We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old & new” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Haven Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Haven Guest House
Ranked #14 of 357 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Old & new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Rooms are clean, downstairs somewhat worn, upstairs are new and better value. Based on the old rooms I would rate only 3/5. Quiet residential surroundings about 20 mins walk from downtown (literally, the guest house is uphill). Food is ok, nothing to write home about, friendly service.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are new
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVi_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam
Thank you for taking a few moments of your time to review our service on Tripadvisor.

We would like to say that ALL our rooms have been renovated since your stay, including new solid wood beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    176
    67
    20
    23
See reviews for
85
300
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I wanted to stay here because of the very good feedback. I booked and some days prior to my arrival I called to know whether I could come one day earlier. They said yes by email. We called them again twice the day I was due to check-in, first time to confirm, second time at 4:00pm to explain us the route (our driver spoke in srilankan with him). At 6.00pm we called again to check again the way to the hotel which isn't too easy, and... guess what.... they said they didn't have any more rooms for the 3 of us + driver! They said it was their mistake, but didn't seem to be too sorry about it. They suggested another place but where there was no driver's accomodation! Terrible. In the end we went to Holiday Home and it was the best place of our stay in sri lanka.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fgkfriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam
Thank you for taking a few moments of your valuable time to review our service on Tripadvisor.
We got your booking wrong on a very busy day, we offer our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
We have installed a new booking procedure to avoid such mistakes in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and then moved on the following night.
Clean, basic rooms with reasonable shower and beds.
Dinner slightly more expensive than downtown but good range and delicious food. However, breakfast was disappointing with cold stale toast.
Biggest problem was the noise- loud renovations that woke me up at 7. The kitchen is located behind some of the rooms which also can be noisy.
At 2500 rupees I'd agree with the lonely planet that its slightly overpriced

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton W, Owner at Blue Haven Guest House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday as expected due to the inconveniences caused to by the renovations. However, we can confirm that ALL our rooms are now renovated, including new solid wood beds. Furthermore, our new swimming pool is open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here one night before taking off on a trip we organised through their office in town.

We were happy with the room (everything was new) - especially after all the grubby places we'd put up with in Kandy the previous nights. Though the shower is more of a dribble than a flow of water.

The pool was empty when we were there and it was kinda hard to get any clear answers from the 'boss' about times for our driver/tour/payments etc.. we eventually got on our way.

Stay upstairs - the rooms are freshly renovated. Good wifi reception all over the place.
Walk into town - it's a nice distance (20 mins?) and gives a good perspective on the town

Room Tip: Top floor is a bit expensive but everything is new and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Su M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The guesthouse is located in the hills of Kandy not to far in tuk tuk to the "center". It is a very charming and clean place. The staff is very kind and helpful. We stayed in the new rooms upstairs which have a very nice view over the hills. However the water was barely coming out of the shower so it takes about 30 minutes to shower (with cold water).
Otherwise we were very disappointed by the drivers we had from the management. We had to keep one driver for two trips and he was the worst driver ever, reckless and nervous what a nightmare on the busy Sri Lankan roads...
So in short it's a nice place to stay but nothing more which at this price is still a good place to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontherock75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Blue Haven Guest house with our 1 year old daughter. The service was outstanding! The food was delicious. It has a nice location, that's a bit out of the way, but very scenic. They have driver accommodations as well.

The Guest house was under renovations when we arrived so we expected a bit of noise. Our issues came when the drilling and banging continued late into the evening. It was only after another couple had left the guest house because of the noise and my complaining to the workers upstairs that they stopped. He informed me that he was scheduled to work until 10:30pm. This is a mistake making this much noise at night. This was a major distraction, especially when trying to get a baby to sleep.

The room was clean and tidy when we arrived. The unfortunate part is that we reacted terribly to bed bugs. This affected us the rest of our trip and we still have reactions two weeks after. There was also a problem with our shower drain. Water would collect and not drain out.

There is a bit of good news, though. It look as though they were installing a swimming pool. For the money, the service was amazing. Our thanks go to the manager who saw to it we had everything we needed. We didn't really see Mr. Linton the owner.

Good overall value, only a bit of corrections needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
820 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 868 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have traveled with Linton and stayed in his guesthouse several times. This is one of the very few businessmen that I know who thinks more about doing the best for his clients than making money! He actively looks for places that would be of interest to his guests.
He also has a group of drivers, cooks and other care takers at the guesthouse that he has trained to follow his philosophy. They are all very kind, good and are not after your money.
The guesthouse is very pretty, clean, quiet, and friendly. The food is great.
I know that Linton is not a rich man and cannot do a lot of improvements all at once, but I would recommend the following when he can invest in improvements:
Improve the bathrooms so that water drains properly in the shower and flushing works efficiently.
Please get your crew to learn a bit of English (especially, the drivers) so that they could be better guides. (Lucky for me, I spoke Sinhala and these drivers went out of their way to educate and entertain us; For example, take us to a village home to have rural food, visit a blessing ceremony for a rice mill, took us to Kayts island in Jaffna and explained his personal experiences with the SL Navy during the rebellion etc.) These guys are super, but one should be able to communicate with them. Their English is very poor. (this is actually not unique to Linton's crew, rather a post- colonial Sri Lankan problem!).

Anyway, if you go with Linton, you cannot go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#21 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
3.2 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
2.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Guest House

Property: Blue Haven Guest House
Address: 30/2 Poorna Lane, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Haven Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing