1,121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,168 reviews
1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Cinnamon

Address: 198/11 George E de Silva Mwt, Kandy 0, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 385 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: $104 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Cinnamon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Boutique Hotel featuring 6 elegant guest rooms and suites. Situated within the city limits of the historic Kandy Town and set amongst lushly planted gardens and a private natural forest,Sweet Cinnamon is an ideal location for corporate and leisure guests.At sweet Cinnamon its all about you. You can start the day by having a relaxing read of the daily newspaper while enjoying a freshly brewed cup of aromatic Sri Lankan tea followed by a hearty breakfast. .Take relaxing stroll in the garden or enjoy your music via the iPod docking station in your room. If you like bird watching you are sure to be amazed by the variety. We still are.We also have a extensive collection of spices, from the world famous Ceylon Cinnamon to nutmeg.Take care of your body and spirit indulge in a rejuvenating massage at the Ayurvedic Spa or visit the Yoga and Meditation center. A treat sure to de-stress and recharge you. As evening tea time rolls by soak in the tranquility of nature while enjoying a complimentary freshly baked Signature Cinnamon roll with a pot of tea in our well-appointed lounge with garden views.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sweet Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing