We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Charm with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Charm with Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We got a room on the first floor. A little separated from the the main hotel buildings. But it is good cause you get e great view from your room. You can see the lawn, river and the pool. Both in daylight and and at night you will love the view. But it has to be noted that - the veranda does not have any grill (wall) so parents with kids has to be very cautious. Apart from the room - the restaurant is great. On a single note - the hotel gives you an old charm or colonial era. The interior and every thing. In short this hotel will give you nature/food/service/view/friendly staff and a different experience in terms of the atmosphere.

Room Tip: They have some room on the 2nd floor of the main building. Just on top of their restaurant. Take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minhaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We truly appreciate your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words give us great encouragement. We are also grateful to you for highlighting areas in which we can improve our product.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mahaweli Reach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    326
    173
    61
    49
See reviews for
251
386
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. We were lucky to have a fabulous room overlooking the river. When we stepped onto the balcony , it felt like we were on a river cruise. Room lovely with free wifi in the room which is always a bonus. Pool looked stunning at night. Breakfast was great - huge selection.
Love to come back to Kandy one day and stay here again. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clarkstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for your valuable & encouraging words which are a great source of strength to all of us.

We will be delighted to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bream, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel really has the wow factor, the rooms are spacious and very well equipped, the bathroom was huge and decor very tasteful. The food here is amazing, so much choice and the whole dining experience is fantastic buy the poolside. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Kandy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

Thank you, It is a privilege for our Hotel to be termed ‘WOW’ factor & a pleasure to note that everything was up to your expectations ! Your valuable & encouraging words are a great source of strength to all of us.

We will be delighted to have you with us again & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saar, Bahrain
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 nights on March 28 and 29. The room was spacious (larger than we expected) and the bed large and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was clean and had all the amenities one expects. The view of the river from the balcony was beautiful and relaxing. Staff was helpful and polite. Food was delicious and there was a large selection to choose from. I appreciated the small conveniences for Muslims, eg an arrow on the ceiling indicating the direction of the Qibla, pork food items clearly labelled, etc. The 'celebration' for Earth Day was absolutely stunning with the candles and flaming torches at dinner time adding to the wonderful ambiance. The only two things I didn't like were (1) the spa looked very unhygienic and (2) the items at the gift shop were outrageously priced! Overall, it was a memorable stay and I would happily go there again on my next visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIA328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad that you appreciated the arrangements made with regard to the Earth Hour .

We thank you for your valuable & encouraging words which are a great source of strength to all of us.

Trust you will be happy with our new Spa which is under construction at the moment, when you next visit us & we eagerly look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 16th march for 1 night as part of a 3 day tour. We were made to feel very welcome. The room 319 was spacious and well furnished. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard with plenty of choice. Every member of staff we met was charming and couldnt do enough to help us. The only down side was that we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your valuable & encouraging words are a great source of strength to all of us. Thank you !

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again to stay a longer period !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The moment, your vehicle pulls into this resort like hotel, you will be feeling good already...

Warm and very welcoming staffs, ever willing to assist you in every manner...

A very nice hotel located right next to the longest river in Sri Lanka & mountain ranges, lush green tropical gardens by the sides of the banks of the Mahaweli river.

We had a wonderful time here for 2 nights and 3 days... Wish it was longer .

Came here in a group of 28 members and all of them were simply mesmerised.

The rooms had a good old charm and very well maintained.

The food was superb ... The breakfast spread was simply awesome...

I bumped into Mr Rodney Armstrong the Resident Manager on our last night and he joined us for dinner and he shared his working experience there...

The only snag my wife and I had was, I could not get a room next to my children's.

They were located on another wing altogether!!!

I was advised that the hotel runs a full house most of the periods and we have to inform such requests well ahead, at the time of booking!! Which I didn't ...

However, all was good and we truly enjoyed ourselves here.

If you are looking for a mix of old charm and modern service and amenities, this is the place in Kandy, Sri Lanka.

I highly recomend this place.

Mahen.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Magandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
We are delighted to note that you were impressed with our property & our services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our sincerely apologies , as we could not accommodate your request for adjoining rooms, however , will appreciate if any special requests could be informed when the reservations are made

It gives us great pleasure to note the words you have used to describe our Hotel … “Old Charm with Modern Facilities ” which is an appropriate phrase for our product ! Your valuable & encouraging words are a great source of strength to all of us. Thank you !
We eagerly look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again to stay a longer period !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

this was our eight visit to this hotel. an Excellent hotel for relaxing. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice and comfortable The gym is very good. They also had table tennis and games to play like carrom. The swimming pool also good. The food very good plenty of choice. Will always return here.

Room Tip: choose one of the corner rooms they have an all round balcony over looking the Mahaweli River
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srilankaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

We are delighted to note that you have visited our Hotel on many occasions previously, an indeed it is a great honour to us . Further, it is a pleasure to note that you are impressed with our property & services . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & will ensure that we provide our personalized services in order to make your stay with us memorable .

Your valuable & encouraging words are a great source of strength to all of us. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again as you will always be ‘Somebody Special to All of Us’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
4.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.4 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Property: Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing