We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ceylon Tea Museum

Ceylon Tea Museum
Ranked #7 of 74 things to do in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing tour of the tea museum. The lady that conducted our tour was very knowledgeable and also very friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank James_birduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    192
    92
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting for the tea lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We walked all the way up the mountain to get there and the views alone were worth it!!! Not for the faint hearted but well worth it to see the tea plantations and workers picking leaves!
The actual museum has some very interesting facts about the commercialism room of tea and its history. Also intrigued to read to read about how people are trained to rate the quality of tea. If you complain about paying $4 entry don't be so cheap! You even get a cup of tea :)

Helpful?
Thank 018Simone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tour of Tea Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very quiet when we visited, but the tour guide was excellent guiding us round the various exhibits. If you're mechanically minded it's particularly interesting. Then at the end of the tour you get your cup of ceylon tea in the 'cafe'.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara22622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

A good tour from a friendly and informative guide of an old tea factory? Drink tea and shop on the top floor

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting, beautiful building and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We only went as it was raining and it was inside, but it was surprisingly interesting (however we are both English and like our tea...). The museum is set in a beautifully restored tea factory and contains loads of the old machinery, which my engineering husband geeked out over. Some interesting exhibits on James Taylor and Thomas Lipton, the godfathers of tea in Sri Lanka.

A tour is included in the price of your entry, as is a cup of tea on the fourth floor. Beautiful views over the surrounding hills.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dancingsamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceylon Tea Museum also viewed

 
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Ceylon Tea Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing