We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tatty furnishings, fawlty towers service during meals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tatty furnishings, fawlty towers service during meals”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel as part of our trip to Sri Lanka. Initially, we had a good feeling, as the lobby area looked nice enough and the check in process was handled well.

We were then taken to our room, a presidential suite, and again we thought nice. But then we entered the room...and as we looked at it more, the more tatty it seemed. The room was spacious yes, but very worn and poorly maintained. Yes, the bed was fine and the bathroom was working, but it had a general air of neglect. The ceiling had red tape on it, there was dust in the corners etc etc. As we were only there a night, we didn't say anything.

After checking in and freshening up, we made our way to dinner. We hadn't eaten since breakfast as we had been out all day, so were looking forward to decent food. When we saw the buffet it looked pretty dismal, with very limited choices for veggies. Barely any salad for starters, and what little there was did not get replaced, the whole table looked very sorry for itself. We made do with some bread and butter, and after getting up between starters and mains, we found our table had been cleared, along with our barely touched drinks. After this was sorted out I asked one of the chefs if there was any naan to go with the curries, and he said no there is none tonight. My husband then asked them for some yoghurt to go with the curry and rice so we could at least eat something, he said he would bring it to our table, which he failed to do even though we went up and asked twice more. After waiting 15 minutes we gave up, and the managers finally noticed we were not happy. The manager that came over was just pathetic, he reminded me of the guy from fawlty towers, the whole team was a shambles with the waiters rushing about, bumping into each other, with no clue what they were doing, looking disorganised, and then chatting when people did actually need them. Eventually another manager came over, who was a little more professional and apologised for the experience. However by then we were done, as the food was awful, the service laughable and the waiting time had just killed our appetites, so we left hungry.

Genuinely, this was the worst hotel we stayed at during our trip, looking back now its laughable, but if you want to stay somewhere in Kandy, I would recommend it is not here, unless you enjoy sub standard food, terrible service and worn, tattered rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    346
    183
    64
    52
See reviews for
286
410
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel and very well maintained. It stands on the edge of the river and the grounds and pool are lovely. Rooms very impressive and spacious but did have to request a move as we were in a room next to some sort of generator. However they did move us without any problems but a bit annoying as they knew the room was noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We finished out trip at the Mahaweli Reach Hotel and what a treat. While we weren't in one of the top hotels, we had a lovely big room with a grat bathroom and even though a view over the car park, lots of trees and flowers so you would not notice. We could also see the river.
Nothing was too much trouble. We asked about going to see a particular area and were told welll you can take a hotel car, but try a tuk tuk., so not all about the money. the tuk tuk we took a chain broke so he got his friend to take us. the driver had given us his card so we rang to get home. His brother came to collect us and took us back to the hotel so we could see other areas of Kandy. When we got back to the hotel we thanked the staff and they said they knew we would have a great experience with these drivers. Again a lovely breakfast box when we left early in the morning.

Room Tip: If in Kandy I thoroughly recommend, all rooms have a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carltonCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night, return visit. We had a very large, spacious and comfortable room (221) with excellent wifi reception. Initial problem with room safe but that was promptly sorted. Restaurant buffet food was excellent with plenty of choice and good quality and we were able to book an outdoor table which was very pleasant. The staff were excellent. The only slight drawback is it is about a 15 minute drive from the main sites in Kandy. The hotel is in quite a pleasant setting on the river, but the grounds are not very extensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Think of the most exquisite location next to the Malwelie River, this wonderful hotel fulfils all expectation. Yes, I agree with one reviewer, it is out of the way and is accessed up a really poor road, but as soon as you enter the gate you arrive into heaven.
I think we had the best room in the hotel, we had a double balcony right next to the river. The room was large and very well ordered. On our first night there were a party of train travellers in (1st class passengers of course). The chef offered à la carte or the buffet, my wife choose from the menu, I had a delightful buffet. The service was good and the location of the restaurant adjacent to the swimming pool made the evening very special. We repeated this the following night, but as there were not as many guests there was no buffet, but I was not disappointed, it was great food. The cost was about the same as other 5 star hotels.
The hotel is privately owned, I think this really makes a big difference, it just makes the hotel unique.
This hotel is well worth a visit; we had a wonderful experience, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is located on a very narrow and bad road but made beautifully. The check in was smooth and the rooms were quite spacious and well lit. The bathroom was small and the door of the shower enclosure jammed and of a poor quality also i could notice 2 cockroaches around the drain.

The hotel had a very small menue to offer and that too a very bad preperation. We had ordered in room dinning at around 10:20 pm and the staff tried to avoid the order stating that now only the late night menu is available and we had to tell them that the same shall be only after 11 pm amd not now.

The breakfast buffet had very less variety to offer and that to with very poor bakery products.

Overall the hotel is an average hotel and lacks good food and beverage and service as per a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_Gambhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent england
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived here at the end of a long day touring the countryside to be greeted with cool towels and a drink. we found the room had everything we needed and more if requested.
The buffet dining was to a very good standard and had some very special puddings , a good nights sleep and then awoke to the morning on the river watching monitor lizards swim or fruit bats flying past, a good choice again at breakfast.
a good place for a stop over

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberchickjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
537 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 55 in Kandy
374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kandy
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Property: Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing