We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial style hotel living up to expectations”
Review of Royal Bar & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Bar & Hotel
Ranked #93 of 406 Kandy B&B and Inns
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Colonial style hotel living up to expectations”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Bar and Hotel is small and has been nicely refurbished with a lot of taste for colonial style decoration. Check-in lasted 30 min because staff did not real connect well to agent Agoda.com. Our initial room was so small that we decided to upgrade our room to a small suite. Nice dark wooden floors and some colonial antiques made it into a nice room. The bed was only 1,6m wide and in tune with the rest of the hotel: it is all a bit smaller here. The bar in the courtyard was nice and a great hideaway from the noisy street although the street is just 10m away. There were no facilities except bar and a small restaurant. I should mention that I heard a lot of tip toe tip toe tip toe after I switched the light off at night. I suspect there must be rats or other rodents living in the ceiling. Kept me awake for a while. For what the hotel and room really are it is completely overpriced. Would not return

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter_Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    16
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
38
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, CI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We made a last minute decision to stay at the Royal Hotel
First night we stayed in room 9, which was a bit small and lacking in natural light but it was comfortable enough. For the second and third night we stayed in room 10 which was better

The service at the hotel was excellent and attentive; the Hotel Manager was always at hand and he run a great little team

This is also a bar, so please don't expect to get an early quiet night but by 11pm the bar is closed and the place falls still.

The bar itself is excellent, with great bar snacks and a lively atmosphere (a big shout out to the waiters in the bar who work hard and fast !)

The location of the Royal Hotel is so good for Temple visits and also for Kandy bus and train station.

This small hotel is an excellent alternative to lakeside hotel and you don't have the polluted road traffic of the lake road

Room Tip: Room 10 (first floor, centre room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonleriche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This place is great! A recommendation from our accommodation led us here one afternoon in Kandy.

**IMPORTANT!!** We arrived at 5 past 2pm and unfortunately we were out of luck when it came to enjoying an afternoon beer. Between 2 and 5 there is no alcohol served so make like a local and order a few before 2!

That said we enjoyed some awesome food (spicy boneless chicken is excellent!!) and service. After a wander around Kandy in the afternoon we ended up back here at 5 on the dot. We enjoyed a couple of icy cold beers (hard to come by in Sri Lanka!) and the best devilled cashews!

All in all, a lovely little hang out in Kandy where there are more locals than tourists. The beautiful restored colonial building just adds to the experience.

Check out the black and white photos dotted around to get a feel for Sri Lanka back in the day.

P.S. There's a bar downstairs (where we hung out) and a restaurant upstairs. Not sure what the restaurant was like.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thefreedomtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Never stayed here as I live in Kandy, not been here very long. Spied this place from the car one day and was intrigued as it is totally out of place for the surrounding buildings.

What a gem of a place in the heart of town and smoking and drinking are acceptable which is rare in Kandy. Fascinating building, love the courtyard for chilling with a beer. Rooms are very comfortable looking and the private what look like party dining rooms are wonderful. Restaurant and bar upstairs are a real throw back to days gone bye. Downstairs bar not so glamorous but functional.

Restaurant was empty but still atmospheric even at lunch time. Food was frankly disappointing. Will go back and try again.

The staff are a helpful smiling team, nothing is to much trouble and they are a mine of information .
If you are in Kandy you have to visit this lovely bar and hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Royal Hotel and Bar is an oasis in the centre of Kandy. One of the best boutique hotels that I
have stayed in. Congratulations to Rohan (the owner) and his staff, you do it a lot better than most of the rest, class in all respects. Great rooms, service, food, and atmosphere. Four and a half stars.

Matthew Ellis
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had a wonderful time staying at this little place which is right in the heart of Kandy town. As soon as you walk in the sounds of the busy street outside just goes silent. Great place to chill out and relax after a long day.

The rooms are beautiful and cosy. The staff are ever helpful and always smiling. It's a great in terms of location as you are in walking distance of almost everything within the city. The food is also good and this little place comes with a small museum with pictures of Kandy during colonial times which is interesting to look at.

Overall, I had a wonderful stay at this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had a great time in Sri Lanka. I loved the Royal Bar and Hotel! I had a charming, very comfortable and elegant room. I had a real 4 poster bed and a luxurious marbled shower and bathtub! Sooo relaxing after a day of tourist sight-seeing! The ambiance was sweet and peaceful! Great food! Nice to take a break from only curry. Everything was fresh and delicious. I really enjoyed having drinks in the garden courtyard with a nice mix of locals and foreigners. I met people from Australia, Thailnad and France so we could exchange travel info.. The staff was quite courteous and friendly. The building itself is beautiful and remodeled after a British colonial bar and hotel and looks so authentic. It has such character and charm. It was the best place I stayed in Sri Lanka. Great location too! Close to everything you would want in Kandy. Thanks for making my stay in Sri Lanka a great one!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 53 in Kandy
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 53 in Kandy
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#30 of 53 in Kandy
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victory Hotel Kandy
Victory Hotel Kandy
#153 of 406 in Kandy
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charlton Kandy Rest
Charlton Kandy Rest
#112 of 406 in Kandy
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cafe Aroma Inn, Kandy
Cafe Aroma Inn, Kandy
#24 of 406 in Kandy
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bar & Hotel

Property: Royal Bar & Hotel
Address: 44 King's Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 406 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing