We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely! Perfect location, service and rooms :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely! Perfect location, service and rooms :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Where to start!! Everything was fabulous.
Perfectly clean rooms, spacious, balconies overlooking lush green mountains. The beds were soo comfy and there were mosquito nets just in case.
The location is the best it could be! 15 minutes walk to town and about 5 minutes to the lake. But at night the rooms are dead silent.
You wouldn't want to stay in the middle of kandy town as there is nothing there. This place is 10-15 minutes walk to the best restaurants (slightly chilled).
Ohh and the breakfast was delicious!! Different every day!! Shenani the hostess serves her homemade jams!!! And wow they are amazing... Passion fruit and banana, soursop!! Different varieties of eggs, homemade rotti (like a bagel), toast, fruits and fresh brewed tea and coffe sourced locally!!
The perfect hostess, she genuinely loves what she does even bringing my boyfriend and I brownies and ice cream to our room after dinner :):):)
Could not fault this place if I tried!! Absolutely fabulous!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 018Simone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    93
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
205
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our stay at Villa 49 was one of the highlights of our month-long trip in Sri Lanka. Convenient location, quiet, charming,comfortable and clean. Shanani is a warm hostess,with attention to detail and commitment to comfort of her guests. Her staff is the same way. The guest rooms are located in a wing of her family home. We had the newest room on the top floor, which opened to a large roof top deck with beautiful views. The food is excellent. After the first night, we ate all of our breakfasts and dinners at the Villa. Shanani has taught her cook her family rice and curry recipes. They were the best meals we had on our trip. The jams are all homemade. The staff let me hang out in the kitchen one evening so I could watch the food prep. My mouth is watering thinking about the food! We extended our stay for an additional day. There is a new room for drivers which looks nicer than others we had seen. We had wonderful conversations with Shanani, and if we were to go back, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We left Kandy feeling like we had made new friends with both Shanani and the staff. A real gem, and we feel so fortunate to have found it.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be nice and spacious. We liked the top floor with easy deck access and great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXchickgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This accommodation only opened in August 2012. The rooms are very spacious, very clean and with Aircon.
The hostess is very pleasant and welcoming and cooks a very good Sri Lankan meal that most guests seem to stay for.
Villa 49 is very close to Kandy lake (only a few minutes walk).

Our only grizzles were that we had to make our own beds, and shampoo/ conditioner is not provided.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by the owner who had baked us a cake that morning for our arrival. She was very helpful with lots of info on the kandy area. The villa is within walking distance to the temple of tooth and the centre of town. We also opted for the home cooked genuine Sri Lankan meal which was on offer as an extra. This meal was delicious experience of a proper Sri Lankan meal. Accomadation was very clean and had comfy bed. Would Definately recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippy921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Location was good, breakfast was fine and dinner was lovely. Rooms were clean, bathroom miniature. My only gripe was that the rooms were not made up at all while we were there. No clean towels, no toilet paper etc.Strangely on the double bed there were two single bed sheets we could use - had to make it up ourselves. When we arrived the kids had just had an elephant shower at Millenium and were dripping wet. I asked if I could get some washing done and the host (owner not there) advised that the dryer was broken and the weather too wet. As we were staying two nights I washed the muddy clothes in shampoo in the bathroom sink and hung them over a chair on the balcony. They were dry by morning. No one really seemed to want to go out of their way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

In a good location, overlooking Kandy. Within walking distance of all the main sights. We stayed in the new top floor room, which was huge. Had a large balcony with a great view. Owner was very helpful, and went out of her way to organise tours for us and transport. Dinner was great, only a shame we didn't get a sri lankan breakfast on our last day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjones1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was big and very comfortable. The location was excellent as it was just off the lake and you could walk to the temple or the town area very easily. The owner Shanani is a lovely lady and she was very attentive to our needs. The food was excellent - the best food we had in a three and a half week trip to Sri Lanka - delicious rotis, vegetable curries, dosas, home made jams and more.

It really was home away from home and we would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HReens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#21 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Property: Villa 49
Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing