We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Sri Lanka 8-day tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Haven Guest House
Ranked #15 of 366 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jefferson Valley, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good Sri Lanka 8-day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We used Blue Haven to organize an 8-day tour around the country to see the top attractions. Blue Haven was very adaptable to build the itinerary around what we wanted to see and do, arranged the type of accommodation that we wanted (we chose local guest houses), and were always flexible about things as we went. They were always friendly, helpful and accommodating of all our requests. Sandimal, our guide and driver for the entire week, picked us up and dropped us off at the international airport. He was really nice, pointing out and explaining sights and things of interest along the way and taking us through several of the temples and sites to explain a bit of the significance and history. He even cam running looking for us one afternoon with umbrellas when we got caught in a sudden rain storm wandering amongst the Anuradapura ruins. The cost of the tour for the two of us was very reasonable. They use older vans and cars which were fine with enough room to be comfortable. I would definitely recommend using Blue Haven to organize your tours. Their Kandy accommodations are comfortable and only a 5 minute and less than US$2 tuk tuk ride from the downtown, so a good location unless you want to get within a short walking distance of the station and Temple of the Tooth.

Room Tip: We had a room on the upper floor which was fine. Specify if you want A/C since they charge more for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir,
We thank you for having spent your valuable time to review our service. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed touring with us. Thank you for mentioning that you have enjoyed our driver's service, as they are very important to us, to provide even a better service for our future guests. Your review is very important to us, as we are a small travel agency trying to provide a competitive service.
Linton
Blue Haven Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    178
    67
    21
    23
See reviews for
87
301
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We rented a car with driver for 4 days through Mr. W.A. Linton, the owner of Blue Haven Guest House, and he assured us we would get a modern car, but it turned out to be a 10-15 year old and worn down car, and when we complained over some alarming motor noice, we were just given an alternative wreck with no suspension left. Our driver and guie was, however, nice and competent, so this is why our final rating is not "terrible".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMSilfverberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam
Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our service. We are sorry that your expectations have not been met. We prefer to send our own drivers with our guests expecting to provide a personal service, rather than arranging an outside vehicle with an unknown driver. We are happy that you have enjoyed our driver's service. When our travel assistant arranged your tour, he was not aware which vehicles were free, as we were very busy during those days. In any case, this is not an excuse.

We are grateful for your comment, which will help us to improve our service in future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the newer rooms on the top floor. Upon arrival the rooms very dirty (plenty of hairs on the walls in the shower and bedlinen seemed not to be fresh).
We didn't have hot water which one could expect for a 5000 rupies per night. The manager kept saying that it will be fixed but nothing happened. When asking for roomprice reduction after 2 days of cold showering, he complained we wouldn't understand 3rd world countries (we are expats in india and middle East).
Don't take backside rooms in upper floor, as water pipes during rain make hell of a noice. We couldn't sleep the first 2 nights due to the noice as it was raining.
Breakfast boring and when ordering food in the evening only fried rice available which took 1.5 hrs and came cold.
Nice location and staff tries very hard to make up for poorly managed guesthouse

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglecrag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam
Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our service.
We are sorry that it took too long to supply hot water and on the last day it was completely fixed. As you know, I offered to transfer you to another hotel at that time. Finally, we gave you a reduction of rupees 4,000.00 from your invoice as compensation.
We take our business very seriously and do our best to provide our guests a competitive service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouloc, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our room was pleasant and clean, and opened on to a lovely terrace with comfortable chairs and views over the tree tops to the mountains beyond. The terrace was shared with other guests - only a problem if there are smokers, as the open air vents above the door and window let in the smoke. The bathroom was fine, with a good hot shower. The staff are lovely - really friendly and helpful and ready to make you feel completely at home. The guest house is away from the centre, so quiet (except for some barking dogs, but that's not the guest house's fault). There's a lovely pool too.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms on the top floor. They are larger and looked lovely when we peeped in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abueladefrancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam
Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our service on Tripadvisor.
We thank you for choosing Blue Haven Guest House among so many guesthouses in Kandy.
We are happy to have provided you an enjoyable stay with us.
Your comments encourage and motivate us to provide even a better service for our future guests. I must say that such reviews help us to improve our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in one of the new rooms on the top floor, with a lovely big balcony. Very nice rooms but if i were Linton (the owner) I wouldn't pay the plumber as the shower was just a trickle and it would take 30 minutes for the hot water to work. Breakfasts were a bit on the stingy side compared to other B&Bs we stayed at, as was the dinner we had there. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, and usually arranged a lift into town. The location was very peaceful with nice views, but a bit far from town to wander in so you need to rely on the tuktuks. I think next time I would stay closer to town. They have a brand new pool but my wife and daughter were reluctant to use it as it isn't very private and is open to the street (not that it was warm enough for swimming anyway!). We also arranged a driver for 2 days with their travel section and they were excellent. I think the are keeping the older rooms looking dark and damp so you will upgrade to the new ones!

Room Tip: New rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpossums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam
Thank you for taking your valuable time to review our service on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to have provided you an enjoyable stay with us and at the same time we work continuously to improve the quality of our service.
We have noted that you have been satisfied with our tour as well. This is very important as our business consists of Blue Haven Guesthouse and Blue Haven Travels & Tours, which goes together.
Most of our guests prefer to stay at Blue Haven Guesthouse to be out of busy Kandy Town. We have recently introduced transport services (cars, three wheel, motor bikes, bicycles) for the convenience of our guests at a very competitive cost for visiting Kandy Town and surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Absolutely lovely stay. The rooms upstairs were great and the service was very accommodating and kind. We just loved the small (relatively) private porch off of our room. Rooms downstairs looked dated and far less comfortable. Bed was great, and I slept well but needed ear plugs as there was an open vent above our door so no chance of "sealing out" noises.

The vegetable curries were great, breakfast was just okay.

Areas for improvement: I felt that the dining area seemed extremely "grubby" - glasses and silverware did not seem well cleaned. We never once had a hot shower although the staff was extremely accommodating in bringing us tubs of warm water each morning. I think we were some of the first guests in these upgraded rooms so this may be fixed by now.

This place is relatively close to town but not an easy walk or easy to find due to the windy and narrow roads.

Room Tip: Upstairs renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intotrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam
Thank you for taking a few moments of your valuable time to review our service on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you had a enjoyable stay at our guesthouse and are grateful for your suggestions. Hot water supply is working normally and ALL our rooms have been renovated, as well as the dining area, since your stay with us.
We take service issues seriously and are happy to say the new swimming pool is daily enjoyed by guests and we offer local transport and tour services for the convenience of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice, quiet location surrounded by trees and just a five minute tuktuk ride to the town. We were picked up from the airport and brought to Kandy by a driver that the hotel had arranged for fifty US dollars. We stayed here either side of a three day cultural tour run by Blue Haven Tours (very good) - the first time in a room on the first floor, and the second in a room on the top floor. Definitely try and get a room on second floor as they are brand new. The first room we stayed in was a bit old and dark but perhaps they're planning to renovate them next. Just as we were leaving in early January they were finishing a very inviting looking swimming pool. The food was very nice - good home cooked Sri Lankan curry. Overall a great place to stay - we would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaselEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for taking a few moments of your valuable time to review our service with Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay at the Blue Haven Guesthouse in Kandy. We never forget that you have a choice. Such appreciation makes us motivated to give an even better service to our future guests. We are pleased to say that ALL our rooms have been renovated, with our limited resources, since your stay,
Our brand new swimming pool is open and is enjoyed by guests daily.
We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed the 3 day tour arranged by Blue Haven Travels & Tours, for which we use our own drivers and vehicles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Guest House

Property: Blue Haven Guest House
Address: 30/2 Poorna Lane, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Haven Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing