We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We reached Mahaweli after about 8 hrs drive... the hotel staff was extremely nice and warm and our check in was smooth and quite speedy... and everyone made our stay very comfortable.
The rooms were quite old.. and seems that renovation had not been done in recent past.
The food was very good... both for dining at restaurant and in room dining..
We had a comfortable stay ... but the rooms can be done up better!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vaishali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had reached Mahaveli after a 4 hour flight, a visit to the pinnewala orphanage and about 6 hours on the road- and that too with a 2 year old toddler and a 3 month old infant. So we were utterly exhausted. But we were made to feel at home by the staff who greeted us with a chilled drink and wet towels. The check in was smooth- did not take more than 10 minutes. We were then escorted into our rooms by two beautifully dressed women who quickly explained all that we needed to know about the room and hotel. The room itself was beautifully set. The breakfast was decent although the staff could have been a bit more courteous. The pool looked beautiful but it wasn't temperature controlled so it was too cold for us for a dip in the evening. And while we were checking out the staff were extremely helpful and gave us a list of good places to visit from their personal file. All in all it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Chose a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naaz_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Located a short distance from Kandy and beside a river this is a wonderful hotel. Check-in is done in the lounge and done with the least amount of fuss. The pool is the centerpiece of this hotel and it is one of the best pools I have ever been in. Our room was very quiet although only meters of the pool. Breakfast was extensive and wonderful. The Restaurant Manager was very helpful and was able to see to all our dining needs.

Room Tip: Rooms near the river offer a great view and most have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pookie2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

kandy is a place sorrounded by the botanical garden ,the tooth relic and the mahavelli river.the hotel is on the banks of mahaveli river.incidentally the bangladesh cricket team was also staying there...............the hotel is superb

Room Tip: the rooms facing the river and garden are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Mahaweli Reach Hotel even though it has over a hundred Rooms offers you the same personalised
services as when it had fewer than a dozen rooms 23 decades ago.
The Managing Director / General Manager, is available most of the time if you need any assistance.

Room Tip: ask for a Room with a River View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilakfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel setting is lovely, on the banks of Sri Lankas biggest river - the Mahaweli. The views early in the morning and at dusk when the cormorants and the fruit bats fly down the river are special. Most of the rooms do not have a river view however. This is a relatively modern hotel with large bedrooms. The pool is nice although it is not heated so it was on the chilly side when we were there.
The restaurant has big buffet breakfast and the buffet dinner is also fine. There is a billiard table, a small gym and a table tennis table. It is taxi ride into the centre of town.
Don't expect a lot of character or charm but it is very nice place to spend 2 or 3 days in
Kandy

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Located in the heart of the city it had both plus and minus points, which were quite taken care of by the warm welcome, hospitable staff, nice rooms.A good bar and coffee shop by the pool side, one could relax and have a bite after a swim. Like the other Sri Lankan Hotels. a sumptuous breakfast spread, with genuine spicy and tasty Sri Lankan dishes,large variety of fruits and juices,
made up for the minuses like approach, crowded pool etc. the rear view overlooking the river is also lovely. One could even partake of a meal on a boat.A good base for short trips to nearby tourist spots.

Room Tip: rooms with balconies facing the pool, location wise all are just about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 57 in Kandy
575 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahaweli Reach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahaweli Reach Hotel

Address: 35 PBA Weerakoon Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: $94 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahaweli Reach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of Mahaweli River, Mahaweli Reach Hotel offers 5-star accommodations with rolling mountains as a backdrop. It features a large outdoor pool, Ayurvedic center fitness facilities. Featuring private balconies, air conditioned rooms open out to stunning views of tropical greenery. They are equipped with classic wood furnishings and floors as well as cable TV. Guests can enjoy relaxing Ayurvedic massages after active workouts at the tennis courts. The hotel also provides bike rental, water sports and business facilities. Hearty meals featuring Sri Lankan specialties are served at the restaurant, which also features live entertainment. Hotel Mahaweli Reach is a 30-minute drive from Victoria Golf Course and about a 3 hour drive from Colombo International Airport. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahaweli Reach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahaweli Reach Kandy
Hotel Mahaweli Reach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing