We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Hotel”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Mahaweli Reach is a very pretty quaint looking hotel located on the banks of the Mahaweli River. The rooms are huge by any standard and extremely comfortable. The hotel is constructed such that most rooms have a river view. I enjoyed doing my morning yoga exercises sitting in the little balcony outside the room.The pool looked lovely too but we didn't have time to experience it as we were busy sightseeing, etc.

The food was ok, above average and general service was a little slow, perhaps due to the hotel been full. The spa is nothing to write home about at the moment but the hotel is planning an overhaul of the spa facilities, so hopefully will be good in the near future.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonishaKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for the lovely comments.
We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    342
    177
    63
    50
See reviews for
275
405
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Mahaweli Reach hotel. Our room was spacious and clean, with a balcony that provided a view of the river and overlooked a large pond, the pool and open air dining area. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of Sri Lankan and western items. The service was good and they even provided a packed lunch in lieu of a breakfast we missed because of an overnight trip to Adam's Peak. The hotel is a little out of the Kandy city centre. It cost about 300-500 rupee, one-way into the city centre by tuk tuk, depending on your haggling skills and time of day. My only criticism of the hotel was that they hosted a couple of weddings during our stay and the music from the functions tended to carry out across the lawns and pond, straight into our room on the second floor. However, it was nothing that a pair of noise-cancelling headphones could not fix.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piecost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your comments.
We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

From the time we stepped in to the hotel we felt that we are wanted. The staff is so friendly and pleasant.Food was excellent and tasty. Rooms were very cozy and clean. Every detail was looked in to make the us feel comfortable in the room and the bath room.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeevani65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your comments.
We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I was well looked after. The quality of the rooms is excellent. The food is good and the restaurant service good too. I loved the swimming pool, being able to swim there in early December knowing it was cold back home in UK was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your comments.
We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This one hotel where the staff made the difference. Though it was not a new hotel, rather a old one but the service & attention of staff was excellent.
Rooms & toilet were clean and well kept. If any issues needs to be attended to, the staff gets it done immediately.
Wifi is free. Buffet spread was excellent. Spa (ayurvedic only) was available but must be booked in advance as limited space.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashiGopala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your lovely comments.
We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A good hotel for a relaxing SHORT break. We stopped for five nights to welcome the New Year in and would suggest that length of stay is about the most that you would want to stop. The food was good and varied. New Year dinner was enjoyable with fireworks at midnight. The fish bar could have been better planned with some items on offer perhaps not as fresh as they could have been or prepared very well (e.g. mussels). Our room was on the whole clean (bathroom, esp. shower requires greater attention), had a balcony and a nice view overlooking the river.
The open plan style of the hotel was ideal for this time of year, but in summer....? The staff were attentive, pleasant and helpful.

Overall, we had an enjoyable, relaxing stay and would recommend this hotel.

Minor suggestion to the Manager (Rodney A): Your standard responses do nothing to promote your hotel nor do they suggest that you take any of the comments made by your guests seriously. Do me the courtesy of not responding. More effort required.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzyDelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Overall, this is a really pretty hotel - the grounds are well kept, the lighting in the garden areas looks really pretty at night and the general feeling of the public areas gives you a very open, airy, feel which is perfect for the climate of Kandy. The food is excellent as well.

The room we got was great: Modern, with great finishings and everything was centrally controlled. The bathroom was clean and there was a balcony overlooking the river. You probably shouldn't open the window to the balcony though as it lets in the sound of traffic from across and the river itself isn't especially clean.

Now the downside: We arrived 1:30pm and were told that our room wasn't available yet and we'd have to wait an hour. They were kind enough to hold onto our luggage so we could head out for sightseeing but it was disappointing not to be able to freshen up. Additionally, there was a wedding party scheduled on the night we stayed there. The music was loud and precisely at 11pm, they fired off fireworks which not only would've woken everyone up but really dirtied up the river (which we discovered in the morning).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your comments.
We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us & value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our services
Look forward to welcoming you to Mahaweli Reach !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
753 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 53 in Kandy
514 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#12 of 53 in Kandy
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#5 of 53 in Kandy
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Property: Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing