We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The First and Now Only Place I Will Ever Stay !!!”
Review of Villa 49

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa 49
Ranked #1 of 394 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was my first trip to Sri Lanka and my wife and I loved this villa. We chose Villa 49 because it was unique and seemed to offer the comfort and relaxation we were really looking for. WE WERE SO RIGHT! This place is truly a gem of the area. The staff are very accommodating and went out of the way to make us feel welcome. My favorite thing was that the staff really cared about the experience and gave us the personalized attention that you don't find at big commercial places. The other perks were the good location,there are lots of events and areas to see within walking distance. Like the title of my review says, I will never stay anywhere else, I am villa 49 for life! We have already scheduled another vacation for this year, and cant wait!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtm95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 388 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

I am a person who loves to travel and stay in different places for the experience. Being a Sri Lankan living in Sri Lanka I have frequently visited Kandy and stayed in various accommodation options. When I heard about Villa 49 I thought it was just another home stay option but nevertheless decided to try it out since atleast on paper it looked good. I stayed there over the weekend and I must say that Villa 49 is one of the few places that exceeds expectations and more than lives up to what it boasts of. The warmeth of the staff, their hospitality, the level of service, and the food were all excellent. Whilst offering a full class service for those on vacation it maintains its homely friendliness. Apart from this it is centrally located making shopping and excursions easy. Kudos to Villa 49!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shanitrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa 49 for a few days and I must say that this is an amazing place if you are looking for that home away from home. We were warmly welcomed by the extremely friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure that we had a good holiday. The house gives you a warm and cozy feeling and is located amidst a serene setting, overlooking a lake. One of the highlights of the location is that it’s central to and walking distance from all major attractions such as the museum and the temple of the tooth relic. The rooms were well maintained with all amenities and the food was very good. We especially enjoyed breakfast. Villa 49 is definitely value for money and I highly recommend it if you want to have a relaxing and pampered holiday. We hope to stay here on our next visit to Sri Lanka.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ge0rgia_0n_my_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Visited in Dec 2011 while vacationing in Sri Lanka. Villa 49 is in Kandy, a lively city with great sunny weather and a wealth of ancient history to explore ~ highly recommended as a must-visit location if you are visiting Sri Lanka. Villa 49 is centrally situated, within walking distance to the museum, the city downtown and main archaeological sites and overlooks a beautiful lake - esp. important due to high level of vehicular congestion which can make traveling time consuming. The staff are excellent and helpful to a fault, rooms extremely clean and well maintained, and the food delicious (the not-so-spicy chicken curry is to die for!). Highly recommended, and probably enjoyed the family environment even more than some of the 5 star properties we stayed at in coastal Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amandine1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Coline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank medtronic85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#15 of 58 in Kandy
1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 58 in Kandy
747 reviews
2 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 58 in Kandy
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 49

Address: No. 49 Louis Peiris Mw, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 394 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: $68 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 49 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-MIN STAY IS 7 DAYS - Villa 49 is a private and luxurious home away from home situated centrally beside the lake in the heart of Kandy city. Our tranquil environment allows our guests to relax while enjoying exceptional personalized service. Step outside of the residence and you are beside the lake within a 10 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the center of the city. It is also a Sri Lanka Tourist Board approved property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa 49 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing