We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very Relaxing.
Clean and large rooms
Buffet Breakfast is excellent
Well maintained
Large clean swimming pool
Prompt room service

Wifi is free and the signal was good from my room
Nice decorations (we went during New Year)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words give us great encouragement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahaweli Reach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    331
    176
    62
    50
See reviews for
260
398
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

It was verry nice hotel...I like to stay hire again...my room was #08..its near by the river..its verry nice room an nice location..staff verry help full...specially our room cleaner..he is verry kind to us..unfortunately I forget his name..he helps a lot to us..food is good..lot of choices..I wish to cone back hire..

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nataliades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words give us great encouragement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahaweli Reach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The wifi was incredibly slow and temperamental and you had to log in every time you wanted to use it.
That apart the hotel is lovely. Great pool. good buffet breakfast, nice big rooms with excellent aircon and showers.
Very cheap for what you get.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the river if you can. Worth paying the extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godreamanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words give us great encouragement. We are also grateful to you for highlighting areas in which we can improve our product.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahaweli Reach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The Mahaweli Reach is certainly a good hotel option when staying in Kandy.

It's a big property with nice very large rooms and benefits from a big pool which our kids loved. I think it's probably a hotel frequently booked with some of the larger tour group operators.

Dinner was a buffet affair serving some pretty tasty stuff including curry, roast meats, fish, pizza as well as some nice desserts. We stayed for 3 nights and the food felt pretty samey by the 3rd one so maybe try and vary if your there for a while.

The hotel is around 2km from the lake so please bear this is mind when booking.

Only small gripe was that the view from our room was not great and I think a lot of the other rooms would have had the same issue. Basically it overlooked a bit of a car park which was very dull.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words give us great encouragement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahaweli Reach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Great looking hotel.excellent view of river from our room but when water level was low, room stank.
Massage area was small & dingy. Great massage but surrounds was not nice at all.
Service at restaurant was slow had to ask few times for coffee & bill few times.
Lots of mosquitoes & flies also hovering in food.
Room badly in need of refurbishment. Would rate it as 3 star.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SCooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments on areas in which we can improve our product & services as we strive to maintain high standards.

Our new Spa is currently under construction and when completed is designed to provide a great experience and ambience.

We will endeavour to create a better experience, should you decide to visit us again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and were very impressed. Because we traveled as a family, we had asked beforehand for rooms close to each other, and with a view onto the river. Buddhini Ekanayake from the reservations department was very accommodating and gave us the best rooms; I could not have chosen better.
The view of the river is fabulous.
The swimming pool is enormous, large enough to swim laps.
The food is varied and abundant, with a wonderful selection of fresh juices.
The service is fast - when my shower became blocked, it was fixed within 15 minutes. Housekeeping came immediately afterwards to clean up the resulting mess.
The only negative remark I can make: the hotel should ban smoking in the rooms as the central a/c wafts the stench to all the other rooms when switched on.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends, and will be back during my next visit to Sri Lanka!

Room Tip: The rooms with the river view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira_P4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words give us great encouragement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahaweli Reach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We visited Mahaweli Reach on the 12th of April 2014. This is the traditional new year season in Sri Lanka and the hotels are extremely busy. Mahaweli Reach was also having its new year programme and pretty much all the stewards and stewardesses were metaphorically in the deep as regards work goes. We also wanted to pick a spot which is close to the river but far from the main buffet area which would have made matters much more difficult for the serving staff. Despite all these factors, we were served promptly and someone was always there to attend our needs. It was indeed a very pleasant exercise.

The food was awesome and those who visit Kandy should at least have one meal from Mahaweli Reach! It is away from the rush of the City Centre although it is very easy to get to. All in all, we had a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdanushkajayatunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate your comments & delighted to note that our services were up to your expectations. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words give us great encouragement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahaweli Reach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
737 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kandy
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Property: Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing