We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a total of 2 nights and it was one of the best hotel in my trip we reach the hotel at 8pm and the Check in time was excellent we got the room in within 2 mints. The food at the restaurant is very good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruqaya75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your valued comments.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    333
    176
    62
    50
See reviews for
262
398
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

mahaweli reach hotel is located in the Hill capital "Kandy" in Sri Lanka.
Kandy is a must visit place if you visit Sri Lanka. the journey to kandy is about 3 hours by road from Colombo.
the Hotel is located on the bank of the Mahaweli river. The rooms are very good and the food and service is excellent. the staff are friendly too.

Room Tip: request for a Room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilakfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

Many thanks for your valued comments.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed in this hotel within Kandy for 2 nights as part of our 10 day customised tour of Sri Lanka and both agreed that this hotel was outstanding amongst all the other hotels we stayed in , as it was excellent overall in terms of comfort, dining, setting, and service level. The rooms were really spacious and well furnished. Service was attentive and friendly. We were spoilt by the choice at breakfast and our a-la-carte dinners were well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

Many thanks for your valued comments.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I rated the Mahaweli Reach Hotel excellent for Sri Lanka. The layout and grounds were visually appealing. The rooms were very large and consisted of the same bathroom amenities that I would expect had I been traveling in the U.S. A "menu" of pillow types was available for guest comfort. My balcony overlooked a river on the left and a wonderful pool on the right. The concierge was available to arrange outings both from the hotel (e.g., river ride) and to locations of interest within an hour or two away. The breakfast buffet offered a range of foods to suit the diverse guest population's tastes and dietary requirements. Wireless internet access was dependable both in the guest rooms and around the pool, although sometimes required re-entry of the password. I loved my stay here and wish it had been longer. The only downside that I could identify was that it did not seem to be walking distance to anywhere of interest but transportation was easily arranged.

Room Tip: Bathrooms have a small vent to the outside, as in other Sri Lanka hotels. If for some reason you pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTraveler8048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

Many thanks for your valued comments.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice hotel, friendly staff, best food of any place we stayed. You do have to get use to the floor plan in order to find the shortest walk to your room. And many in the group I was with absolutely loved bargaining for gems at the on-site jewelers......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxieL202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

Many thanks for your valued comments.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Liked this hotel the best out of the 3 stayed at in Sri Lanka.
Stayed here to see the Perahara Festival - which was phenomenal! This hotel is near Kandy where the festival takes place, but in no means could you walk there.
IMPORTANT WARNING - There is no alcohol of any kind sold anywhere in Kandy during the 10 days of the festival. You cannot buy it at stores within the city, order it in restaurants or even the hotel. So, stock-up on your wine, etc. outside of Kandy and you can only drink it in your room. It is prohibited on hotel grounds. Rooms have a mini refrigerator.
Pool is exceptionally clean with cool refreshing water...even in August.
This hotel would be a good base to do day trips out to Minneriya National Park and Sigiriya Lion Rock Fortress.
Great breakfast buffet and the guy at the omelet station is excellent.
Ladies - the rooms are equipped with hairdryers, but they are rather funky and tend to heat up after a few minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !

Many thanks for your valued comments.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose this hotel in order to see the Kandy Perahera and based on its good reviews. Our first impressions of Mahaweli Reach were rather disappointing where on arrival after an 8 hour journey we were informed that our room was out of order and we would need to travel to another hotel where a room was available for us. On arriving at the other hotel half an hour later we were then told that the room at Mahaweli was now available and we needed to return there. The staff were very understanding about our dissatisfaction offering compensation for our trouble.

However, after this shaky start we had a very enjoyable stay at Mahaweli Reach. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Greetings from Mahaweli Reach !
Many thanks for your valued comments.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
739 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
507 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kandy
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Property: Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing