We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nice rooms in kandy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 270 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and nice rooms in kandy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We loved our room here, bathroom especially since it was one of the few places where the shower didn't run into the rest of the bathroom making everything wet. Only minus point to be honest was the driver quarters...our driver had to share with 3 other guys in one small room. It's important I feel that your driver has a good nights sleep as he is obviously keeping you safe on the roads...and since we had a toddler with us that was of importance. I would really recommend they not cramp all the driver's together in one small room, feels weird that we had such a lovely huge room, with a comfy bed and air conditioning and he had to sleep like that....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karabedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    93
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
204
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very good hotel, perfectly situated in Kandy (about 15 minutes walk to the Tooth Temple).
Dinner is also very good (one of the best rice & curry we had during our stay in Sri Lanka)
Staff very friendly and always available
Do not hesitate to ask for their help to plan your trip (we travelled with their driver, Praboda, and it was really perfect)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonore355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Shanini was a very sweet, warm and welcoming host. Her establishment is nice and clean, the food delicious and location excellent, just a few minutes away from the Temple of the tooth and the heart of Kandy. She was able to help us with any questions we had. It felt more like we were guests in her home rather than clients in a hotel. Would recommend this to all fellow traveling friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaBasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a quiet location yet only a few hundred meters from Kandy Lake. Shanani is the perfect hostess/owner who will see to your every need. Meals were wonderful and completely homemade. Shanani even makes her own jams. We loved this place.

Ken and Eileen Fredricks

Room Tip: If you don't mind 49 steps, choose the top room if available as you get an incredible balcony/ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenF314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa 49 for 1 night while in Kandy. It was a family run guesthouse with only a few rooms so it was intimate and very personal. The owner gave us some great advice of things to do in Kandy, where to eat and gave us directions. The staff in her kitchen also prepared us some great meals. The room itself was fantastic -large, clean and private. I would highly recommend Villa 49 to anyone visiting Kandy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a lovely large room with a balcony and view over the hills. What a fabulous place. We were made very welcome. The room was spacious with lovely wooden floors. The bed was comfy and the AC quiet. Villa 49 is about 20 minutes walk from Kandy town, past the Temple of the Tooth, and the Garrison Cemetery, which is also worth a visit.

Villa 49 does good home cooking, which is useful as there aren't many restaurants in Kandy. If you want wine with your meal go to the liquor store behind Cargill's in town. For drinks and cocktails, the Slightly Chilled Bamboo Lounge bar is 10 minutes walk up the hill from Villa 49, or 2 minutes tuc tuc. (It does food too, but it's pretty basic.)

Mr Prabodo was in charge during our stay, and he also runs a tour company. He was very helpful in assisting us in making further arrangements for later in our holiday, but was not pushy in any way.

Altogether, a great stay in Villa 49.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulapaula051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent one night in the Villa 49 hotel. To summarize my opinion: Clean room, Strategic location, good food.

The dinner cooked directly from the owner was extremely good. I will suggest to everybody to go there, is the perfect place to visit Kandy. Last but not least the owner and his family were really welcoming and nice with us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coltello_Forchetta85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#20 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Property: Villa 49
Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 270 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing