We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Kandy”
Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very nice room, spacious and fully equiped.
Staff and owner very helpful, caring, concerned to make the guest feel good.
Tasty breakfast served at the requested time.
Close to Kandy center, few minutes by TukTuk.
I recommend Villa 49 for everyone.

PS. there is no visible sign from the road, so it's a bit difficult to find it if you come late and it's dark.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korsarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Villa 49
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 369 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our family stayed here last august for 3 nights - it was a great first stop on our 3 week trip to sri lanka. We felt very at home and Shanani is a wonderful helpful host. I would also highly recommend eating dinner at villa 49 the food is delicious. It's a great location with a nice short walk into kandy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Plus: We booked one night and would like to extend one more night but it was full. Not surprised with such comfortable rooms and friendly staff! The room was large, clean and lovely. I especially appreciated the safe and the hair dryer. There was even a sofa bed! I liked the breakfast in the beautiful dining room, and thanks for the fresh juice when we were waiting for the tuk tuk to transfer us to another hotel! The location was a bit up the hill but quite close to the lake and the Kandy performance center and the tooth relic temple. We would definitely stay again if we come back to Kandy!

Minus: With such an elegant room, I think it doesn't hurt much if bath gel were provided. It doesn't need to be in small package but store in some small bottles would feel more environmental friendly and homey. Unfortunately we didn't enjoy the hotel that the owner lady recommended. It was such a chute from the nice experience with Villa 49.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pingping C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed at Villa 49 early December 2013. It's a small and nice place and the owner, Miss Shnani is very hospitable and will do anything to make you feel at home. You can also order dinner at her place which is great to get a taste of authentic Lankan homecoocking. Because the place is just outside the centre of Kandy (east corner of Bogambara lake - on a smaller road) it's also pretty quiet. Rooms are good and comfortable.

I can also recommend her driver Praboda. He picked me up from the airport and was really knowledgable on lots of things. Sights to see, political situation in Sri Lanka, sports, you name it. I had 8000 lkr (= 44€, 61 $, a nice monthly income for a lot of people in Sr iLanka) in my pocket and stepping out of the car at Villa 49 it must have fell out of my pocket without me noticing it. Later Praboda found it and returned the money. Very admirable and it says something about the way Praboda and Miss Shnani work at Villa 49.

Thanks for the nice stay!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Barrewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We loved our room here, bathroom especially since it was one of the few places where the shower didn't run into the rest of the bathroom making everything wet. Only minus point to be honest was the driver quarters...our driver had to share with 3 other guys in one small room. It's important I feel that your driver has a good nights sleep as he is obviously keeping you safe on the roads...and since we had a toddler with us that was of importance. I would really recommend they not cramp all the driver's together in one small room, feels weird that we had such a lovely huge room, with a comfy bed and air conditioning and he had to sleep like that....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karabedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very good hotel, perfectly situated in Kandy (about 15 minutes walk to the Tooth Temple).
Dinner is also very good (one of the best rice & curry we had during our stay in Sri Lanka)
Staff very friendly and always available
Do not hesitate to ask for their help to plan your trip (we travelled with their driver, Praboda, and it was really perfect)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleonore355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Shanini was a very sweet, warm and welcoming host. Her establishment is nice and clean, the food delicious and location excellent, just a few minutes away from the Temple of the tooth and the heart of Kandy. She was able to help us with any questions we had. It felt more like we were guests in her home rather than clients in a hotel. Would recommend this to all fellow traveling friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiancaBasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: $75 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing