We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feb 2012 great Stay”
Review of Hotel Kandy Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kandy Paris
Ranked #209 of 405 Kandy B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feb 2012 great Stay”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had a lovely stay a hotel Kandy Paris and found the room clean and spacious and quiet. The manager was a lovely guy - we had a good chat about him building the roof terrace and other very interesting bits and bobs. He was incredibly helpful and kind helping us to organise out train trip onwards and ordering us a tuk too. we arrived late and were still given dinner. I would highly recommend a stay here if in Kandy. Very clean bright and a great view.

Room Tip: We shared a spacious family room as there were 3 of us but for a secluded room for 2 ask for the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3nights and had the room on the roof. It was a good room with a great view of Kandy. Thought it was ok for the price and the service was good.

Its location was fine - only a 15min walk into Kandy along the lake.

Not sure I agree with the comments about the manager as we found him really nice and helpful.

Only odd thing was there seemed to be a 10pm curfew - but some friends we made at the hotel were out later with no problem.

If you want good food there is a great take away 'The Garden City' at the bottom of the hill (got addicted to Devilled chicken) and the manager was always fine with us bringing back food which I thought was great.

Room Tip: Go for the room on the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed there for a night and it turned out to be a nice experience. It is away from the hustle bustle of Kandy city and has an awesome view to offer. The food was really tasty and do try their devillish chicken. If you are 3 or more people go for family room, spacious and comfortable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank asees_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is not bad for the pricing, but the owner has too much air about himself. His behaivour
was very bad and was rude with no manners at all. Treated the customer as if we were students and he was warden. I don't think I will recommend any one to stay in this Guest House with so much bad attitue owner.

In whole of my Srilanka trip for almost 15 days, the worst hospitality I came across was Hotel Kandy Paris. Very very bad show.

Room Tip: I will not recommend this Guest House to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shefali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hotel Paris is not like the picture they show you on here. When we arrived they put us on the first floor in a room I can only describe as disgusting, the walls were black and coverd in mould, the room was so damp that we had to sleep in our clothes as the bed was wet, I know that this is a tropical country and I expected some dampness but not that bad, it says that you get hot water, not true, only just warm enough to wash with, they moved us when we complained up to the top floor which was better and the view was lovely.
the staff were nice but as the owner is from Paris he does not supply information for others people from other country, the breakfast was ok, the best thing I can say is the taxis driver that took us on trips was great, won't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay here ask for the top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A very nice experience.. Hotel has a touch of both cultures from Paris as well as Sri Lankan. It's a blend. Can take a pleasant lakeside walk to the sacred temple in Kandy city. Restaurant gives a panoramic view of the lake, temple and city to make you calm. Rooms are spacious and food is great. What more? :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeker556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is like a touch of Europe in the heart of Sri Lanka, with stunning views over Kandy. It is run by a lovely Sri Lankan who lives in Paris, and the staff are great. We had a great stay here, A/C in each of the rooms, although you have to ask for the remote control from the staff when you get there. Wifi works really well, but again you have to ask for it to be put on. Great food - lovely breakfast of scrambled eggs and fruit, and they can make lunch/dinner for you if you want as well.

Room Tip: There is a room at the very top for honeymooners which is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camotran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#38 of 53 in Kandy
535 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Senani Hotel
Senani Hotel
#31 of 53 in Kandy
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.8 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 53 in Kandy
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kandy Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kandy Paris

Property: Hotel Kandy Paris
Address: 5-B Mahamaya Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 405 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kandy Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandy Paris Hotel offers the best location from which to visit the world heritage Kandy city. Ideally located in the Kandy lake drive, Kandy Paris Hotel overlooks the great lake. Inside, our comfortable rooms will make you feel the delicate perfume of romantic Paris style and Sri Lankan tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Kandy Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing