We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay up stairs,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Haven Guest House
Ranked #15 of 388 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stay up stairs,”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here one night before taking off on a trip we organised through their office in town.

We were happy with the room (everything was new) - especially after all the grubby places we'd put up with in Kandy the previous nights. Though the shower is more of a dribble than a flow of water.

The pool was empty when we were there and it was kinda hard to get any clear answers from the 'boss' about times for our driver/tour/payments etc.. we eventually got on our way.

Stay upstairs - the rooms are freshly renovated. Good wifi reception all over the place.
Walk into town - it's a nice distance (20 mins?) and gives a good perspective on the town

Room Tip: Top floor is a bit expensive but everything is new and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Su M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    180
    67
    21
    23
See reviews for
87
303
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The guesthouse is located in the hills of Kandy not to far in tuk tuk to the "center". It is a very charming and clean place. The staff is very kind and helpful. We stayed in the new rooms upstairs which have a very nice view over the hills. However the water was barely coming out of the shower so it takes about 30 minutes to shower (with cold water).
Otherwise we were very disappointed by the drivers we had from the management. We had to keep one driver for two trips and he was the worst driver ever, reckless and nervous what a nightmare on the busy Sri Lankan roads...
So in short it's a nice place to stay but nothing more which at this price is still a good place to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontherock75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Blue Haven Guest house with our 1 year old daughter. The service was outstanding! The food was delicious. It has a nice location, that's a bit out of the way, but very scenic. They have driver accommodations as well.

The Guest house was under renovations when we arrived so we expected a bit of noise. Our issues came when the drilling and banging continued late into the evening. It was only after another couple had left the guest house because of the noise and my complaining to the workers upstairs that they stopped. He informed me that he was scheduled to work until 10:30pm. This is a mistake making this much noise at night. This was a major distraction, especially when trying to get a baby to sleep.

The room was clean and tidy when we arrived. The unfortunate part is that we reacted terribly to bed bugs. This affected us the rest of our trip and we still have reactions two weeks after. There was also a problem with our shower drain. Water would collect and not drain out.

There is a bit of good news, though. It look as though they were installing a swimming pool. For the money, the service was amazing. Our thanks go to the manager who saw to it we had everything we needed. We didn't really see Mr. Linton the owner.

Good overall value, only a bit of corrections needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
856 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have traveled with Linton and stayed in his guesthouse several times. This is one of the very few businessmen that I know who thinks more about doing the best for his clients than making money! He actively looks for places that would be of interest to his guests.
He also has a group of drivers, cooks and other care takers at the guesthouse that he has trained to follow his philosophy. They are all very kind, good and are not after your money.
The guesthouse is very pretty, clean, quiet, and friendly. The food is great.
I know that Linton is not a rich man and cannot do a lot of improvements all at once, but I would recommend the following when he can invest in improvements:
Improve the bathrooms so that water drains properly in the shower and flushing works efficiently.
Please get your crew to learn a bit of English (especially, the drivers) so that they could be better guides. (Lucky for me, I spoke Sinhala and these drivers went out of their way to educate and entertain us; For example, take us to a village home to have rural food, visit a blessing ceremony for a rice mill, took us to Kayts island in Jaffna and explained his personal experiences with the SL Navy during the rebellion etc.) These guys are super, but one should be able to communicate with them. Their English is very poor. (this is actually not unique to Linton's crew, rather a post- colonial Sri Lankan problem!).

Anyway, if you go with Linton, you cannot go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We highly recommend Blue Haven Tourism and Guest House and especially like to give a very special thank you to Linton the owner of Blue Haven who went above and beyond to ensure our trip to Sri Lanka was memorable. Not only did Linton help to organize our travel plans but more importantly he assisted us by ensuring that a very special memento was delivered safely to us after we had left the country. The Blue Haven Guest House is clean quiet and quite comfortable and the drivers arranged for us were friendly, knowledgeable and very competent. Thank you again for a very lovely time in a very beautiful country.
R&T Bell

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

As young students, my friend and I wanted to take a tour around the cultural triangle in Sri Lanka with good places to stay, cheap services and a good organization. Blue Haven Tours did all the organization for our trip and provided us with a trustworthy driver, a clean and comfortable room and really good service at the guesthouse itself. We had no issues with the driver, he took us to all the places we wanted to see and told us what the best places to buy crafts, to go elephant riding and even to buy local food! Linton (the owner/manager) helped us with the transport from colombo with a driver and organized our trip by train back from kandy to colombo. Very suitable for people of any age and with any budget.
Totally recommended!

Room Tip: Talk/Email to the manager before going to Sri Lanka, he will be able to plan any sort of trip you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the guest house as part of a tour so unsure of the exact price as it was all included with taxi etc.
but this is a lovely guest house with a really helpful guy running it. He can't do enough to help you (we didn't have the correct plug socket so he found an adaptor for us), there is free wifi which is fast and reliable and the included breakfast is lovely. It's a bit far out of town but set in lovely green hills.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is hot water!
Would stay here again. :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
2.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
996 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Guest House

Property: Blue Haven Guest House
Address: 30/2 Poorna Lane, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 388 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Haven Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Haven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing