We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Haven Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$322
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$104
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$90
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nature Walk Resort(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$45
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$39
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$79
$62
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$34
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
269
182
70
23
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
182
70
23
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr lintonsri lankanuwara eliyathe ownertuk tukgreat drivertrain stationswimming pooltop floormosquito nethot waterthird floornice viewelephant orphanagekandy cityellasaman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 568 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Blue Haven Guest house with our 1 year old daughter. The service was outstanding! The food was delicious. It has a nice location, that's a bit out of the way, but very scenic. They have driver accommodations as well.

The Guest house was under renovations when we arrived so we expected a bit of noise. Our issues came when the drilling and banging continued late into the evening. It was only after another couple had left the guest house because of the noise and my complaining to the workers upstairs that they stopped. He informed me that he was scheduled to work until 10:30pm. This is a mistake making this much noise at night. This was a major distraction, especially when trying to get a baby to sleep.

The room was clean and tidy when we arrived. The unfortunate part is that we reacted terribly to bed bugs. This affected us the rest of our trip and we still have reactions two weeks after. There was also a problem with our shower drain. Water would collect and not drain out.

There is a bit of good news, though. It look as though they were installing a swimming pool. For the money, the service was amazing. Our thanks go to the manager who saw to it we had everything we needed. We didn't really see Mr. Linton the owner.

Good overall value, only a bit of corrections needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have traveled with Linton and stayed in his guesthouse several times. This is one of the very few businessmen that I know who thinks more about doing the best for his clients than making money! He actively looks for places that would be of interest to his guests.
He also has a group of drivers, cooks and other care takers at the guesthouse that he has trained to follow his philosophy. They are all very kind, good and are not after your money.
The guesthouse is very pretty, clean, quiet, and friendly. The food is great.
I know that Linton is not a rich man and cannot do a lot of improvements all at once, but I would recommend the following when he can invest in improvements:
Improve the bathrooms so that water drains properly in the shower and flushing works efficiently.
Please get your crew to learn a bit of English (especially, the drivers) so that they could be better guides. (Lucky for me, I spoke Sinhala and these drivers went out of their way to educate and entertain us; For example, take us to a village home to have rural food, visit a blessing ceremony for a rice mill, took us to Kayts island in Jaffna and explained his personal experiences with the SL Navy during the rebellion etc.) These guys are super, but one should be able to communicate with them. Their English is very poor. (this is actually not unique to Linton's crew, rather a post- colonial Sri Lankan problem!).

Anyway, if you go with Linton, you cannot go wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We highly recommend Blue Haven Tourism and Guest House and especially like to give a very special thank you to Linton the owner of Blue Haven who went above and beyond to ensure our trip to Sri Lanka was memorable. Not only did Linton help to organize our travel plans but more importantly he assisted us by ensuring that a very special memento was delivered safely to us after we had left the country. The Blue Haven Guest House is clean quiet and quite comfortable and the drivers arranged for us were friendly, knowledgeable and very competent. Thank you again for a very lovely time in a very beautiful country.
R&T Bell

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

As young students, my friend and I wanted to take a tour around the cultural triangle in Sri Lanka with good places to stay, cheap services and a good organization. Blue Haven Tours did all the organization for our trip and provided us with a trustworthy driver, a clean and comfortable room and really good service at the guesthouse itself. We had no issues with the driver, he took us to all the places we wanted to see and told us what the best places to buy crafts, to go elephant riding and even to buy local food! Linton (the owner/manager) helped us with the transport from colombo with a driver and organized our trip by train back from kandy to colombo. Very suitable for people of any age and with any budget.
Totally recommended!

Room Tip: Talk/Email to the manager before going to Sri Lanka, he will be able to plan any sort of trip you want in advance with good rates and trustworthy information!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the guest house as part of a tour so unsure of the exact price as it was all included with taxi etc.
but this is a lovely guest house with a really helpful guy running it. He can't do enough to help you (we didn't have the correct plug socket so he found an adaptor for us), there is free wifi which is fast and reliable and the included breakfast is lovely. It's a bit far out of town but set in lovely green hills.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is hot water!
Would stay here again. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews