We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the middle of Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Heaven in the middle of Sri Lanka”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel and very well maintained. It stands on the edge of the river and the grounds and pool are lovely. Rooms very impressive and spacious but did have to request a move as we were in a room next to some sort of generator. However they did move us without any problems but a bit annoying as they knew the room was noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    328
    175
    61
    50
See reviews for
252
391
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We finished out trip at the Mahaweli Reach Hotel and what a treat. While we weren't in one of the top hotels, we had a lovely big room with a grat bathroom and even though a view over the car park, lots of trees and flowers so you would not notice. We could also see the river.
Nothing was too much trouble. We asked about going to see a particular area and were told welll you can take a hotel car, but try a tuk tuk., so not all about the money. the tuk tuk we took a chain broke so he got his friend to take us. the driver had given us his card so we rang to get home. His brother came to collect us and took us back to the hotel so we could see other areas of Kandy. When we got back to the hotel we thanked the staff and they said they knew we would have a great experience with these drivers. Again a lovely breakfast box when we left early in the morning.

Room Tip: If in Kandy I thoroughly recommend, all rooms have a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carltonCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night, return visit. We had a very large, spacious and comfortable room (221) with excellent wifi reception. Initial problem with room safe but that was promptly sorted. Restaurant buffet food was excellent with plenty of choice and good quality and we were able to book an outdoor table which was very pleasant. The staff were excellent. The only slight drawback is it is about a 15 minute drive from the main sites in Kandy. The hotel is in quite a pleasant setting on the river, but the grounds are not very extensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Think of the most exquisite location next to the Malwelie River, this wonderful hotel fulfils all expectation. Yes, I agree with one reviewer, it is out of the way and is accessed up a really poor road, but as soon as you enter the gate you arrive into heaven.
I think we had the best room in the hotel, we had a double balcony right next to the river. The room was large and very well ordered. On our first night there were a party of train travellers in (1st class passengers of course). The chef offered à la carte or the buffet, my wife choose from the menu, I had a delightful buffet. The service was good and the location of the restaurant adjacent to the swimming pool made the evening very special. We repeated this the following night, but as there were not as many guests there was no buffet, but I was not disappointed, it was great food. The cost was about the same as other 5 star hotels.
The hotel is privately owned, I think this really makes a big difference, it just makes the hotel unique.
This hotel is well worth a visit; we had a wonderful experience, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is located on a very narrow and bad road but made beautifully. The check in was smooth and the rooms were quite spacious and well lit. The bathroom was small and the door of the shower enclosure jammed and of a poor quality also i could notice 2 cockroaches around the drain.

The hotel had a very small menue to offer and that too a very bad preperation. We had ordered in room dinning at around 10:20 pm and the staff tried to avoid the order stating that now only the late night menu is available and we had to tell them that the same shall be only after 11 pm amd not now.

The breakfast buffet had very less variety to offer and that to with very poor bakery products.

Overall the hotel is an average hotel and lacks good food and beverage and service as per a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_Gambhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived here at the end of a long day touring the countryside to be greeted with cool towels and a drink. we found the room had everything we needed and more if requested.
The buffet dining was to a very good standard and had some very special puddings , a good nights sleep and then awoke to the morning on the river watching monitor lizards swim or fruit bats flying past, a good choice again at breakfast.
a good place for a stop over

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberchickjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a trip around the island.Fantastic staff beautiful rooms and gardens service and staff in restaurant exceptional.Proves to me that Sri lanka hotels can be up to European standards and even better.Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nahguav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
4.0 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.4 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Property: Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing